We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a long way to go unless you want burgers, burgers and more burgers”
Review of The Piper

The Piper
Reserve with OpenTable
The Piper is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional pub in the lovely Chester suburb of Hoole. Serving traditional home cooked food with a wide selection of beers, local and from a far. Extensive wine list. Showing all Sky Sports games in Hd. Family friendly. Lunch time menu. Fab Sunday lunch. Bookings taken but not essential. Open from 12-11pm Sun-Thur and 12-12pm Fri-Sat
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Still a long way to go unless you want burgers, burgers and more burgers”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have been to this Pub a few times over the years when visiting Chester. The quality of the food has both ebbed and flowed. When last in town I again visited. This time a new manager and the pub branded as a Restaurant. Stretching a point as although the extensive selection of burgers is home prepared and generously portioned that’s as far as it goes. The rest of the menu is bereft of choice. No Pasta, No Seafood Risotto, No Beef Stroganoff, No Chile Con Carne. In fact a poor selection. If the new Management want to succeed they will need to have a rethink. Maybe take some of the burgers off the menu and adding a greater variety. I would wish them well but at the moment the jury is out…….

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerwentWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    59
    24
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality and value Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Very enjoyable family Sunday lunch, including the roasts and excellent home made pies of the day. Generous portions but good quality food in a relaxed atmosphere with a quality selection of beers.
Keep up the good work!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reunion of Friends”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I met some friends who I had not seen for 25yrs, The meals were presented well and cooked to perfection all seven of us enjoyed the meal and this made our reunion all that much better.
Will certainly come back for more

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bugsy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Massive improvement”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Had the Brie and bacon burger which was amazing and partner went for pork medallions off the specials board which was even nicer!! Very friendly staff nothing was too much trouble and the menu has improved so much will definitely be returning for their Christmas menu! :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Genuine quality food at sensible prices”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We have just had our second visit in the last week to this newly owned bar on the road. Please go and try this one out as we found the food of excellent quality with undoubted high standard ingredients and all freshly prepared. Pie of the day is awesome as are the burgers but they do have various choices of foods to suit all taste buds. Roast dinner is next on our agenda to try out which sounds like a real treat also as they do Beef, Ham, Turkey and Nut Roast so all diets are catered for. Oh lets not forget the service was warm and very attentive. We will return again and my advice is you should go and try this place out. Well done and thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtollet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Piper also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Piper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing