We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny rooms but free upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms but free upgrade”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed on 10/11. Deal on KGB for £79 including breakfast. Have to say that the room sizes for a '4*' were very disappointing. I queried with reception if that was the normal room and they showed me a twin instead. I said that was equally as small and would have hoped for something larger from a 4*... a kingsized bed ought to be the norm. They then upgraded us to a suite. That was very good of them but I have to say the suite was probably what you would expect of a standard double in a 4*. Had we paid for a suite we would have been very disappointed with that too. Pool area was nice, all the staff were pleasant and the hotel is in a good location for going to Chester and Cheshire Oaks. Breakfast to the room was OK. Overall if this was a 3* I would give it a 4 or 5 grade but as it classes itself as a 4*, lots of improvements are needed to get a good review. I probably wouldn't stay here again...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, but disappointed that you would not consider a return visit. I will of course pass your kind comments onto the team as I know that they will appreciate them.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will have a change of heart and return for a visit in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    485
    322
    145
    88
See reviews for
223
719
32
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

This Was lovely weekend break. Staff recepción friendly as were restaurant and fitness suite staff. The Room Was warm and extra heater and fan at the ready. Very clean and bathroom sparkled¡ The staff in the restaurant were young and yet very polite¡ If they diente know something they ensured someone Was there to help. Excellent warm pool too and Good valué for money, although bar drinks were a little expansiva¡ Would recommend for families or singles on as it Was near chester if you went a night out¡

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franklinchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Nice hotel located kind of "ruralish". Not impressive on the outside, but inside was good and cozy. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful too. The hotel did have a very nice indoor pool, spa area and gym, all well kept. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWilliamsoninVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback. Hopefully when you next visit you will like the new colour that we are painting the outside of the building.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Had a great weekend in Chester. The hotel was very convenient for park and ride into the city or you can walk along the canal into Chester. The hotel from the outside is not very inviting, but much nicer on the inside. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was adequate with a comfortable bed. The dining room is well lit and the food was very good,although not a very wide selection of food for dinner. The breakfasts were good with a much wider choice. The pool was very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback. Hopefully when you next visit you will like the new colour that we are painting the outside of the building as I type...

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

The hotel was full, however the front staff seemed to have plenty of time for each customer.

The room was clean, but we were a little surprised to find that there were no drawers to unpack out cases, meaning either living out of the suitcases, or having everything on top of the shelves.

The pool was warm, and clean, although the steam room and sauna were a little worn, and in need of a revamp. However we found this area very relaxing.

The restaurant was very busy, and unfortunately the air conditioner was blowing far too cold. We asked for it to be turned down, but nothing was changed. I was cold and uncomfortable throughout the meal. There was a wedding on next door and so halfway through our meal most of the restaurant staff appeared to be tasked to help there. This resulted in us having to wait over half an hour for our desserts.

We were woken during the night as wedding guests made their late, and noisy way to bed. This is not the Hotels fault, but as the corridors are quite narrow, and the carpets a little "tired", the noise did tend to echo a bit.

Full marks for the front desk service. Check out was excellent, despite them being swamped by departing guests.

Would we go their again? Probably, but would ask to be put far away from any wedding guests. And would think very strongly about eating out elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback. I was sorry to read of the delays and uncomfort in the restaurant, I've asked my Operations Manager to invesitgate this futher.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We used this hotel for a family weekend to chester, it was a great base costing us 5 pounds for a taxi into the town centre, 15 mins away from cheshire oaks. When you get to the hotel doesnt look much from the outside but the decor inside was nice bright and shiny. From the start to the finish we were impressed with the staff, not once did we meet a grumpy or unhelpful one!! the room cleaning staff always gave us a cheery good morning, the bar staff brought our drinks over, always getting the order right, and plying us with lots of yummy little chocolates when we had coffee. The reception staff were informative when we asked them anything, they always wore a smile (even under trying circumstances ie lots of people booking in and out at the same time) The restaurant staff went above and beyond with us as one of our party was disabled and was in an electric wheelchair which can be difficult to manouver in tight spaces, they moved all the tables and chairs around to accomidate us and we never felt that we were a problem, the food on the friday was ok but much better on the saturday night, the breakfast was lovely a large variety on hot and cold food. the rooms were fine clean, modern and lots of hot water. I didnt use the pool but other relatives did and they said that it was great

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reedyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing