We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, convenient place, hot bedrooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, convenient place, hot bedrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for one night. The hotel was very easy to find, just off the motorway and a couple of minutes drive from Chester Zoo. There was plenty of free parking and the hotel staff allowed us to park there for the day before checking in as we were early and went into Chester for the day. From the hotel you can take a minutes walk to the Boughton Heath park and ride which is £2 return ticket for an adult which is very cheap compared to the parking in the city center and the bus drops off in a very central location. Theses buses run every 10 minutes or so and even on a Sunday.
The hotel was very clean and all the staff were very friendly, the bar staff even allowed us to take away an ice bucket without purchasing anything from the bar, which was a handy money saving idea! The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the bathrooms were clean and even had a bath.
I had read on TripAdvisor about the bedrooms being hot but I booked this hotel anyway underestimating how hot a bedroom can get. I have never been in a bedroom this hot! It was a warm day but not that warm to turn the bedroom into a sauna. Luckily there was a fan in the bedroom but even with the fan on full and the window open the room still barely cooled and so sleeping was difficult. We didn't eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food.

There was also a free pool and spa which we didn't have time to access.

Overall this hotel is lovely and in a very convenient area however the bedrooms were just too warm.

Room Tip: Find a way to cool them down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plummiexd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    479
    319
    144
    87
See reviews for
221
706
32
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We found the hotel an ideal location for the park and ride into chester.we ate in the hotel and had an excellent meal on the Saturday night .breakfast was also good with plenty of choice.On this occasion I didn't use the leisure facilities but I have done on previous visits.This is the 3rd time we have stayed and we haven't had any problems on any of the visits

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind comments regarding your stay at the hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a bank holiday weekend break. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome, with Kim at reception. We then entered our room finding that the request we had made on the booking notes had been granted :)
Throughout our stay, all our needs were met and any requests were dealt with immediately.
A big thank you to the night manager Richard who was extremely friendly and helpful and went that extra mile to look after us and make us feel welcome. We enjoyed a relaxing evening in the bar area on both nights. Thank you.
Room service arrived spot on the time given and the breakfast was great. We also enjoyed using the leisure facilities and would not hesitate to stay again when visiting Chester. We would recommend this hotel to others :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Sometimes the night teams in hotels can be forgotten when it comes to service so it’s a pleasure to receive such good feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the mercure abbots well chester over bank holiday weekend with our 7 month old daughter. Room was nice but the bathroom smelt a little funny and television didn't work but couldn't fault anything else. Leisure facilities are great and the swimming pool was really warm and not over crowded. Staff where absolutely fantastic especially a man named Richard on reception who came and asked if i was ok and warm enough when pushing my daughter outside early in the morning and also gave me good advice about what to do while in chester depending on the weather it just shows that the staff there really do go the extra mile.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel2003xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

had a great stay everything was good breakfast was the best Suzanne so welcoming the children loved her so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble she even gave the sweets after they eat theire breakfast thankyou

Room Tip: breakfast great 350 good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandramarie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. Suzanne is a great asset to the hotel, always friendly and welcoming; I don’t know anyone who knows Chester better.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumfries
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed with our two grandchildren, aged 8 and 5, for 3 nights in a family room. The room was big enough, very warm and the en suite had a bath. No hanging space in room, though. We had breakfast, which had sufficient choice, and we ate in 2 nights. For dinner, our younger child ate free from a basic children's menu and all the food was ok, although not particularly good value for money. The boys loved the pool, which was pleasantly warm and not busy the times we were in. There was also free wifi. There was a bit of a mix up with the dining room bills when we checked out so I would advise checking before you leave the dining room. Overall we felt it was good value and the location was handy for the zoo and theme park we visited.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonetDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing