We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very well run Restaurant with great Food”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #177 of 559 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
“A very well run Restaurant with great Food”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We visited on Bank Holiday Monday. The restaurant was very busy, but the manager had staffed up, ready for the increase in customer numbers. So many places fail to do this, resulting in a long wait to be served - well done to her for putting the customer first.
We eat regularly at Pizza Express restaurants around the Country, and are never disappointed. Chester restaurant was very good, clean and a good atmosphere. The food was very good, and all three of us really enjoyed our meal.
We know Josh ( one of the team ) from the Wrexham restaurant, he has moved for career progression - very good luck to him - he works really hard.
If you are looking for a centrally situated restaurant in Chester, and one that offers good food at good value, then get down Pizza Express.
Very well done to the whole team for working so very hard on a Bank Holiday. And very well done to the Manager for being on the ball and making our experience great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravellers222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    78
    59
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited here today with my wife for lunch, was fairly busy, service was average, waited about 15 minutes for our food which was fine, we ordered 2 pizzas from the very limited menu, the pizzas were both ok but nothing special and were over priced, wouldnt go back again in all honesty as its not good value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OK food, poor service”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was my first time at Pizza Express for quite some years and it's likely to be some time before I return.

The pizzas were good, despite the limited menu. Disappointed there was no seafood pizza as the majority of Italian restaurants have.

Prices were on the high side with the ridiculous cost of a large beer approaching £7.

The main problem was the waiter. Rude with little attention to detail. I wanted a clean knife and ford and he asked what's wrong with them then started examining cutlery on and empty table to give us.

For the price of the meal the service was laughably appalling.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BRDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A bad day?”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

To be fair, pizza express is a chain with a consistent menu. The variable is service. This was a bad day. Service was awful. Kitchen staff was short and wait staff was overwhelmed. Food was very good,but the torture of waiting for the food ruined the evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakedale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“GREAT PIZZA AND ATTENTIVE STAFF”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Ate here last night No need to make a reservation but if going on a Friday or Saturday I would recommend it.
The starter lacked mushrooms but was still good. Both pizzas were excellent. The desserts were fine too although I did order the raspberry sorbet and it was out of stock. It, together with a risotto dish were new on the menu and both were unavailable which was slightly disappointing.
The restaurant was busy last night even though it was a Monday but we had fast efficient service. We were even asked if we had a voucher when we paid the bill. We did and saved over £13.
Pizza Express at its best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing