We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Young Ladies have a Fabulous Birthday Weekend !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Two Young Ladies have a Fabulous Birthday Weekend !”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had an excellent weekend at this hotel, made extra special by the welcoming & helpful staff.
I like to think, that if you treat people fairly, they will do the same to you. so, you will always be rewarded if you are polite. The staff were most welcoming, Emma on reception who greeted was excellent, we were a little early, but she managed to find 2 rooms that were ready for occupation.
The rooms were roomy, very clean and just what we required.
We used the Spa facilities on two occassions, again, it was clean, well equiped and the staff were helpful.
What made the weekend so Special was one young man name Harry, HA, as we called him ( the RRY on his badge had been damaged in a washing accident ). We were on a special deal with the hotel, where we had dinner on our first night, which was excellent value. At the end of the evening as i was leaving the restaurant, I informed Ha, that our female companion was having her birthday the following morning and if he could put a note on her table to say so. We got up the following morning and went to the dinning room for breakfast, we were up before our friends, Ha would not let us go into the room as he was trying to prepare a table for us. We went to sit in the bar area. He came to us and apologiesed as he was trying to get some balloons and with it being a Sunday morning, no where was open. We told him it did not matter and there was no need to go to that extent. There was a nice note on the table.
When we had finished our breakfast, the staff suprised us by bringing out freshly baked cream chocolate eclairs iwth candles on, our friend Gills face was a picture. But, better still, it is my wife's birthday the following day & they did the same again for her, only this time we had cream filled chocolate muffins. I would higly recommend this hotel, the staff made it all so easy. Even the house keeper could not do enough for us when we had an issue with the TV. A Great Time was had by All
We will go back again.

Room Tip: I would say that all the rooms are excellent, roomy, with the biggest beds I have ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we are striving to give every guest an individual experience and I am pleased that you left the hotel very pleased. We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    515
    343
    163
    95
See reviews for
247
764
36
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I have recently run a series of presentations over the course of a week at this venue. The Conference facilities were excellent and everyone looked after me just fine! A special thanks go to Peter, Andy and Mark for all there help. A special mention also for Dominic in the bar and Esther on Breakfast service. How anyone can be that cheerful in the morning is beyond me!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind note regarding your conference at the hotel. It is always a great pleasure to see individuals being highlighted for producing great customer service.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Outwardly the Mercure resembles a stack of site cabins in a car park, built without any character whatsoever. It would win an award for least photogenic hotel!


Pleasant enough inside in a modern, shopping mall sort of style. Check in was friendly and efficient and we were pleased to be allowed to go to our room 2 hours early. We declined the offer of help with our cases and couldn't find a lift, so a couple of flights of stairs to heave my wife's case up! There are ground floor rooms though should stairs be a problem.

Room very small, net curtain and track missing and a bed side light bulb out. High window so our modesty was preserved (as far as I know!). House keeper very helpful later and tracked down a bulb. It took some finding by all accounts.

Poor requirement of using your room towel for the spa too as your towels are damp for later use - obviously. This suggests the hotel is on a tight budget but it lets down the otherwise pleasant enough spa. Bit of a chill factor at this time of the year crossing outside to get into the spa and back again with your damp towel!

Restaurant ok and seems very well run. Tasty menu choices and lovely waiting staff.

Buffet breakfast with typical if uninspired fayre but hot, fresh and again served in the bright and tidy restaurant.

Good location just outside central Chester, only a short walk from the Mercure to the park and ride - a good value £2 return.

The Mercure suited us for a very short visit as motorway links good and proximity to Chester fine. Was clean and comfortable with lovely staff but we'd probably look for somewhere with more character if we were in Chester again.

Room Tip: As for the site foreman's suite, it might have a view over the fields and a net curtain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeGeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Well located hotel within easy reach of Chester city using the P&R located just a few hundred yards away. There is also lots of good family activities within a few miles and we visited the Cheshire Ice Cream farm which as a lovely afternoon out. Hotel is slightly dated and rough around the edges in places and generally the rooms could do with being updated. The kids loved the pool with a large shallow area giving the parents a chance to relax and pop into the jacuzzi and sauna! breakfast service was good and the foos was plentiful (although a bit of a shortage of croissants). Family room consisted of a double bed, a single bed and a sofa bed so ideal to allow the kids to have a good night sleep!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I do agree the pool is a great place for children to swim and for the parents to relax. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Me, my partner and two children (aged 4 and 6) stayed here for four nights. Check in was quick and efficient. Our room was lovely and clean. We used the swimming pool every day. Breakfast was consistently lovely with great choice of foods and excellent customer service from the staff. The only negatives I have to say about our stay was the cleanliness of the toilets near the restaurant; a fire exit being left open all night, and the air con unit in our bedroom would 'click' all night long after being turned off. (It kept waking up our eldest child). And lastly, the prices of bar food and drinks were ridiculous also.
Overall though a brilliant hotel run efficiently.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidihi2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed for a 2-night break on an 'amazon local' deal. All staff apart from in the spa were friendly and helpful. Lack of hotel information in our room, meant we had to enquire about everything (dining times, spa times). Gym is small and split over 2 rooms which is a little inconvenient. 3 course evening meal was excellent - beautifully cooked. Breakfast lacked a little choice and staff were slow in replenishing the food. Hotel very close to the A55 so beware of traffic noise all night. Hotel is ideally located adjacent to the park and ride. We walked into chester along the canal (about 150yds away) and caught the bus back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjb1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the hotel.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideal for a short stay whilst visiting Chester. We have stayed in mercure hotels before and this was not one of the best however we had no major issues with it. Tidy clean rooms with everything you need. Nice swimming pool - the first one we have saw that was a little different and child friendly. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and our meal on the night was ok - my boyfriend found many bones in his fish and my soup was way too hot couldn't eat it for ages. We had the meal included with a deal I would not pay to eat here on the evening. Good location for visiting everything and the staff were polite and friendly. The bar man at the time was especially nice and made is feel welcome. If you can get a good deal for this like us (kgb/groupon) then I would recommend it however I would not pay full price.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stakiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay at the hotel. Hopefully we will welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing