We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was expected of a 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my other half stopped here for a weekend away, we were greeted by receptionist who lacked in personality. Then when we went to our room the bathroom was clean in all noticeable areas but under taps, shower head and curtain was filthy and scummy (uploading pictures). when we went for tea on our last night it was very awkward, we ordered in the bar and when we turned around to find a table they were all taken, so i asked if we could go through to the restraunt to eat our reply was 'well the restraunt doesnt officially open till 6.30 but that tables available' 1. It was 6.15 so im sure 15 minutes early wouldnt kill and 2. This table was a table in reception so people were walking past right behind me constantly. On checkout we werent asked if everything was okay, otherwise i would of had this rant to the receptionist or manager instead of trip adviser, but if they dont have the courtesy to ask, i dont see why i should be discreet. All in all i wouldnt stop here again and as a general assistant in a 3* hotel i definately didnt see how this was a 4*.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 283leah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel on your recent stay. You feedback has been noted and we will action as a team.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

943 - 949 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed for one night, the staff were lovely, polite and helpful, the room was clean and nothing was too much trouble.
We also had breakfast which I must say was one of the best we have had, we would stay again as Chester was a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel; we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just got back from a spa weekend here, and it was not too bad. The hotel is located along the main road, but only 10 minutes from the town centre which was good.

The spa was disappointing as it was a converted conference room that was turned into a spa room, but the massage beds did not have a hole for the face so they are not able to do the massage properly which was poor. But the therapists were lovely and very helpful and friendly.

The room was clean, a bit on the small side, but the bathroom was good and shower was decent, view was poor as all we could see were other rooms so not exactly ideallic.

But the best point for me was the food, especially the breakfast as they had a good selection, hot and cold options and made fresh pot of tea for you. The dinner in the restaurant was also good, apart from the sticky toffee pudding which was stodgy and didn't come with custard annoyingly, but otherwise was good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italiangirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay. Your feedback is appreciated and we are currently reviewing our Spa offering.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have been to this hotel twice up to now with my partner and our 6 year old daughter. Each time we have visited the staff are very friendly the rooms are lovely and clean and food is lovely. Our daughter loves the swimming and we do too. Such a lovely experience and the staff made our weekend even more special. We liked this hotel so much it will be our 3rd visit in April 2014. Highly recommend this hotel. Not far from the hotel is a ball pool restaurant which is great for the kids think it was a 10 minute drive. Also we visited Chester zoo which again is not too far from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieVickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited chester a for two break away and found this hotel the best value for money. Although it was a taxi journey out of Chester it worked out well with free parking and much cheaper than hotels in the centre. The corridors looked tired and floorboards creaked however the spa and pool facilities made up for this. The rooms were basic and the only downside was the hard bed and the very weak shower however all in all very good value for money, great breakfast and very polite staff all round! Thanks guys :-)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Goldilocks92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We booked this hotel for a one night stay in chester. on arrival the reception area was nice so we had high hopes for our room (102). when we got to our room it was right next to a door which lead on to the spa which kept banging all the time and in the morning there was loads of screaming kids running thorugh it. the room its self was dated and basic. the bed was small and kept sliding all over the place, the bathroom was TINY and old fashioned and the bath was chipped.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nataylorx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. At the Mercure Chester we strive to provide a service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,747 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £53 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing