We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the mercure abbots well chester over bank holiday weekend with our 7 month old daughter. Room was nice but the bathroom smelt a little funny and television didn't work but couldn't fault anything else. Leisure facilities are great and the swimming pool was really warm and not over crowded. Staff where absolutely fantastic especially a man named Richard on reception who came and asked if i was ok and warm enough when pushing my daughter outside early in the morning and also gave me good advice about what to do while in chester depending on the weather it just shows that the staff there really do go the extra mile.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel2003xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

878 - 884 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

had a great stay everything was good breakfast was the best Suzanne so welcoming the children loved her so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble she even gave the sweets after they eat theire breakfast thankyou

Room Tip: breakfast great 350 good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandramarie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. Suzanne is a great asset to the hotel, always friendly and welcoming; I don’t know anyone who knows Chester better.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed with our two grandchildren, aged 8 and 5, for 3 nights in a family room. The room was big enough, very warm and the en suite had a bath. No hanging space in room, though. We had breakfast, which had sufficient choice, and we ate in 2 nights. For dinner, our younger child ate free from a basic children's menu and all the food was ok, although not particularly good value for money. The boys loved the pool, which was pleasantly warm and not busy the times we were in. There was also free wifi. There was a bit of a mix up with the dining room bills when we checked out so I would advise checking before you leave the dining room. Overall we felt it was good value and the location was handy for the zoo and theme park we visited.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bonetDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

when we 1st walked into our room it smelt very musty probably because there was no extractor fan in the bathroom.. maintenance man arrived to fix a buzzing dimmer switch (which we didn't report) but seemed just as bad later. must say food was excellent and my steak cooked to perfection. pool was good. sorry to say some staff differ from others

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank phil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I must apologise that we did not meet your expectations on your stay. At the hotel we strive to meet our guest needs and respond and react to all feedback.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is in a modern building a couple of miles outside Chester city centre, set back from a main road in a residential area, but with a rural aspect at the back and side. We stayed overnight between two days exploring Chester, and deliberately chose somewhere outside the centre. We received a warm and friendly welcome at reception and were promptly checked in. We had a ground floor room overlooking the car park, but we did not find the existence of the car park disturbing. The room was comfortable and bathroom the bathroom clean, and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. We did not dine at the hotel, but we had breakfast there. We were welcomed efficiently, shown to our table and given an explanation of the buffet system. Compared to, say, the Euston Ibis which we frequently use, the amount of food on display was only adequate in quantity and attractiveness, but perfectly sufficient and enjoyable. The signage could perhaps be improved slightly, especially in the cereals department, but on the other hand there was steaming porridge included in the choice. Check-out was swift, efficient and pleasant. We live within an hour's drive so we are unlikely to have the need to go back, but would unhesitatingly do so.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FPrefect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Over priced dated hotel
Booked a premium room....don't bother!
It was tiny, needed a total re vamp and dusty. The amount of dust on the headboard made it look like a feature on the wood. No dressing table at all...mirrors in badly lit areas, no wardrobe or drawers only hanging space next to the kettle - not practical at all. Bed was large but uncomfortable. The bathroom was small with a very slippy bath and no mat for showering..you could get one on request... at £220 a night why should you have to ask for one! Plenty of horrid toiletries but no flannels and shower that worked when it wanted to.
All corridors were noisy with horrendous floorboards and we would have definitely have not paid for breakfast had we known the service and quality of food. Would have been better off booking and cheap b and b miles away from this place...

Room Tip: Pick an alternative hotel..shoddy and very dissapointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £46 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing