We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

A delightful hotel to stay at if visiting Chester. The hotel is a delight in deisign surrounding a courtyard and conservatory.The courtyard has out door seating and surrounded by flowers and pool with fountain. Restaurant is smart with delightful atmosphere . Food menu is very good and service all round pleasant and very efficient. Bedroom was roomy ,with toilet and bathroom and all was clean and neat..
Bus stops close to hotel running every 10 mins from Wrexham to Chester so you donot have the "hassle" of finding parking. Hote lparking very good and free. Bus takes about !5 mins to Chester
The garden is magnificent in flower and rose lay out and plenty of seats and tables with sun shades.There is a superbb lily pool with diferent colour lilies. Worth a visit

Room Tip: Speak to hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gershon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    425
    141
    50
    31
See reviews for
281
854
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Formby,Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Have been before, but first time in an Executive Double in the newer Section..Price included breakfast which was quite hearty for what was delivered to the room..spot on 9:00am..Rooms have everything you need,spacious etc..Hotel reception very helpful and formal but in a normal way..sorted out taxis to chester races over phone,no issues..Price inc breakfast for 2 was £165 which considering i've paid 25 in similar hotel for breakfast equates to about £110 for the room..good value..we did not visit the spa, but that looks great and next year we are tempted to stay the extra night so we can use these facilities..nice quite location on cheshire/welsh border and not to far from Chester..easy access off A55..lovely gardens to walk around..will be back..

Room Tip: all rooms are great..but prefered the executive room in the new block..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merseyside_walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We chose this hotel as a base to visit Chester, noting it was out of the city; had ample parking, and was near to a Park and Ride which is the best way to get into the city. We were not disappointed. The location was ideal; hotel grounds and decor of public rooms beautiful. We chose the standard room which was large and comfortable, although a little dark as the only window overlooked other parts of the hotel buildings. I suspect the higher spec rooms enjoy better views and some appear to be in a more modern extension over the function room. We used the spa area which was very pleasant. We ate in the bar area which has a reasonable menu (note to place order at the bar). Other option is the hotel restaurant area. Breakfast is in this same area, buffet style with a full cooked option. There were weddings on both nights we were there but we were not disturbed by noise, althoiugh wedding guests were milling about.

Room Tip: TRy for a higher specification room if able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

had our wedding reception at the grosvenor and everything from start to finish was perfect.it really made our day.the staff are excellent and the wedding breakfast and evening buffet was fantastic.we recommend having the fairy lights on the walls in the main room,it really makes a differance to the room and is worth paying that little extra for.all our guests said it was an amazing day and how fantastic the grosvenor made our special day..that extra special.our wedding day was on may 5th 2012,and it didnt rain so had some nice photos out and inside of the grosvenor.another bonus for the grosvenor is if the weather is bad,dont worry plenty of locations in and around this fantastic hotel to have some nice photos.thanks again to all at the grosvener hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Booked three days. Lovely room, hotel amazing, staff all lovely. Want to go back to use treatments. Pool and spa amazing. Grounds fantastic. Maybe I shouldn't promote it too much, want it to myself. Breakfast great staff very attentive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpikybuffyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford england
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed here with my husband on Saturday night. I had a pregnancy pampering spa treatment which was wonderful. The pool was relaxing. We ate in the brasserie and had one of the nicest meals that I can remember for a long time. Breakfast was very nice also. It was a shame to leave to be honest. I could have stayed for more pampering. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnio_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Me and My husband got married at the Grosvenor on the 21st June and from the moment we arrived on the 20th to when we left on the 22nd The staff were Fantastic. They created such a wonderful day and I couldn't of asked for a better Venue, the food was amazing and our guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been too.
From start to finish we were updated on what was going on and the day went smoothly, I can not point out one bad thing about this hotel as there isn't any. I would highly recommend this hotel for weddings and for a break away I will defiantly be returning on our 1st year anniversary :)

Thank you so much to all the staff who made us feel so welcome and made our day Perfect.

xx

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,164 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,624 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing