We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$125
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$178
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$118
US$106
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$278
US$250
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$251
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oddfellows(Chester)
US$195
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,784)
Filter reviews
1,784 results
Traveller rating
1,068
459
162
57
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,068
459
162
57
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelsons barspiral staircaseciro's brasseriejapanese gardensensory gardensunday carveryexecutive roomlovely hotelwedding venuesteam room and saunawedding guestsafternoon teamy partnerleisure facilitieswedding receptionthe ground floorfrom start to finish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,412 - 1,417 of 1,784 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Me and my boyfriend went here for a weekend away. We stayed for two nights in a standard room and had booked on to have breakfast both mornings. We were greeted on reception by a friendly lady who told us where everything was and how to access our rooms. We stayed in room 20 which overlooks a small outdoor seating area with a fountain. The room was quite small with a double bed, desk, wardrobe, tea facilities, trouser press. The bathroom was clean and well lit with good surface area for you to put your things.
On the first night we ordered room service as we were tired from our long day, the food was really nice and you got loads for your money. There was an additional £5 charge for room service ( which was to be expected anyway). The following morning we headed down for breakfast and were greeted by friendly staff, who showed us to a table. The waitress asked if we would like some toast (which we said yes to) and then told us to help our selves to the cooked breakfast and fruit etc.. There was also a menu which you could order more things from; such as omelettes and poached eggs. There wasn't much variety on the cooked breakfast table nor was there many cereals/ fruits to choose from. We sat and ate our cooked breakfast and we had still not received our toast. By this point we had finished anyway, so I didn't feel the need to ask for it again.
Later in the day we looked at the hotel grounds, where there are beautiful gardens, with ponds bridges and water features. Whilst at the hotel there was two weddings that took place, unfortunately the weather was awful so one the wedding parties had to rush inside before they got wet through and wind swept.
We did not use the leisure facilities, however we did go and have a look at them and they looked very clean and relaxing. There is a small seating area before you enter the leisure facility, which over looks the gardens and some water features. Also there is complimentary orange juice which you could help your self to.
In the evening we ate in nelson's bar which was busy due to the races being held that day. The food was excellent and once again we got loads for our money. We ended up being in there for a good few hours.
On the second morning we decided to skip breakfast as we had to set off back home earlier than expected. Also we didn't really fancy a cooked breakfast.
We were checked out by a friendly girl on reception and then headed on our way.
I have given the hotel a 4 star due to the fact that i thought it was a little over priced for the size of the room we had. Also because there wasn't much variety on the breakfast table.
Overall our stay was great and I would definitely recommend this hotel for a wedding venue, or spa weekend away. The hotel is between 10-20 mins away from all local tourist attractions, for example: Chester zoo, the town centre and the designer outlet.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe or luxury room to get more for your money.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L1M5W10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We got married here on 20th May 2012 and I cannot recommend this venue enough, or praise the staff who work here.

From the moment we looked around for the first time the wedding co-ordinator Natalie was outstanding - always quick to reply, super friendly & obviously loves her job! The day before the wedding, despite there being another wedding on, the staff made me feel very special and nothing was too much trouble. On the day, everything went perfectly and was so professional. There is no wonder this venue is booked for weddings constatly throughout the summer months (and busy in the winter too I believe).

The hotel grounds are lovely, there is a new oriental garden and the spa area is very relaxing. Choice of places to eat & very nice rooms, I stayed in an executive room the night before the wedding which was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable.

We will stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my partner, son, daughter-in-law and baby grandson. Greeted by friendly, helpful receptionist. Good service when we had lunch in Nelson's bar. Took advantage of the spa facilities which were very good. Comfortable clean rooms with everything to hand. Ate in Ciros restaurant where service was excellent, as was the food. Would recommend highly and will certain stay again when in the area

Room Tip: We had ground floor room with seating just outside which was a bit disconcerting to begin with. My son and daughter in law were on the first floor and looked out over entrance to Grosvenor suite. Theirs was a larger room but had no different facilities than ours. Both very good.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOYR20G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night after a cycling holiday, wanting to relax and unwind before heading home. We weren't disappointed! Lovely rooms with very comfortable beds, good in-room tea-making facilities, and satellite TV. There was a beautiful pool in a large heated room, with jacuzzi and steam room, all of which standard hotel guests can use (even if not having a spa treatment).

We had a delicious meal at a very reasonable price, at Ciro's Brasserie (2 main meals + shared dessert + large glass of wine + glass of juice = £43). We wished we had ordered 2 separate desserts! The Bramley apple & cinnamon souffle with apple shot and mini toffee apple was one of the best desserts I have ever tasted. It was amazing.

Breakfast was good - there was a buffet with fruit, yoghurt, cereal and cooked breakfast. You can make a separate order for continental meats and cheese, organic muesli topped with fresh fruit and yoghurt, and poached/scrambled eggs. I think there is usually a separate charge for these, but we got a good deal from Booking.com which included the breakfast (including ordered items).

We asked for a later checkout as our train was mid-afternoon, and we were given an extra hour (free of charge) to relax after breakfast.

All in all, a perfect relaxing end to our holiday!

On a side note for anyone planning a wedding, this looks like a very good venue and has won several awards for this. It has beautiful grounds, a spa (for pre-wedding day relaxation if you fancy), and excellent quality rooms for the guests. However, the actual suite for the ceremony and the wedding breakfast looks a little conference-room style, with plain walls, spotlights and low ceilings. Also, as the hotel is large, there can be other hotel guests wandering around, and we saw several bridesmaids and wedding guests walking through the restaurant whilst we were having dinner.

We decided to have an opportunistic look-around whilst we were staying here as we are planning a wedding next year. This wasn't exactly what we were looking for, but everyone has different ideas and needs for their wedding, and it looks like a fantastic choice!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squidsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Me and my partner stated here for one night. Lovely hotel rooms could be updated. The restaurant is lovely and good priced. The spa is average have been to a lot better. Wouldn’t stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jssmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews