We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great family break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Well located hotel within easy reach of Chester city using the P&R located just a few hundred yards away. There is also lots of good family activities within a few miles and we visited the Cheshire Ice Cream farm which as a lovely afternoon out. Hotel is slightly dated and rough around the edges in places and generally the rooms could do with being updated. The kids loved the pool with a large shallow area giving the parents a chance to relax and pop into the jacuzzi and sauna! breakfast service was good and the foos was plentiful (although a bit of a shortage of croissants). Family room consisted of a double bed, a single bed and a sofa bed so ideal to allow the kids to have a good night sleep!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I do agree the pool is a great place for children to swim and for the parents to relax. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    485
    322
    145
    88
See reviews for
223
719
32
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Me, my partner and two children (aged 4 and 6) stayed here for four nights. Check in was quick and efficient. Our room was lovely and clean. We used the swimming pool every day. Breakfast was consistently lovely with great choice of foods and excellent customer service from the staff. The only negatives I have to say about our stay was the cleanliness of the toilets near the restaurant; a fire exit being left open all night, and the air con unit in our bedroom would 'click' all night long after being turned off. (It kept waking up our eldest child). And lastly, the prices of bar food and drinks were ridiculous also.
Overall though a brilliant hotel run efficiently.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidihi2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed for a 2-night break on an 'amazon local' deal. All staff apart from in the spa were friendly and helpful. Lack of hotel information in our room, meant we had to enquire about everything (dining times, spa times). Gym is small and split over 2 rooms which is a little inconvenient. 3 course evening meal was excellent - beautifully cooked. Breakfast lacked a little choice and staff were slow in replenishing the food. Hotel very close to the A55 so beware of traffic noise all night. Hotel is ideally located adjacent to the park and ride. We walked into chester along the canal (about 150yds away) and caught the bus back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjb1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the hotel.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideal for a short stay whilst visiting Chester. We have stayed in mercure hotels before and this was not one of the best however we had no major issues with it. Tidy clean rooms with everything you need. Nice swimming pool - the first one we have saw that was a little different and child friendly. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and our meal on the night was ok - my boyfriend found many bones in his fish and my soup was way too hot couldn't eat it for ages. We had the meal included with a deal I would not pay to eat here on the evening. Good location for visiting everything and the staff were polite and friendly. The bar man at the time was especially nice and made is feel welcome. If you can get a good deal for this like us (kgb/groupon) then I would recommend it however I would not pay full price.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stakiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay at the hotel. Hopefully we will welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and booked 2 rooms and first poor impressions began before our stay. I tried to book some relaxing treatments over a period of 10 days and no-one got back to me! From the outside to the interior there was filth and rubbish. Carpets were worn and dirty as were the walls and furnishings. The bar area had so much dirt on it's floor, I really didn't want to have a drink. The suite (Room at The Top), was 'superior' which was a joke as we had a constant loud ventilation noise from the outside extractors. We had an electric heater to warm the room and TV's that didn't give us the free movies that is advertised for this upgrade. The newspapers promised also never arrived. Our key to the room had to be changed every day in order to get in. Breakfast at £17 a head was so inedible on the first morning, (our eggs raw) that we never ate in the hotel again! There was no/very little customer service as the staff avoided eye contact and clearly were so used to complaints that they had found a way of providing robotic responses. A local employee informed us that the hotel mainly survives on contract bookings from tradesmen. I can suspect that after a long day's physical work, the much looked forward to pint would be far too expensive to enjoy! This hotel was so awful and therefore an expensive experience on many levels that we will never use a Mercure again (we stay in hotels several times a year). It was Fawlty Towers without the humour. Not a 4 star or, 3 star by any means! .

Room Tip: Choose another hotel altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, I am really disappointed in your feedback and I do apologise for the shortcomings in our delivery of your stay, as a team I can assure you that we will listen and react to your comments.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel, waited to check-in, the lady could not find our reservation at first! she found it then said she needed to see if our room was ready! i had paid extra for early check in so really they should have made sure it was ready! Got to our room and first impressions were terrible! there was dirt all on carpets around skirting boards! it looked the the cleaner must have a routine with the hoover! there was a constant draft from the window, no menus to tell you what they had at the bar NOTHING! so i went down and complained and i asked if we had the right room as when i booked it said on my invoice classic room, but on my door it said studio room, the receptionist did not have a clue! her words were "im not sure but i dont want to tell you incase i give you false information" clearly i even wondered if she knew where she was working! she should know this information, the manager came out i think his name was paul, he told me he was very sorry and if we would like to come to the bar and have a free drink on him, and also anything off the bar menu, so we did and we also were given a free bottle of wine which is nice but still doesnt cut it! we went to our new room and it was ok a bit better, not many channels on the t.v and im not paying £15 just for 24 hours of movies which most i had seen! so we accepted and stayed in the room, then got ready for the evening meal, we went down, we were given the menu, a completely different menu to the normal one, which me and my partner didnt like anything on there. we were allowed to choose of the normal menu after asking, we ate the food, there was not much taste, the chicken had no flavor! we finished and went back to our room as we heard the constant noise of kids! i understood it was half term and they were children but maybe they should have a dining room just for couples, we got back to the room and got in bed, to which the worst was yet to happen a family in the room next door with kids shouting running up and down the corridor, kept knocking on our door and running off! i think my parnter had about 4-5 hours sleep from the constant noise, upon checking out it was a simple thanks no asking how our stay was! i just think the manager needs to have a very good hard sit down and think about how the hotel is run, and what he will change in the future! he told me he had been in the business for 20 years, so surely he knows himself its lacking a lot of qualities, i would not stay here again EVER! even if i was offered a free stay i think i would have to think about it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking time to write such a constructive review regarding your stay at the Chester Abbots Well hotel. I can assure you as the Manager of the hotel; I do listen and react to my guest’s feedback. I do apologise for the shortcomings in service and product on your recent stay and can assure you that I will address these matters with the team. At the hotel we pride ourselves on our customer service as highlighted in some previous reviews, though unfortunately this time we did not meet your expectations.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent one night at the establishment on a Sunday night as part of their 'winter warmer' offer. I paid £57 room only (inc. was a £12 upgrade for coffee machine, robes, newspaper and films). Like the previous review though never saw the paper and not sure that I could have had free films either. I would avoid upgrading as it didn't seem the room was any better than the basic.

On arrival the place looked quite well looked after and there was plenty of car parking. We were told that the room would not be ready until at least two o'clock so we had a drink in the bar and watched Everton beat Swansea much to my delight. The bar was well presented if a little bit pricey!

We eventually got the key at about 2.15. We stayed in a room on the ground floor which whilst perfectly acceptable was a little shabby, especially as the place is marketed at 4*. The bed was comfy and the shower powerful but other than that the rest was a tad 'budget' in all honesty.

Made use of the leisure facilities. Pool small but was perfectly OK on a quiet day such as a Sunday. Shame there is no water fountain outside of the steam room/sauna, so take a bottle. Changing room (mens) a bit tired, could do with a bit of an upgrade.

Overall I would return on the same deal. I wouldn't pay anything over £65-£70 to stay at this hotel though. The price I paid reflects the 4/5, had a paid more I would have given it less.

Pro's: Bar and reception inviting, good distance from town (£5 cab) nice gardens, Price is very fair for what you get.

Con's- Rooms a bit shabby, leisure facilities a bit shabby

Room Tip: don't go for the upgrade. The £12 isn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southall202101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing