We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our first visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“our first visit”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

having booked this hotel for our annual twixmas visit to chester (27/12/13-30/12/13) and then reading other trip advisor reviews we went with a certain amount of trepidation!
our first impressions were good - the hotel reception area was welcoming and spotless.
after a very friendly and swift and early check-in off we went to our room. on our way we did find that the carpet on the corridor was a bit threadbare and the floors a bit creaky but no more so than other hotels such as the holiday inn etc.
we had asked for a quiet, upper floor room and in room 231 that is exactly what we got.
the room was very clean, a good size and had a decent sized and very clean bathroom. the bed was very large, spotless and as we found out later very comfy! we had the best nights sleep that we have had in a hotel in recent years! the tea coffee making facilities were fine and with a good selection - on our second night we wanted a few extra sachets and asked at reception and this wasn't a problem.
breakfast the next morning was buffet style and with enough choice for most. the food was topped up on a regular basis. I asked for camomile tea and this was brought straight away. I also asked for veggie sausage on two of the mornings but this did not appear - perhaps the chef wasn't in the mood. the breakfast staff were all very friendly and a great asset to the hotel.
as for noise levels-this isn't down to the hotel-it's the other guests you are with that create the noise-where there are other people there will be noise wherever you stay! we were lucky we had a quiet break.
one strange thing though-you do have to take your room towels to the health centre which is a bit odd-perhaps the hotel could review this policy?
would I go again ? yes I would. we got good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatomeriKaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    503
    332
    154
    93
See reviews for
235
743
34
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We decided to take advantage of the winter deal again, but Christmas was only 1 week away so the Hotel was full of office Christmas parties so the previous attention to detail ie Hotel guests was a little sparse. This visit we found the tea tray in our room was almost empty with just the bare min in content. Room cleaning was poor as the staff not having enough time to service the rooms properly, We are not put off and most prob make another visit at some time.

Room Tip: The motorway can be a little noisey so ask for a room in the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanClomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I apologise that your room was not up to our normal standard, although we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel on Expedia as we needed somewhere to stay in Chester over Christmas.
We were in room 207. The floor was creaky, bathroom small, pokey and outdated. The room was like going back in a time warp it felt so old.
Main public areas seemed fine.
It was so bad we checked out a day earlier than planned to find alternative accommodation.
Not we expected from the 4 star hotel advertised. We were not expecting the ritz. If it was to premier inn standard I would not be complaining.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bimbles84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Having stayed a few nights in another Mercure, we decided to book an overnight stay in this hotel. I have no idea how it is rated 4 stars, Mercure must have rated it as such. Check in was fine and the staff were pleasant. When we got to the room (via the gaffer tape holding the torn carpets together) we were quite horrified. It looked as though the room hadn't been decorated since the 70's, there were large stains on the carpet, the bathroom ceiling was very badly water stained and to sum up it was depressing and dismal and an insult to expect guests to actually pay to stay there! The final insult was finding someone's toenails on the bathroom floor - yuk! We set the alarm early deciding to leave first thing. However we were woken at 5.30 by the fire alarms and had to dress and congregate in the car park. Not the hotel's fault, I know, but it was the last straw! We would never return to this horrible place. To my knowledge it is not representative of a Mercure and certainly does not merit one star let alone four stars. A tatty bed and breakfast would sum up our impression of it. One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing with me your experience. I was extremely disappointed to hear that we failed to meet your expectations.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here early December on a kgb deal and was disappointed. The room was small and felt damp - condensation on the windows. The tv seemed really slow and unresponsive. Steam room and sauna were a big drawer for us to stay here but they were both extremely cold and disappointing. Evening meal was bizarre as we walked through some narrow corridor into the room at the back into a room that was pretty dour. Food was mediocre and breakfast was similar. We expected much more from this holiday but left disappointed. We would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkolidoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review following your stay with us. I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies. I have noted your constructive comments, as guest feedback is very important to us.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,610 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#21 of 44 in Chester
2,052 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing