We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week end break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 8 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,527)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms are a good size, modern and clean. Very comfortable stay. I had a really good nights sleep and a lovely breakfast to top it off. The staff were very professional and friendly. We ate from the night menu in the bar which they were happy to reopen for guests to enjoy a late night drink. I had a cheese and ham panini which was delicious and well filled with high quality ingredients, which is unusual for a night menu item. Would definately stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank dannyrussell2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband booked this hotel through Laterooms.com and we were not disappointed, we had never been to Chester before so decided to have a night there as treat, we had a family room as we were with our 9 year old Daughter, the room was clean very spacious with a full size single bed for our Daughter and a massive kingsize for us, the bathroom was also very clean with everything you could need for an overnight with shower gels, shampoo etc, there is also an iron and full size ironing board should you need it and a hairdryer.

The staff on checking in were very helpful and cheerful and it was explained to us about the wifi, restaurant and leisure facilities etc. just a note though be careful when you are signing into the wifi as there is free wifi but also a superfast wifi which is chargeable and when signing in its seems to default you to this one and you have to uncheck it to get the free one!

The leisure facilities were also very good, with a pool, hot tub, steam room and a sauna, there is also a gym but I didnt get around to using this, when I first entered the pool I thought I had stumbled into a swingers club as the only other people in there were two couples who were both engaged in a very 'romantic clinch' I thought 'get a room' but then remembered we were in a hotel they had a room!! But anyway it soon sorted them out when my 9 year old joined me in the pool and started splashing around them, oh I bet they just loved our company lol!!

I cannot comment on the food here as we decided to take a 2 min walk out of the hotel to a Harvester restaurant where we got a main meal, unlimited salad, an ice cream sundae and unlimited soft drink for £9.99, I upgraded my drink to a glass of wine for an extra £1 (this unfortunately was not unlimited though) the food was very good and excellent value., if you cross the road and turn right as you come out of the hotel the Harvester is about a 2 min walk.

This hotel is not in the centre of Chester but not too far, you can walk into the city if the weather is nice along the canal or if you turn left out of the hotel around a 3 min walk away is a park and ride where you can catch a bus for £2 return for adults and free for kids, the buses are every 15 min or so but make sure you have the correct change for tickets as it is a machine and there is no attendant.

All in all a very nice hotel, helpful staff and good size clean rooms, we fell in love with Chester and will definately return sometime and would also look at staying here again if the price was right!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clucky-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel; we do hope to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We all had a wonderful time staying two nights at this very friendly hotel for a wedding reception. Made full use of the spa facilities, enjoying the lovely pool and Jacuzzi. We asked for a change of room and were swiftly provided with a more spacious room with a better view. The staff could not do enough for us and were invariably cheerful and friendly. Special mention must be made of Dominic who looked after us all so brilliantly, also Paul and Suzanne. The food was beautifully prepared and presented, also breakfasts were quickly replenished and service was always very attentive.

A good location for exploring Chester.

Thank you so much, it was a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking garden
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcg98Powys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent wedding reception at the Hotel, It gives me great pleasure that you have highlighted individuals for their excellent customer service; it is something that we pride ourselves on.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great location. 3 local pubs/restaurants within walking distance. Staff very friendly and really enjoyed the leisure facilities.excellent breakfast.The only negatives were the floor in our room was so creaky. Every floor board made a noisy when we walked. I did joke to my husband that we would probably wake up in the room below if the floor gave way. Wasn't too bothered as we weren't in room much but did jump out of my skin from the noise when my husband went loo at 2am. The other thing was only 1 tea bag. I asked for more (3 times ) and more finally arrived at our room at 11pm. I did mention the floor when we checked out in the hope it gets some attention. So avoid room 203. Overall the hotel is in a great location with friendly staff but does need a little bit of maintenance.

Room Tip: Avoid room 203 really noisy floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyf02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel; we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

we had a great time at your hotel the rooms are very warm and clean the service from all the staff was wounderfull the food very well presented the breakfast is the best it has everthing that we wanted even when we asked for extras it was no trouble at all but i must say we were very suprised that there was only one person looking after so many guest the mature lady was rushing around making sure everyone was looked after she did an exceptional job considering she was the only member of staff on duty so well done suzanne good job done .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel; we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Propajob
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £52 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing