We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“December 2012 visit - Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“December 2012 visit - Great value for money”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The hotel was fine, spa facilities are fantastic very good sized indoor pool images do not do this justice on the website. The room was on the small side but clean and comfortable for a short stay. I would most definitely pay this hotel a visit again but only for one maybe two night stay the room would be too small for anything longer than this in my opinion. Very good atmosphere in the bar area good sized country pub like feel with log fires on the go in areas which was nice. General thumbs up and no complaints, well done Grosvenor Pulford Hotel and Spa.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    419
    140
    48
    30
See reviews for
275
839
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hotel is in a good location just outside Chester, near enough to drive into Chester in a few minutes, and far enough away to be outside of the hustle and bustle of a city.
We ate in both the bar and in the restaurant and while the food was nice, we found it over -priced for what we got. The bedroom was fairly small and was very dark. We asked to change to another room but were told that none was available.
Unfortunately as we were only there for 2 nights we did not have time to experience the spa. We did wander out into the garden though and it was vey nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a bright room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitriona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Great service
Beautiful rooms, especially 65-75
The food in the main restaurant has always been great and last night was no exception.

A big thank you to Michael as when we told him that we had got married here he made sure we were looked after which has further cemented our loyalty to the Grosvenor Pulford!

Room Tip: Rooms 65-75 You can regulate the temperature on the AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsdanny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

A nice hotel with good facilities. It 'feels' like a nice place too

Nelson's Bar is a bit pricey but has a nice atmosphere so worth paying a bit extra for. We had a meal in a private room and the service and food was excellent.

The Gym isn't huge but has a reasonable range of equipment and has drinking water and facilities for cleaning the equipment after use.

My room was nice and clean.

Some people arriving 'home' late at 4am and waking me (and some other guests) was the only downside but that was not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We have been to the Grosvenor a few times now including an overnight stay, the Simon Radley Restaurant, the Spa and for afternoon tea in the Brasserie.
Our visits have always been a delight. The place just exudes style and elegance. The staff are friendly and efficient, attentive without being obtrusive.
Yes it is a bit pricey but, we think, great value for the quality of food and service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwynedd
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I stayed here with my husband for our wedding anniversary and had an amazing time. The place cannot be faulted. We stayed in a standard room, which was lovely and clean. We had treatments in the spa which is they best ive been to yet, staff were more than helpful. We booked the VIP room and had our treatments together. Pool and sauna etc again, cannot fault them, only thing i dont think there is a sign in the mens changing room to the pool as my husband got a bit lost!! We had a meal in the restaurant that evening, fairly pricey, but we only had 1 course and were stuffed after and the food was amazing and the staff couldnt do enough. We then went to Nelsons bar for a couple of drinks, again a bit pricey, but a nice atmosphere. Thank you everyone at the hotel, were defiantly coming back next year. Also there was a wedding (apparently) didnt even notice it was going on.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mart_Lynn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Us four girls stayed here in deluxe rooms for a spa weekend and had a fabulous relaxing time. Our two floor rooms were spacious and very comfortable!
The treatments we had were divine and the meal in Nelsons Bar was very tasty and over generous.

I will be returning in the new year with my husband as I was entered into their prize draw and won!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing