We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not good at all”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed one night for work. Arrived and entered the one way carpark and was immediately greated head on by some idiot racing round the carpark the wrong way. As I parked up a crappy boy racer car sped and screeched into the carpark with 2 oiks getting out with sports bags who proceeded to make their way to the reception.

Obviously a local hangout for the Chester and Wrexham teenage banger brigade.

After checking in I got to the room. I was instantly hit with the musty like smell of wet dog as I entered, there were 2 single beds on casters that moved as soon as you tried to sit on it. The bathroom floor had wet patches near the toilet, which I only hope were water. there was no wardrobe, just a few coat hangers on a rail. No iron or ironing board. these had to be ordered from reception.

One call later and a travel iron appreared (really a travel iron). The TV looked like it came from the Ark with a limited choice of channels that seemed to just be just streaming constant adverts for PPI claims or Cash Converters etc.

After getting changed I went to the bar to meet my colleague. Not much of a draft choice, I asked for a Guinness, the pumps broken, is a can OK said the barman. Really you think anyone is going to pay draft prices for a can, get a grip!!! Obviously I had something else.

My colleague also commented on his room being smelly, he had to open the windows it was that bad.

After a really shoddy bar meal I called it a night. Good luck getting any sleep, was like laying on a large skateboard that moved everytime you turned. Also you could here the room noise form the surrounding rooms.

Turning the shower on next morning hopefully explained the previous nights wet floor. There was no shower curtain, just a small partition wall not capable of sheilding the rest of the room from the showerhead, which proceeded to hose the entire room down.

Shocking place, won't be staying here again any time soon.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HellsKitchen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive review on the hotel, feedback is very important to us.
Just for your information, we don’t have travel irons in the hotel. We have just purchased new beds for all of our bedrooms. Our TVs do not advertise any 3rd party companies and have a free view listing; we also have sky sports in our bar.
I must apologise that you felt the hotel was not suitable for you.

Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    515
    342
    163
    95
See reviews for
246
764
36
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southport
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel but were disappointed in the small size of the room and even smaller bathroom.We did not eat in the restaurant but found a lovely place to eat, The Ring of Bells in the village of Christleton not far from the hotel.For breakfast we ate at Alfredos near the cathedral in Chester.

Room Tip: Do not choose Room 101 which is at the end of the ground floor corridor as the fire exit door is use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent visit to the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Mercure is a lovely hotel set in the countryside of Chester. Stayed over for two days and had a tthouroughly good time. This hotel is a credit to all who work in it. Head chef has a new menu which we tried. Cod and Parma ham half a roast chicken excellent. Harry the waiter Gareth in the bar making for a very pleasant experience. Cant wait to stay again in this brilliant hotel

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice77Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We hope to welcome to back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed with the hotel as we were booked on by globus..the hotel at first sight seemed fine but the rooms were really really hot and the staff on call could do nothing about it other than asking us to open the windows and not use the quilt...must say it does get rele hot sometimes and airconditioning is but needed...the breakfast was average...overall not so satisfactory stay..hope it improves

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on your recent visit to the hotel. Although you did not enjoy your stay, I do hope that you enjoy the rest of your tour of the UK.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for one night with friends using 2 double rooms booked months in advance. The hotel is in a good location near the canal which you can walk along to the City Centre taking about 30 minutes. Modern hotel that was extremely busy as Chester Races were on and of course the night we stayed England V Italy. There was also a large private function in the hotel. Football was shown on a large TV but there was only one TV and no volume! It was rather crowded during the match but bar service was quick. Rooms were standard for this type of hotel and beds were very comfortable. All in all a good stay but we had tp pay £160 a room for B&B which I personally thought was far too expensive and realistically I would have preferred to have been paying about £80. Breakfast was buffet style and was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kensemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay at the hotel and your comments regarding our service. The price for a room at the weekend was driven significantly by the races being on. We like to operate as a hotel that offers great value for money and I must apologise that you did not feel this on this occasion.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was booked into this hotel as I was attending a conference nearby. It is in a good location in relation to various motorways and the main route into North Wales. It is also convenient for a Park and Ride service into Chester. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The Studio room had a very comfortable bed and the bathroom was clean, with nice towels and a powerful shower. The layout of the room was a little strange - no wardrobe but a hanging rail and it was difficult to dry hair with a decent mirror and be able to sit down at the same time. The large mirror was against the door and immediately in front of the bathroom door. The hair dryer provided in the room was above the kettle and tea tray. There was no air con in the room. The Evening meal was pleasant but expensive ( if you had to pay) and drinks prices were extortionate. Breakfast buffet could have had a larger choice. The Fitness facilities were ok - a treadmill, cross trainer and some weights. The pool was small -ok for kids but not for swimming lengths and was in need of a revamp, cracked tiles and missing grouting. There was a steam room and sauna. An ok place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retracenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay at the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#13 of 44 in Chester
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing