We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no candlelit supper just excellent breakfast!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tower House in Chester
Ranked #41 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
sheffield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“no candlelit supper just excellent breakfast!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

just returned from overnight stay at this b b. a warm welcome from Sue offering us fresh milk instead of the usual small uht capsules. did ask if we would like cooked breakfast but as a couple who have stayed in many b and bs find this is quite a usual practice.and when we came down to breakfast she checked if we still required this and Im sure if we had changed our mind there wouldn't have been an issue. We stayed in the tower room a beautifully decorated light and airy room with a great shower. We enjoyed sitting in the window seat watching the triathlon this morning before we had breakfast.Slept well in a very comfy bed.found Sue helpful and friendly giving us information on where to eat etc would not hesitate to return

Room Tip: tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leek
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Can't fault this place, this was our 4th visit to the tower house, can't understand the prevoius review, the rooms are lovely,
We have a phone call a few days before we arrived to confirm our booking and what time we would arrived.
this place is well priced, just 5 minutes walk to the town and you get free parking as well
We will back

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ballyLeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just back from a visit to Chester with two girl friends; I had stayed in Tower House last year and it is such a beautiful house I suggested we stay there - the house is still beautiful but I'm afraid the 'Lady of the House' leaves a lot to be desired as regards welcome and hospitality. I had e-mailed the owner to say we would be arriving between 1 p.m. and 2 p.m. last Friday, she responded with a curt 'that's fine'. However, it wasn't fine as when we arrived at 1.30 p.m., there were two other guests waiting outside the house and no-body there to let us in. We had driven quite a distance and were looking forward to unpacking our bags, having a cup of tea and going into beautiful Chester. One of the other guests phoned the owner, she told them she wouldn't be back for another 45 minutes so we left our car in the driveway and made our way into Chester for the afternoon. We arrived back at the house at approx 5.30 p.m., wet from walking in the rain - the owner met us at the door with a very lukewarm welcome - we got the feeling she didn't quite like our rain soaked appearance entering her beautiful home - hence our reference to her as 'hyacinth bouquet', the similarities were many and manifested themselves on a few occasions during our overnight stay. We had booked a triple room (one double bed; one single) - the single bed hadn't been made up, despite my request a few weeks previously for this and her immediate response that we would have to pay extra for this - the subject of money seemed to us to be the only reason she tolerates people entering Tower House - we had no issue with paying the extra for this. Next 'problem' was when she begrudgingly asked if we needed milk for tea - it seemed to be a big task to bring this up, which she did - in a flask. Next 'problem' was when, before we went out for dinner, she asked me 'what type of breakfast do you want' - I informed her we would like a cooked breakfast (as advertised) - this seemed to be an inconvenience but we persisted and discovered why she needed to know in advance, the aroma of cooked bacon met us when we arrived home at 11 p.m., I thought the practice of par-cooking breakfast was a thing of the past? Clearly not in Tower House. The beds were quite comfortable, the room had a beautiful view of the River Dee, the shower was good, the sink in the bathroom didn't empty properly. Breakfast the following morning was served in a gracious dining room - the white plastic toaster, miniature cereal packets and well used (in fact practically empty) sauce bottles were a bit incongruous in this setting. Breakfast was fine, our hostess made an attempt at conversation for about 3 minutes, we were happy enough with that. We brought our bags down the stairs at 10.30 a.m. (the time we had been told we needed to check out by); left the £115 cash and room key on the hall table - our hostess just about said goodbye and thank you, she was much more interested in counting the money (perhaps she thought we might short-change her?). We had a lot of bags to bring out to car and had to make a couple of trips - the gentleman of the house walked by at one stage in the hallway, for one moment we thought he may offer to help us - this never transpired. Suffice it to say, despite the beautiful surroundings and great location, we would never return to Tower House and we would not recommend it to anyone who likes to feel their custom is appreciated. We felt like an inconvenience from the moment we arrived, right up to the last moment when we managed to navigate our car around the two mercedes parked outside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clearday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Tower House in Chester, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Fortunately Onslow didn't make an appearance in his string vest as he was busy in the kitchen from 11pm pre-cooking the breakfast for the next day. As if! It's just as well i have a sense of humour which is obviously lacking in the writer of such derogatory comments. I hope readers will take into account the 14 excellent reviews and disregard the latest one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one Saturday night and had a wonderfully relaxing time. The tower room was fantastic and we spent a while on the window seat with a coffee watching the boats passing on the river. The house is absolutely gorgeous and the owners a lovely couple. We had a lovely breakfast with fresh fruit, fresh breads and a lovely fry up. We travelled by train and it took less than 10 mins for us to walk there and about the same to the city centre. We would definitely stay there again for a relaxing weekend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holidaygal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just stayed one night at the Tower House in Chester. Sue welcomed us warmly and gave us very useful info as it was our first time in the town. Lots of handy brochures and reading material in the room. Location is superb - easy stroll into town and also across the river to the park. Breakfast was really tasty - English Breakfast was the perfect size (not too big!) and lots of other options like fruit and yogurt. Sue was really interesting to chat to and met some other friendly guests at the breakfast table as well. Very relaxing time, would definitely recommend as the place to stay when in Chester :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash_Reed88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Exceptional space here, very near the centre of town and the canal, which is a popular community, with good food and drink on offer. But Dee Hills Park itself is a private road, quiet except for the birds, with Tower House perched above the river. The welcome is warm and the value for money unbeatable. We enjoyed the peace, and we'd certainly revisit.

Room Tip: All good, but the Tower Room stands out. We made sure it was available when we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandGDoverUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were surprised at the accomodation. It far exceeded our expectations. Large rooms tastefully decorated. Lovely breakfast. Easy walk into the centre. In a private road so quiet location. Tower room overlooks the river.

Room Tip: The tower room is splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chester Apartments
Chester Apartments
#1 of 25 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison Claire
Maison Claire
#35 of 79 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fifteens of Chester
Fifteens of Chester
#10 of 25 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coach House Inn
The Coach House Inn
#5 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 79 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower House in Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House in Chester

Property: Tower House in Chester
Address: 14 Dee Hills Park, Chester CH3 5AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower House is a large Victorian townhouse with turrets in an enviable quiet location overlooking the River Dee yet only a 5 min walk from the centre of Chester and a 10 min walk from Chester station. All the rooms are individually furnished with antiques giving a unique homely atmosphere yet with all mod cons. Breakfast is served at a long antique dining table in the turreted dining room. There is ample parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tower House In Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing