We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed here with some friends 25th-26th Nov, and thought overall this was a very good hotel. It's in a close location to Chester Zoo and less than a 10 minute drive into Chester. On the Sunday evening we walked along the canal into town which was pleasant - took about an hour. Thought the free parking was quite a rarity nowadays. The hotel at the moment is decked out in some Christmas decorations which makes it look nice and festive but not over the top. My room had a huge bed - and was very clean. After reading a few reviews about the breakfast not being great, I'm glad we actually booked this well worth it! £7.50 if booked in advance or £13 on the day, makes it extremely reasonable if booked in advance, there were a few coach parties in so my friend was advised that we wait until 9am when they had left, I was a bit dubious thinking most of the buffet breakfast would have gone, but that wasn't the case, lots of variety and fresh food bought out, we had to wait for a table to be cleared but we weren't in a rush so we didn't mind. Only downside to the hotel was that my room was extremely warm evn with the window open and the radiator on low and the shower seemed to have a mind of it's own giving boiling water or nothing, in the evening the hotel bar could have done with another member of staff on as well as there was a bit of a wait to place an order. Overall though really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo82992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    496
    326
    151
    89
See reviews for
231
733
33
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

we stayed her on the 24th and 25th on kgb deals and what a dissapointment both breakfast was horrindous,staff doesnt seems to know what they are doing.Food was ok but service is not very good.sunday breakfast was aweful we are asked to sit in the bar because there is no set tables we,ve waited for ages but no one came to take as so we went to the restaurant and clear our tables instead,we sat there for 5 min no one even come to give us cuttlery or atleast offered tea so my wife picked up cuttlery from the next table and wipe it with napkin,we did finished our breakfast and yet no tea and coffee.WE WERE VERY DISSAPOINTED there is no way we will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Trip Advisor
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence. Please be assured that I will be taking your comments and speaking to my Food and Beverage Manager about your concerns.

I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

cottingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Bought a deal from KGB, (which despite the bad reviews about them everything was fine) went with three other friends, the rooms were modern and well equipped clean and warm. the breakfast was the best I have had for a long time good quality bacon etc, we had a meal in the restaurant on the sunday night which was also very good. The location although 5 or 10 mins from Chester centre was great because 2 mins walk away there was a park and ride £2 return which was very good for shopping all day. The staff were all happy and friendly and the couple of little issues we had were dealt with very quickly and with little fuss. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulettaCottingahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed on 10/11. Deal on KGB for £79 including breakfast. Have to say that the room sizes for a '4*' were very disappointing. I queried with reception if that was the normal room and they showed me a twin instead. I said that was equally as small and would have hoped for something larger from a 4*... a kingsized bed ought to be the norm. They then upgraded us to a suite. That was very good of them but I have to say the suite was probably what you would expect of a standard double in a 4*. Had we paid for a suite we would have been very disappointed with that too. Pool area was nice, all the staff were pleasant and the hotel is in a good location for going to Chester and Cheshire Oaks. Breakfast to the room was OK. Overall if this was a 3* I would give it a 4 or 5 grade but as it classes itself as a 4*, lots of improvements are needed to get a good review. I probably wouldn't stay here again...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, but disappointed that you would not consider a return visit. I will of course pass your kind comments onto the team as I know that they will appreciate them.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will have a change of heart and return for a visit in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This Was lovely weekend break. Staff recepción friendly as were restaurant and fitness suite staff. The Room Was warm and extra heater and fan at the ready. Very clean and bathroom sparkled¡ The staff in the restaurant were young and yet very polite¡ If they diente know something they ensured someone Was there to help. Excellent warm pool too and Good valué for money, although bar drinks were a little expansiva¡ Would recommend for families or singles on as it Was near chester if you went a night out¡

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franklinchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Nice hotel located kind of "ruralish". Not impressive on the outside, but inside was good and cozy. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful too. The hotel did have a very nice indoor pool, spa area and gym, all well kept. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWilliamsoninVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback. Hopefully when you next visit you will like the new colour that we are painting the outside of the building.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing