We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, needs more staff”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #164 of 558 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, needs more staff”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

As a family we eat at Pizza Express fairly often, usually making use of Tesco vouchers. The food is good, it does light options (leggera) which are great, especially when bikini time is approaching! However, on the last few visits we have noticed that less staff are working, and that they seem to run out of things a lot. Today the restaurant was more than half full, and yet only 2 staff were serving for most of our visit. I cannot fault the staff, but however good they are they are not superheroes. This meant that drinks orders were forgotten, or it took longer for things to arrive (not food, that was fresh and piping hot), or that tables were left for a long while before somebody could clear them. They had also run out of larger bottles of sparkling water.
I have noticed the same issues in another branch nearby, where I have been told there is no pasta, or no cocktail sticks to use for olives etc etc. In my opinion, the management need to employ a few more staff and sort out their ordering. But the food is great!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMAH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    77
    59
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Visited here for a meal. Although the place was very busy the service was amazing and food very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“As you would expect”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We attended the restaurant on a Friday lunch time. Staff were attentive and welcoming. The menu is varied and caters for all tastes. Pizzas were tasty. Would definately visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welshchick86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“have a drink before you go”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

fancied something i don,t normally have so opted for a pizza with my better half and youngest daughter,we choose the hot american,four seasons and the new spicy chicken pizza,s with pollenta chips, very thin and very tasty meals they all were,easily enough for the three of us as each pizza hung over our plates,pizza good value for the price we paid however at nearly £4 for about a dozen or so chips didn,t impress,but worse value were the drink prices over £4-50 for the smallest glass of wine i think i,ve ever seen not impressed at all,and i,m sorry but as nice as the pizza,s were i will not pay such high prices for so little measures of wine so i probably will not be returning which is a pity

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChesterBluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Races day”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Really good experience on Races day. Table of 14 - we were served promptly and correctly. Food was tasty and pizzas were really impressive. Good night and friendly service. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Samantha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 
Broughton, Flintshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing