We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday night stay over ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Rossendale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saturday night stay over ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a saturday night last month, £150 for one night which i thought was crazy considering the standard of the hotel room we received, very very basic, lots of other places better value for money within chester and better customer service, as check in staff were not very welcoming and greeting as you would expect in any other hotel of a high standard, would not stay here again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I must apologise that we did not meet you expectations.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    479
    318
    144
    87
See reviews for
221
703
32
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our second time staying at this hotel. The staff are great and a very helpful, nothing is a problem. However, the family room we had, room 154 was like a sauna. We couldn't get a proper sleep and had to have windows open and an electric fan on all night which really didn't make much difference. This was NOT during the weeks of hot weather. The room was also very small for three (two adults and our 10 year old son). The health facilities are good and the swimming pool is one of my sons favourites. There is a park and ride, which is approx 5 mins walk from the hotel, where you can get a bus to the town centre for £2.00 return and is quite frequent.

Room Tip: NOT room 154
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_G_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

For 120£ per night, the room we got was abysmal. Apart from being extremely small (I could forgive that), the room lacked AC (resulting in a 30°C hot room), the windows could not be opened properly, the bathroom was mouldy, the carpet old and stuffy, the walls as thick as paper, the bed moved very easily on its wheels when touching it, and the wooden floor squealed every time you made a step. The experience we had was far from a 4 star hotel! I would suggest you find another place (i.e. a B&B) in Chester. Do not go to this place unless you are physically forced to!

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papillon8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed constructive review of the hotel. I must apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having stayed before at the Hotel, we booked again for the family (8 adults and 6 children) for 2 nights as a little get-away.

Room: Having a 22 months old baby ment we required the use of a travel cot (supplied by the hotel). Our daugters single bed was a put up bed. Both of her cousins-also 5 years had standard beds! Both of these were squashed into a double room. They placed the cot in front of the wardrobe, next to the single bed. Even though we were only staying for 2 nights, I wanted to have full use of the wordrobe like everybody else. Therefore we had to move the cot which limited the space in the room further (not to mention the addition of our buggy!). The bathroom was very much in need of a refurb. The shower was horendous....the water was pitiful coming out and it took ages (and I mean ages), to get the hot water. There was no fridge in the room, which is quite anoying for a family with a baby regarding storing milk, yogurt, drink and so on. When i questioned this, the did tell me that they had a fridge at reception. We counted around 10 little moths flying around the place!

Restaurant: The food was lovely, everybody was pleased with their meals. The breakfast was great, and plenty of staff and they were all friendly. My son thoroughly enjoyed his warm milk in the morning and everning!!

Health club: Very nice pool, and plenty of space. All of the children had an amazing time splashing around! Be carefull when walking from the Hotel to the Health Club through the fire exit (this was the way we were directed to go) as our son tripped over threshold as this had a 10mm lip. He's got a lovely fat lip in all the pictures to remember the holiday!!!!! We did report this incident at reception.

Would we return again? Yes but would demand a bigger room with a nice bathroom!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cartref2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Came here for two nights with our married children and grandchildren. 14 of us.
Staff very friendly and helpfull. Nice manner at check in. Suzanne at breakfast excellent. The staff on duty during our evening meal were also very friendly.
Rooms: my husband and I had booked a deluxe, not standard room. On our door it stated STUDIO ROOM. The room looked very tired and the "easy chair" was anything but inviting to sit on. I am still trying to think what was deluxe about it.!!!!!!
All three families had FAMILY ROOMS (that is what we payed for). 1st room children 10&5yrs. Nice big room with single bed each for the children. 2nd room children 8 & 5 room like 1st room.
3rd Room, children 5yrs & 22months had a VERY SMALL ROOM. Not a single bed but a tiny childs bed + cot. All packed tight together. We did move the cot for access to the wordrobe,which meant walking sideways to get to the bathroom. I honestly dont know how they could charge the same for this room as the others. Again all rooms could do with a referb. We had air con the family rooms did not!! Hotels like this are lucky that they have nice staff,and good food.
Because we had 6 children in the party, we booked our meal for 6.30 in order to leave before the restaurant got busy.!!! However we were still waiting for our desserts at 8.35. By now the children were getting tired of siting. We waited a long time after ordering our third course. This was a pity because the food we had was exellent.and everyone enjoyed. Children's meals also nicely presented.
Did not use the pool myself, but the rest of the group had a good time there and said it was superb.
The hotel is in a nice location and there is ample parking spaces. Would I return? Yes if i knew it had had a make over.

Room Tip: There is no lift. If you have heavy cases its a struggle. No one asked us if we needed help. A lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymraes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your detailed constructive review regarding your stay at the hotel.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing