We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$76
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/10/21
ZenHotels.com
US$74
View deal
Hotels.comUS$76
PricelineUS$76
eDreamsUS$76
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,246)
Filter reviews
2,246 results
Traveller rating
547
719
514
279
187
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
547
719
514
279
187
Show reviews that mention
All reviews park and ride health club leisure facilities evening meal steam room city centre cheshire oaks both nights stayed here for one night two night stay weekend break zoo canal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,118 - 1,123 of 2,246 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2016

This hotel is far from living up to it's 4 star rating. The first room we were given stank of cigarette smoke. Reception quickly moved us to another room which was boiling hot, the shower didn't work, the hairdryer was filthy and the over all decor looked tired including chipped enamel in the bath tub. It was also extremely noisy with everything audible from both adjacent rooms and the corridor - not pleasant. Whilst the restaurant/bar staff were very friendly and every single housekeeper said good morning, the food was extremely average. Luckily we found an excellent pub down the road on our second night so we didn't have to eat in the hotel. I have stayed in cleaner and quieter premier inns and there is no way I would ever recommend this hotel or stay in it ever again. It would also make me think carefully about booking another Mecure.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheltenhamRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Room acceptable if a little small, but extremely hot so had to use the air conditioning to make it comfortable.
Dinner was ok, food well cooked and presented, but with a fixed menu, it would become boring if the stay was more than a few days.
Breakfast was self serve, plenty of choice for cold buffer, but the cooked breakfast was warm, not hot, due to the way it is stored.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review on your stay at the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Stayed here because we have been happy with other Mercure hotels but this one has let us down. The service was great but the room / halls were very dated and everything creaked. The shower didn't work in our room so we asked to move which the hotel did with no issues. The new shower was very low pressure. You could hear everything from the room, including two noisy lovers next door.

For convince, it was located very nicely for the town and Chester Zoo.

Would suggest other hotels if for a couples weekend.

Room tip: all rooms on first floor had very creaky floors and noisy doors.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Nice hotel, clean and tidy with good staff on reception and bar. Rooms a bit small for a Mercure but adequate. Far too warm in room, even with heating turned off, as the quilt was far too heavy. A little bit far out of town & the buses finish early but you can catch a bus to & from the local park and ride for £2 return but they don't run much later.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank TingleyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review on your stay at the hotel.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for an experience day with dinner and bed & breakfast all in. Glad we did not pay full price cos while the hotel room was nice enough it was nothing spectacular. Breakfast was really nice with hot food and plenty of choice. The evening meal was fine but desert was the best part.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on your stay at the hotel.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews