We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tower House in Chester
Ranked #40 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our September stay in the Tower House confirmed as others have suggested that this B&B deserves a much more lofty rating. A character filled home, large well appointed "tower" bedroom and en suite, views over the River Dee and all this complemented by a delicious breakfast in a most welcoming setting. Sue was a most gracious host and even took time out to show us the "folly" at the bottom of the garden. This accommodation is close to the centre of Chester and restaurants. The local railway station is near by should you, as we did, fancy a day trip to Liverpool. There is parking on site, but take care as the entrance to the secluded street is easily missed.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

A great place to stay, clean and comfy, spacious rooms, modern facilities but oozes with character, it is also in a quiet location..
Sue and huddy Rob who run the guest house are great too, friendly, helpful, and serve a fab breakfast, there is off street parking which is a bonus..
There are six of us ladies, we stayed at the Tower House last year but just for one night, we took over the three rooms haha,! We were planning another girly trip back to Chester and with no hesitation agreed where we wanted to stay, with a change round on who had which room, I was one of the two in the tower room this time around, What a lovely view to wake up to and sit in the window enjoying that first cup of tea.. Its a wow.. Being a girly weekend we like to be close to shops etc etc.... We can stroll to the centre in 10 or 15minutes.. We already have dates in mind and a place to stay next year :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

As the website shows, this B&B property is full of character. We stayed in the tower bedroom with a great view of the river, from the seated turret window. The room was spacious, attractive and clean and offered a modern en-suite.
Sue was able to accommodate my dietary requests (gluten free). I provided my own GF food for her to heat up, to supplement the lovely breakfast. We walked into the city in the afternoon, evening and following morning. It was an easy walk and such a delightful city to look around

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueS021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

It is hard to fault this B&B. The building itself oozes character, all of the rooms are spacious and well kept. The owners are friendly, yet appropriately so. The breakfast was first class, eaten around one large table with the occupants of the two other rooms. The location is within an easy 15 minute stroll to the City centre and less than 5 minutes from some excellent places to eat by the canal. I can't think of anything critical to say and wish every B&B could be this good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

When more reviews are written about Sue and Rod's establishment it will undoubtedly zoom up the ratings. It does not belong at 38 in the charts! Value for money is excellent and if you can book the Tower Room (it can sleep 3 if need be), it is peerless. Its views over the Meadows and the River Dee are spectacular and the B&B's situation in a quiet, secluded part of Chester just east of the city center is ideal. It takes 5-10 minutes to stroll into the city and enjoy all it has to offer.

Breakfast was what you would expect of a 4 star B&B - nice choice (continental or cooked breakfast) that was well presented, using quality ingredients. I will be returning in all likeliehood in October so please do not all rush to book the Tower Room! Well done Sue, you run a truly first class establishment.

Room Tip: All rooms, there are only 3, are of a high standard but the Tower Room is the best. Noise is not a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I had the good fortune to book the Tower Room for an overnight stay last week, on our way back to Ireland after a break in the Lake District. Our only regret was that we couldnt stay longer! It is the most beautiful house and sympathetically decorated to the highest standard possible; the Tower Room is breathtakingly beautiful, a real haven overlooking the river Dee. We parked our car safely and made our way into Chester walking by the river, it only took about 10 mins and was a lovely walk. We love Chester and spent the day sightseeing and generally enjoying the sights, walking back to Tower House by the Canal. The bed was the most comfortable I've slept in throughout our holiday with crisp egyptian cotton sheets and the most wonderfully fluffy towels in the bathroom. My favourite part was sitting in the window seat looking out at the boats on the river and the cows in the far pasture - the gardens are beautiful too with an intriguing little Tower at the bottom of the garden, looked like a nice place to escape to when life gets too hectic! Well done to the proprietress of this Guest House - I have to confess I was reluctant to put a review on Tripadvisor for fear the best kept secret in Chester will no longer be such and we may not be so lucky next time to get the Tower Room!

Room Tip: Has to be the Tower Room but I'm sure the others are equally comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clearday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This place was located in a private road, a 2 minute walk from the river and the town. It is very beautiful and very quiet as it is on a private road. They have 3 rooms only but we saw them and they were all really lovely.
We stayed in the Tower room which had a window seat in the circular turret which overlooked the river. The view is amazing.The room was huge too with a large en suite spa/boutique style shower room with a very large shower that worked perfectly and very large Ralph Lauren bath towels.
One thing I noticed was the carpet in the room, it was a pale cream, almost white and there was not a mark on it. it was so clean. The room itself had a lovely light airy feel and was decorated beautifully.
The place was lovely and clean and looked recently decorated sympathetically to the style of the house with lovely little modern touches that blended beautifully with the old.
Breakfast was really good, no cheap meats, good butchers sausages and it was cooked to perfection, how you like it. An assortment of organic breads,fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt's and other items were left for you to help yourself too.
It has a four star award and utterly deserves it. Lovely hosts too.

Room Tip: Any room would be good as its so quiet but the tower room is extra special because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#19 of 45 in Chester
298 reviews
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
4.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarvin
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
403 reviews
8.6 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower House in Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House in Chester

Address: 14 Dee Hills Park, Chester CH3 5AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower House is a large Victorian townhouse with turrets in an enviable quiet location overlooking the River Dee yet only a 5 min walk from the centre of Chester and a 10 min walk from Chester station. All the rooms are individually furnished with antiques giving a unique homely atmosphere yet with all mod cons. Breakfast is served at a long antique dining table in the turreted dining room. There is ample parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tower House In Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing