We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Sorry this is a bit late We stayed at the Abbots Well New years to celebrate the New year. On arriving we checked in which was smooth and done by a friendly young lady. Our room was very nice clean and a good size. I went down to the bar with a couple friends for a drink. When I got back to my room My wife said problem with the hot water so I phoned the reception and was told it is being fixed Sadly it was not fixed sooner enough so I showered in our friends room. We mentioned this to reception when we went down but said we would not make a fuss as it would only spoil the evening . The evening was excellent. There were to do parties on 1 for couples and 1 for family . We had the couples one . There was very good service and the DJ played a good mix. I liked the way the tables were set out with ample room to get round (as some places they try to get to much in )The people were a good mix of ages and all seemed to mix well. brunch next day was between 08.30 and 1.00pm and late checked out 12noon We were very happy at check out as they made up for our problem with the water All in all a very good stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davetrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review; I apologise for the water issue that you did had on the night although I’m pleased you had a great time and we turned it around. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    479
    319
    144
    87
See reviews for
221
706
32
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights at easter 2014. Booked a twin room but had been booked into a double upon arrival, I was then offered a choice of rooms which was very nice. The hotel is in a ideal location of visiting Chester and surrounding areas, the hotel is a two minute drive from the centre, the zoo and Cheshire oaks is a ten minute drive. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating and the leisure facilities are very good offering s decent sized pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi, the water was also nice and warm which was lovely. The room was a decent size, was modern and clean, with a flats screen TV, tea/coffee facilities, shower and bath, and the beds were very comfortable. I cannot comment on the food as we did not eat in the hotel, but i will add this was because the menu was pricey and with so many places to eat etc surrounding the hotel it made more sense to eat out. Overall a comfortable well placed hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pl1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review; I agree the hotel is ideally situated if you want to go to Chester Zoo and also Cheshire Oaks. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just stayed over night for work with a colleague. Had two lovely rooms, everything you'd expect from a hotel room. The breakfast in the morning was nice. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

We were checked in by Krystina who was very friendly and helpful. She recommended a few places to go eat in the evening (we had travelled up from London) - and they were great. She also booked a taxi for us, and was there when we got back too. I went down for breakfast in the morning and she was back again, very positive and upbeat - she was very warm and friendly, and it was nice to wake up to a familiar member of staff who remembered you. I needed to print something for work and scan it back and she helped me out instantly and with a big smile on her face.

Pool was lovely and warm, had a very nice and relaxing swim in the morning... It wasn't full of kids (even though we stayed during Easter).
Used the bar in the evening and was impressed with the selection of drinks and speedy service, was - however - slightly pricey.

Very impressed with the hotel, would recommend and would stay here again for work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanEssex90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel, Krystina is a great member of our team and it is always nice when individuals get recognised for providing superb service. I do agree that the pool is great; I think it’s a hidden gem. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist, our room was on the ground floor and was very clean, the usual facilities of tea and coffee, nice shower and a comfy bed.
The hotel has a spa and gym facilities to use, all very well explained on our arrival.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was very nicely cooked and presented, the staff were very efficient and friendly, the portion sizes were a bit on the small side.
After a quiet night's sleep the buffet breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.
There is a bus stop just up the road to take you into Chester about every 20 minutes, there is also a park and ride a few hundred yards from the hotel but if you have a concessionary bus pass they will not take it.
We liked this hotel very much and would recommend it .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel; we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here on 11.4.14 and were very happy from start to finish. Friendly receptionist and were greeted by the manager Paul. Nice touches in our room from management. 3 course meal in the evening was superb. Chris our waiter was lovely. Used pool and jaccuzi prior to breakfast. Pool was the warmest we have been in and was really nice. Excellent choice for breakfast. Could not fault. Thanks to Paul for a great stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. B Davies and party.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel; we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
204 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel looks from the outside front like some kind of secret facility, looks-dark, grey square walls. Reception though is fine and the rooms clean and functional. The spa are is good and although the pool is small it is fit for purpose.. Enjoyable stay. The park and ride into Chester is only 200 yards from the front entrance. There is a large Sainsburys within walking distance. Recommended for a short stay visiting Chester.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the rear of the Hotel overlooking the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2eastwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel; we hopefully look forward to look welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed at the hotel in March 2014 on another business trip, Upon my arrival I received a warm greeting from the receptionist who was very helpful and informative. The first impression of the hotel was that it appeared very clean and modern.

I went to my room and was surprised by the size of it and how spacious it was. The bathroom was clean and the bed was comfy as well.

I didn't eat in the restaurant as I had a lot of work to do so I ordered a takeaway and the hotel called my room when it arrived so I didn't have to sit in the reception area waiting for it to arrive.

There are gym and pool facilities that are free for guests to use but I didn't have the chance to but this can only be an additional perk to hotel guests.

The checking out process was simple and I was allowed to leave my car in the hotel car park so I could walk in to Chester rather than drive into the centre and struggle to park.

Overall, a very pleasant stay at a reasonable price in Chester.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing