We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much needed break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Not been to the hotel since feb 2011 and as usual was not dissapointed. Had a nice weekend away and was made to feel welcome by Kellie on reception who surprised me as she remembered our names. The rooms had been decorated which looked nice. We were seated within a couple of minutes by Phillip Goodman in the restaurant by the time he took our order served us drinks it seemed our meal was there and as usual it dint dissapoint. The swimming pool/gym looks a lot better with its facelift and as usual the staff there were helpful. Overall i will NOT be leaving it 13 months before i visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolbuzzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Trip advisor

Thank you for your review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted that you enjoyed your return visit so much and I was particularly pleased that Kellie remembered you from the previous year and greeted you so warmly and that you were well looked after by Phillip.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future!

Kind regards
James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,489 - 1,495 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night in Feb 12 with my partner. We stayed in a suite which was wonderful; it was extremely spacious, well equipped, attractively decorated and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly and really could not do enough for us from our arrival to departure. We enjoyed a fantastic 3 course meal from the set menu, which is excellent value for money. Our breakfast was particularly tasty, and we were even provided with vegetarian sausages! I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a suite, they are well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Emma J

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be clean and the staff looked after you so well. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights and wasn't very impressed it doesn't deserve 4 stars the bathroom looked like it hadnt even been cleaned before we arrived the only good point is its locatation

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dom11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Dom11111

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.
I was disappointed to read that you did not find your bedroom to be clean on arrival and I would be pleased to receive some more information on this so that my housekeeper can investigate your concerns.

On a positive note, I was pleased that you found that we were very well located, had excellent levels of customer care and offered good value for money and I hope that we would be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was our 1st stay at the hotel, we arrived at 11am and got checked in 3 hours early which was a great surprise as we've never been able to check in early at other places. the staff were very helpful and very friendly. We walked into the city centre, which took 25 minutes as we didn't want to pay for parking, but it was a nice walk anyway!
The room was clean and tidy, as was the bathroom.

The only downfall was that the TV also has internet, therefore if you want to watch the TV you have to pay £20 for the internet and TV, which we didn't want to pay for the sake of 1 night.
But overall, I'd recommend this hotel to people wanting a luxury break as the park and ride is literally next door to the hotel, so perfect for location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear CharSteve

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. For future reference the television does have a variety of freeview television channels that all guests can watch free of charge. The media package includes 24 hour internet / broad band access, on demand box office movies and on music centre.
We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Booked this hotel Directly through Accor Website and got a great deal cheaper than Late rooms expedia etc.. arrived at Hotel late in the afternoon got checked in by pleasant girl on desk. She offered us £20.12 pp Meal Deal add on for dinner, which was great value as it included a drink. Got to my room, was very clean, spacious and all the usual amenities. Went for dinner in Restaurant was quite busy, service was great also, some how they found out it was my Birthday, my husband promised me he didn't tell them. Breakfast was really good in the morning busy service was attentive. Got checked out by Cathy Reception Manager i think great customer service definetly return. Thank you to all the team has a great weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Pat J

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel, I was delighted to read your positive comments particularly about service and Cathy in particular, please be assured that I will pass them onto her and the rest of the team.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome both you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Lost track of the number of years my wife and I have been visiting this hotel, which says everything. From arrival to departure the staff couldn't do enough for us. The room was very comfortable, spacious and clean and the food (breakfast and evening dinner) was excellent. The leisure facilities are also excellent, with a welcoming jacuzzi waiting for you at the end of a hard day's sightseeing (or shopping!). This hotel is a great base for visiting Chester. Just leave your car at the hotel and walk a couple of hundred metres to the park and ride facility at Boughton Heath. Buses run roughly every ten minutes, taking only ten minutes to reach the City Centre. As we say every year, thanks a lot, and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Ak for a room overlooking the front car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Ian6110

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel, I was delighted to read your comments, please be assured that I will pass them onto the rest of the team.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome both you and your wife back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We arrived early on the saturday to make full use of leisure facilities before embarking on to the town of chester at night to celebrate my hen do, when we arrived we were greeted by Cathy and she was very helpful, even managed to book 2 of our party into there room early, we decided to go into chester for some food and we used the park and ride 100 yds down the road £1.70 return, fab !! when we returned to the hotel the rest of our party was able to book into our rooms and what lovely rooms they were except room 256 which was boiling even with 2 fans going and both windows open, even though we were all located on different floors due to the rooms booked it was ok, just the long trek between rooms, as you know what girls are like when getting ready lol, once wed taken our stuff into the rooms a few of us decided to use the facilities , the guy on the reception was helpful with information on where the best places were to go, the only problem we had up to them was 2 of our girls didnt want to swim but werent allowed poolside but there were a couple of people in there who werent swimming, the jucuzzi was bliss, pool was lovely and sauna was hot lol, we decided to relax in the bar for a couple of drinks until we saw the prices, THATS A NO GO, also we felt as if should have been more than 1 bar staff on adn maybe a smile with the service would go down a treat, the reception ladies smiled so why couldnt the bar staff, a few of our party had drinks why we sat down and watch the full time results coming in from the football sky sports on the tv, the tv was in a different picture size so we asked the bar man if he cud make the screen smaller to the tv in which he replied i dont know what is wrong with it, fair enough not a major complaint we all had phones for the results, on finishing getting ready for our night to start, we were running late and a cpl of girls had heels on so didnt want walk the half mile to the Twirl Of Hay for our pre booked meal - Defo Recommend there, so we asked receptionist book taxis and she did and within 10 mins we were on our way, after returning to hotel we decided as bar was open to have a drink in bar, i had a takeaway box not touching it as it had been nearly eaten and was told by the member of staff we werent allowed to eat in the hotel but as i started he would allow it, ive been in many hotels and never had a problem, we all retured to bed a little worse for wear, ready to check out was a breeze the receptionist was lovely and again greeted with a smile and did you have a wonderful time, fantastic customer service by reception,
overall a fantastic stay with a few little pointers

Good Points -
Reception fab service with a smile
Rooms were spacious well room 358 was
leisure facilites were fab
good location not in centre of town but only 2 miles away
park and ride 100 yds down road £1.70 return
The Twirl Of Hay half a mile - fab food

Bad Points
Bar Staff - miserable
Room 256 was way too hot
2 of the party not allowed poolside
Drinks prices were ridicously, even costa coffee on hot drinks isnt that expensive,

Overall a Fab Night in hotel and fab weekend in chester

Will defo be back whether with a group of friends, romantic getaway or a family weekend

Thank You

Room Tip: room 358 is big for a family of 4 and not too hot but far trek, dnt book 256 unless they got more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvette24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Yvette24

Thank you for your review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I was absolutely thrilled to read your overall comments about the hotel especially your comments about Cathy, she is an absolute star! I was disappointed to read that her service was not matched by the bar team and they have been spoken to about this. In terms of the pricing, we are currently reviewing our food and beverage pricing strategy. To kick this off our new wine list and Brasserie menus will be launched in a few weeks time with entry level products coming in a couple of pounds cheaper.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our historical Roman city in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,757 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £51 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing