We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$90
US$80
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$119
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oddfellows(Chester)
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$156
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,783)
Filter reviews
1,783 results
Traveller rating
1,067
459
162
57
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,067
459
162
57
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelsons barspiral staircaseciro's brasseriejapanese gardensensory gardensunday carveryexecutive roomlovely hotelwedding venuesteam room and saunawedding guestsafternoon teamy partnerleisure facilitieswedding receptionthe ground floorfrom start to finish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,387 - 1,392 of 1,783 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Four of us stayed here recently for 2 nights to celebrate our 40th birthdays. Prior to checking in we had booked our treatments and confirmed full use of the spa. We had also booked to eat at the Pub on our 1st night and in the Brasserie for the 2nd night. The rooms were fine but really warm and with no air conditioning we were reliant on opening the windows, which didn't really help. On inspecting the bathroom my friend pulled the shower curtain back only for the pole to fall on her head! Maintenance rectified the situation quickly, only for it to happen again. 2nd time it took a whole day for them to fix it. We complained but there was not much reaction.
The meal in the pub was mixed. Lovely starters but all of the main courses were disappointing -the cheese pie was extremely heavy and the oriental beef strips came with no sauce - very dry.
A very poor nights sleep followed due to the warm room (the temp outside was not overly hot).
Breakfast was very nice, lots of choice and some items available cooked to order. The spa treatments were lovely - lots of choice and very friendly staff. A note of caution - we expected the full spa day as my friend was told we would have full use of the spa. This was not the case. Therefore although we spent £130 each on average for our treatments we could not use some of the relaxation rooms or the lounge during the day. We queried this and the manager accepted it was ambiguous - obviously people had complained before. They offered to upgrade us for another £35 each but we declined as we were at least half way through the day by then. Very disappointing. The meal in the brasserie was a definite highlight - lovely food and lovely service.
2nd day breakfast was not as good - there was a wedding party in and the staff were extremely busy. The manager was extremely rude to both us and a member of his staff who attempted to seat us - totally unprofessional.
Overall we left having enjoyed ourselves but not as much as we thought we should. We spent a lot of money there in one weekend and it just didn't feel special enough for the cost.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillAshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Superb hotel, friendly but professional staff. Excellent facilities and managed to a standard of excellence. Loved the resteraunt, scallops and pancetta delicious. Loved it so much going to visit very regularly. Big thank you to all the brilliant staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just back from a 2 night booking at the Grosvenor Pulford but was enjoying it so much we stayed an extra night. My self , my wife and my 26 year old daughter arrived for a much deserved break and had a warm welcome from reception and were pleased to find we had been allocated rooms next to each other. The rooms were smart, tidy and functional. The bathroom was looking a bit tired in places but the shower curtain was clean and the shower very good. We were on the ground floor and had a nice view of the spa garden.
As it was sunday we ate in Ciros and had the Sunday Roast carvery and couldn't fault the portion size. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The next day we had a drink in nelsons bar and some hot nibbles for lunch and again the staff were friendly and welcoming,
We ate in Ciros again and the food was very good.
During the afternoon we had used the spa facilities but only the part available to hotel guests not those on spa packages. the pool was very nice but the jacuzzi had several missing tiles, the sauna was out of action and the steam room was your average plastic seated hotel spa steam room. there were also only 4 seats and one of those was broken. the changing area was very clean and functional. The rest of the actual spa looked really nice with a lot of comfortable relaxing seating and pleasent incense and oil essenses smell. The outside spa sensory garden was also really good.
We were enjoying ourselves so much we asked if there were any rooms available for another night and the helpful young man on reception mamaged to juggle rooms around so we could stay in the rooms we were already in and on the same dinner , bed & breakfast rate we were on.
Breakfast itself was your average hotel fare and I particularly liked the sausages and there was plenty of choice.
The last day we had the afternoon tea with so many sandwiches, cakes and scones it was a test to get them eaten( I will try and upload a photo).
We ate in nelsons on the last night and again the food was really good and the portion size so big we struggled to finish. we had also had a walk around the lovely gardens which must make a nice setting for photo's if you were having a wedding there.
We had an excellent break and would certainly stay again and found all the staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobbyec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here in July and were very impressed with everything this hotel had to offer. We had room 74 a superb room. It was in the newer part of the hotel and was luxurious, clean, spacious, huge modern four poster bed and new modern swish furniture. Room 74 is also at the back of the hotel with a nice little view and very quiet. The bathroom is fabulous you can even watch TV via a flat screen in the bath while taking a long soak.
We had a scrumptious tea served by a lovely friendly waitress in the restaurant and also perfect meals were served by efficient friendly staff in Nelson Bar. The hotel is very clean the staff could not have been more helpful, The gardens are a pure delight, guests can chill out in the beautiful Spa Zen Gardens or in the lovely lake garden. We had a wonderful two night stay even though the weather was atrocious we kicked back and relaxed and even had a couple of Spa treatments. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Book room 74 you have a TV in the bath and at the end of the corridor so nice and quiet and also a huge bonus VERY Dog Friendly (although we do have a very small quiet yorkie) the staff spoilt her to death.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HillSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed here 8th July for 3nts,got a great deal through Lastminute.com.Couldnt find fault with anything about the hotel. We had an Executive room which was more than big enough was spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard. The food was wonderful ,we had a full English every morning and ate there on all three evenings twice in Nelsons bar and once in Ciros Brasserie for the sunday carvery. Everything was cooked perfectly and brought to the table red hot . All the staff we met were very polite and helpful and made us feel welcome. We will definately return and reccommend the hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had room 67 which overlooks the new Asian sensory garden and also the tennis court.Nice room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews