We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well run Establishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very well run Establishment”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed for one night (standard room), found staff to be very pleasant on arrival,room nice but looked as though cleaning had been rushed and ready for update in bathroom,spa very nice enjoyed steam room,sauna,jacuzzi and pool.dining area very relaxed.
got a great deal and would look to stay again but maybe in exc room if the price is right.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confirmation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    425
    141
    50
    31
See reviews for
281
853
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed for three nights and had a really relaxing break including a visit to Chester using the very convenient bus service. Most impressed by the fact that all the staff were pleasant ' efficient and helpful. The food in both restaurants was very good. if a bit pricey in Ciros. The spa and pool looked really good but we were unable to use the facilities due to problems of our own. Our room was rather small and was due for a facelift. Would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boater42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the place. Very relaxing hotel, staff very friendly. Ideal place to visit if you just want to get away from it all. The hotel has everything you need. Breakfast fantastic :-). I would recommend this hotel and spa to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here a couple of times; it's a strange place!

Some decent, comfortable rooms if a little traditional chintz-like in character, but it is the decor of the dining room that is the most extraordinary. In its attempts to create, what I can only assume is a pastiche to the Mediterranean in plastic, it rather assaults an eye more used to the minimalism of more modern establishments.

The hotel bar is more pub, if that is your thing; food was more pub-grub than fine dining.

Free internet is a plus.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blucat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here a few days after our wedding, I was a little disappointed with the room small and rather ordinary for a 4* hotel.The room had a damp smell to it which seemed worse upon returning. The nelson pub style restaurant is great lovely food and fab service the other Italian style restaurant unfortunately was a little more disappointing. Breakfast was nice but to early for a relaxing break finishing at half 9! We had a few treatments at the spa which was Sooo amazing great staff and the most amazing experience!! We recommend the rasul!!!!
A nice break but not quite what we were expecting.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazmin1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

What a day, myself and my partner arrived about 9:30 for our Spa day and was shown arround and made very welcome by the lovely Crina who throughout the day always asking if things were ok and always had a smile on her face. We went for a swim first, the baths were lovely had a quick chill out in both the Jacuzzi and steam room. Lunch was lovely, 2 courses but not to heavy. After this we just chilled out for a bit then went for our treatments, the therapists were lovely, professional and made you relax straight away. After the treatments we headed into the relaxation room where we really relaxed and both of us fell asleep and I just did not want the day to end. I have never felt more relaxed, pampered and looked after and this is the most amazing spa I have ever been too and I will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

What can I say, I loved it. We had a Deluxe Room which had a wardrobe, table and comfy sofa it had a spiral staircase up to the bedroom and bathroom area. The bed was really comfortable and the room and bathroom was spotless. The restaurant was beautiful and all staff were so friendly but professional. The food was amazing and plenty to choose from too. Breakfast was buffet style and there was lots to choose from and really tasty. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,154 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,605 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing