We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at the Mercure Chester for one night. We found the hotel staff to be very helpfull and polite. The hotel itself is very clean and tidy with modern interior throughout. This is the second time we have stayed and we would not hesitate to stay again. The only thing i would mention is that although the stay itself is cheap enough and the spa facilities are included in your price, i would avoid the high priced meals and drinks there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenandLeighann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear BenandLeighann

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.ie following your recent stay at the Mercure Chester East Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,526)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,462 - 1,468 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Although this hotel has had a recent refurbishment, it still shows signs of wear and tear. The corridor floorboards seem to run widthways, meaning that as someone walks down the corridor, the room shakes. If you're a light sleeper this makes for a restless nights sleep!

The "Seb Coe" sports centre was fine, but the pool is quite a bit smaller than it appears on the hotel's photos.

On arrival we were asked to pay for the room again (even when we reiterated that we had pre-paid), this was however noted as a possible error when the charge came up as one night (we had booked for two).

The hotel is a 5 min drive from Chester and a taxi cost a very reasonable £5.

Room Tip: Room 101 is next to the Spa, but far from reception.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky_and_Darryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Becky_and_Darryl

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at the Mercure Chester East Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that your sleep was disturbed by and noise from the corridor during the night. I’m sure that you are aware that we have recently been taken over and are in the process of rebranding and as part of this process we have put together an investment plan. In this plan we will be replacing corridor carpets and at this time we will look to strengthen the floor to reduce noise and any shakes.

Apologies for the mix up with your billing, but pleased that we were able to sort this quickly for you. I would hope that this would not deter you from a return visit and that we could have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were on ground floor, and the people above woke us up at 6.45am Sunday morning because the floorboards were so squeaky, and ii could hear someone snoring all night.... The springs in the bed have gone so that every you move on it the springs pop! We stopped in a studio room.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collette37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Collette37

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at the Mercure Chester East Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that your sleep was disturbed by your bed and noise from the corridor during the night. We have now completed a full audit of all our beds and are in the process of replacing them as required. When we come to replace the carpets, we will also be looking at how we can reduce any squeaks before we replace the flooring and I hope that this will reduce the problem for future guests.

I would hope that this would not deter you from a return visit and that we could have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Hotel booked last minute as I'd managed to get a couple of days off work.
Good deal on the room for 2 nights, although in future i think I'd book the inclusive of dinner package. The reception and bar staff were excellent - very friendly, professional & welcoming. The room was well equipped, although a fridge & air con would've been great.
My room was right over the main entrance and apart from a very noisy group checking out at 5am, was relatively quiet.
Bar prices were expensive and the bedroom and some corridors would benefit from a bit of updating, but am sure this will be addressed eventually.
Great location for the park and ride into Chester and 10mins from Cheshire Oaks.
Would definitely consider booking again if visiting Chester in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spannermagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear spannermagnet

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at the Mercure Chester East Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you would definitely consider returning to the hotel in the future. As you will be aware we have only recently been taken over by our new owning company and I hope that on your next visit you will see the improvements as we start to make them.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Just had a short break at the Mercure in Chester.
I must say that this Hotel gives great value for money.
The staff were very friendly throughout and the food was excellent. Throw in the swimming pool and the spa and what more could you want.
I was worried initially with some of the reviews I had read before travelling but the room was clean and tidy and the Hotel is only a 30 minute walk(if you like walking) into Chester
Yes some stair carpet is fraying in places and the decor is a little dated but you are not paying for 5* luxury.
Very enjoyable stay and I would have no problems booking here in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Dear D R

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I was delighted to read your very positive comments about your recent stay. As you will be aware we were recently rebranded to a Mercure Hotel, I do hope that over the coming months you will see the improvements that we will make, corridor carpets are very near the top of the list.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My wife and I had a great break in Chester, again at this excellent hotel. We have stayed here before on 3 or 4 occasions when it was a Ramada and have been really pleased with it, nothing has changed now that the hotel is owned by Mecure.
The quality of everything from the service provided by the staff to the standard of food was excellent.
Access was very easy and there is ample parking.
Although the hotel is slightly on the outskirt of Chester town centre the park and ride is right next to the hotel and is very straight forward, it is also only a short ride in a taxi.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Robbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear 1Robbo

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I was absolutely thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay at the Mercure Chester East. As you will be aware we were recently rebranded to a Mercure Hotel, as part of this rebrand I hope that you will see over the coming months nothing but improvements and that your next stay will be even better.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband treated me to a 2 night romantic break for my recent birthday, at Chester. We stayed at the Mercure Chester East Hotel. Upon arrival we were disappointed with the standard of the room, and went to reception to see if we could change rooms, upgrading to a better one. The staff were exceptional and the service we received was first class.
We upgraded to a different room, which was great, and were really looked after during our stay, making it really special.
We ate in the restaurant on the evening of my birthday, and enjoyed a really lovely meal.
The location of the hotel was good, and we walked into Chester, along the canal, taking about 40 mins to do some Christmas shopping.
A lovely weekend, made special by the dedicated staff at the hotel.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a one of the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear Louise K

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I was absolutely delighted that we managed to turn what could have potentially a poor stay into a brilliant weekend stay for you, especially as it coincided with your birthday.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £52 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing