We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value short break. Fantastic facilities. Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just spent two days mid week at this hotel. Had a fantastic time.
Facilities very good. Room
Very comfortable. Staff could not do enough for us. Food quality and presentation outstanding.
Would definatly recomend

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,328 - 1,334 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian1432
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at the Mercure as part of a coach trip. The check in was fast, efficient and friendly. Our bedroom was a good size with all that you would want for a short stay. We had no air con but a small "desk" fan was in the room. In the height of summer the bedroom could become very hot and stuffy, difficult I know but retro fitting air con should be considered. Spare sealed pillows and blankets were stored in the room if required. Only six coat hangers so bring your own if more required. The bathroom had a shower over the bath, sink and toilet, with a good big mirror. Lighting throughout was with spot lights and was acceptable.
Our coach party was in a seperate room from the other guests but our evening meal was very good quailty with a good choice but portion size could have been larger. Breakfast was self service with tea, coffee and juices and the full english was first class. Cold meats, cerals, yogurts etc. and pastries were all available.
The bar area was a fair size for the size of hotel with enough comfy seating, sky TV was showing in the corner.
All the staff were pleasant and friendly.
The Chester park and ride is next to the hotel so getting into Chester is easy.

Room Tip: No lift to 1st floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spudlylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Visited this hotel on a 2 night kgb deal and was very dissapointed with the room. The heat in the room was unbearable despite leaving the windows open and having a fan switched on. The bed was very uncomfortable, seemed to be 2 singles fixed together. The steam iron in the room did not work and the shower seemed to be faulty. Spent over half an hour both mornings turning knobs trying to get hot water. The water pressure was really bad and the water went off completely when another tap was turned on. Returned to the room at 3.00pm to find that housekeeping had not serviced the room. We complained to the manager and he arranged for the room to be serviced. We had to wait around in reception until this was done. The manager did offer recompense and explained that some rooms had been refurbished but obviously ours had not been as it was quite shabby. The breakfast was very good but all in all a very poor example of a 4 star hotel. Would not recommend to others.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 246 - lots of road noise.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I was disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay completely, Since the recent acquisition of the hotel we have entered into discussions with the owners of the business and we hope to be able to start work on updating many of our bedrooms shortly.

I would hope that this has not deterred you from a return visit and that we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel from the 16th-20th of july and its the best holiday we ever had,the welcome we recieved from the reception was compared to none.Housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful,the only downside is the room not having drawer or cabinet to put clothes but for us its not a big issue,we used the swimming pool and it was so good and relaxing.Breakfast was amazing although saturday and sunday was a bit busy it didnt give us any problem at all,Mark was very helpful and so as the other staff, food was nicely cooked,porridge was very nice and fresh selection of fruits you cant ask for more,lastly thank you for all the staff who looked after us specially to sisa in the restaurant and her team as they were brilliant looking after everyone,we will come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had our wedding at the Mercure on 29th June 2012 at the Mercure Hotel in Chester. It was a wonderful day made easy and enjoyable by the amazing staff at the hotel. Our wedding planner was attentive with any request we made never too much trouble. All aspects of the day ran smoothly thanks to the efficient staff and the food was as lovely as our taster evening.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your wedding with us. Please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future perhaps for your Paper Anniversary.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had stayed in Mercure hotels before and thus figured this would be a safe bet. As soon as we pulled into the car park and were faced with a grimy two storey flat-roofed 1970s style building we knew we had made a mistake. We have uploaded some photos of the hotel.

We were assigned a ground floor room (162 I think) where the windows were warped such that when closed there was a gap at the top letting through a draught and all the noise of the nearby main road. We asked to change and were told that there was no alternative room available until the next day. There is no way we would have been the first guests to point the window issue out and no reputable hotel would put guests into such a room. After both experiencing a terrible night's sleep, we changed the next day to an upstairs room. It was clear that the room we were initially given was sub-standard and that we were not happy with it. We did not kick up a major fuss but the fact that no real apology was given or concession on the room rate made seems to typify the approach considered acceptable in this hotel.

There is no lift in the hotel so we had to carry our heavy cases up the stairs. The upstairs corridors have creaky floorboards indicating the age of the building. Like our first room, there was no air conditioning and our second day was sunny so the room was uncomfortably hot - there was a plug-in fan to move the hot air around the room. The shower only provided cold water - we didn't bother contacting reception as we had resigned ourselves to a sub-standard experience at that point - it was the next morning when by accident we discovered that there was hot water but there was a knack to getting it (you had to turn the shower on when the dial was in the 'hot' zone rather than turning to the 'hot' zone mid stream).

On our first night we went to the restaurant and, despite there being any number of tables available, were told that we could (i) have the same food in the bar area; or (ii) take a seat at the bar and they would come get us within a half hour. We went for the latter option and were promptly forgotten about. We eventually went back to the restaurant and were somewhat grudgingly given a table. My wife's napkin was dirty and had to be replaced. We ordered a beef dish and were then told after a few minutes that all the beef was gone! Our starters arrived before our drinks. We asked for water during the meal and the order was forgotten about. In fairness, we got the impression that the place was totally understaffed and felt sorry for the staff that were there.

The bar area is nice but service is slow as there does not seem to be a dedicated bar person but instead someone who takes room service orders and prepares drinks for the people dining in the restaurant. I waited several minutes to order two drinks (a coke and a water) even though I was the only person at the bar - one was prepared and then I had to wait again for the second while the barman answered the phone.

The breakfast was ok but the tables were not wiped down between guests and there was no jug of water available at the buffet.

The pool is part of a leisure centre at the back of the hotel - you get to it by walking out a fire exit and then into the leisure centre. The pool is nice but the changing rooms are poor enough - the showers are common rather than there being cubicles.

The positives to this hotel are (i) its close to the park and ride bus stop which offers a cheap and regular service direct to the city centre; (ii) the quality of the food is reasonably good; (iii) the bar area is reasonably comfortable; and (iv) the pool is nice.

Overall a hugely disappointing experience and our view of the Mercure brand has plummeted.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eiresteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I was disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay completely, Since the recent acquisition of the hotel we have entered into discussions with the owners of the business and we hope to be able to start work on updating many of our bedrooms shortly.

I would hope that this has not deterred you from a return visit and that we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £53 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing