We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad day?”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #181 of 630 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 17 April 2014

To be fair, pizza express is a chain with a consistent menu. The variable is service. This was a bad day. Service was awful. Kitchen staff was short and wait staff was overwhelmed. Food was very good,but the torture of waiting for the food ruined the evening.

Date of visit: April 2014
1  Thank Lakedale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 268 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Ate here last night No need to make a reservation but if going on a Friday or Saturday I would recommend it.
The starter lacked mushrooms but was still good. Both pizzas were excellent. The desserts were fine too although I did order the raspberry sorbet and it was out of stock. It, together with a risotto dish were new on the menu and both were unavailable which was slightly disappointing.
The restaurant was busy last night even though it was a Monday but we had fast efficient service. We were even asked if we had a voucher when we paid the bill. We did and saved over £13.
Pizza Express at its best.

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Lovely lunch today at Pizza Express. Shared the antipasti starter which was lovely, followed with the vegetable calzone pizza. This was delicious. Worth a visit

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JKE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Ate here on our visit to Chester. Seems to be a very family friendly restaurant. Thankfully all of the young diners who were there were well behaved, so we were able to enjoy our meal in peace! Staff were friendly and helpful. The food was served quickly and tasted good and on par with other pizza express restaurants.

Date of visit: March 2014
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We've eaten at Pizza Express in Blackpool twice now and as this is one of the only restaurants my 6 year old will sit still for the whole meal and eat everything so we thought we'd use our Tesco clubcard vouchers and visit our local one. I had the pollo penne pasta (as usual), the only thing about this is there needs to be more onion and mushroom. The daughter was happy with her pizza and the six year old loves the kids menu and the games etc on the back keep him amused. My husband wasn't overly thrilled with his pizza which was the Toscana - there was hardly any topping (certainly nothing like the menu pictures!). Not sure if this is just this restaurant or the way the chain make the pizza's. Staff were friendly and restaurant was nice and clean and tables spaced out well.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Felicity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing