We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,900)
Filter reviews
1,900 results
Traveller rating
1,137
474
173
68
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,137
474
173
68
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelsons barspiral staircaseciro's brasseriejapanese gardensunday carveryexecutive roomlovely hotelwedding venueafternoon teasteam room and saunawedding guestsmy partnerleisure facilitieswedding receptionfrom start to finishreception arearelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
1,415 - 1,420 of 1,900 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

We got married here on 12th December 2012, we had a fantastic day and can't recommend the wedding packages highly enough.

The whole day went very smoothly and was managed by Alistair and Maurice, they got everyone (including me and my now wife) where they should be at the right time.

Food was fantastic and served hot for all 60 guests, they even made sure the children's food was served on cool plates so they could eat straightaway. The service was great during the meal as well, glasses topped up.

The venue was dressed by the Grosvenor staff and was fabulous, we added our own touches and looked amazing.

There were plenty of places inside and out for photos and the Christmas decorations really added to the atmosphere. The Japanese gardens at the back of the hotel were great as well.

Breakfast was really tasty and fresh, although the staff seemed a bit miserable and we had to ask for things rather than being attended.

Room was nice, didn't spend much time in there though. The view could have been better for a bridal suite, but we did upgrade to this room as it looked fantastic. However the view from the window was of the roof and air conditioning units. Luckily one of the bridesmaids saw the view and closed the curtains so we didn't see it till the morning.

Only other little gripe is that there was no dedicated room for the bride to get ready in as the bridal room wasn't ready, for the money we paid (although great value) we would have expected this.

Overall a fantastic place and well worth North West wedding venue of the year! We have so many great memories and photographs (www.celynnenphotography.co.uk) of the day.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asbotwoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This is our second visit to the Grosvenor Pulford having visited December 11 and December 12, for a last minute girlie shopping break.

The hotel is stunningly beautiful and at Christmas is truly magical, the hotel has a roaring log fire and the most beautiful Christmas decorations throughout the hotel making it really special.

The first time we visited we ate in Ciro's which was excellent with wonderful food and very friendly staff.
this time we ate in Nelson's bar and lounge where the food was just as good but more informal, there were several people on what looked like office Christmas parties and i think their opinions were the same as every plate seemed to be taken away clean !

The rooms are beautiful on the first visit we had one of the up graded rooms with a spiral staircase to the bedroom with views over the mountains covered in snow, this time we had a room on the ground floor by the conservatory which was just as lovely with patio doors leading to the gardens, however we were kept awake most of the night by a dog constantly baking in a room a few doors away.

We looked around the spa and indoor pool and they seemed to cater for lots of different treatments in a relaxing environment overlooking the tranquillity gardens, i would imagine during the summer the gardens would be stunning with a Japanese theme going on.

We are visiting the hotel on 11 February again for another girlie stay and are counting the days.!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyrleybart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

As I had not been too well recently, my husband and I decided a few days away being pampered would be a good idea. I looked at many potential destinations on the internet before finding the Grosvenor. It looked wonderful on 'paper' but the actual experience of staying there was even better! We arrived on Sunday 6th January and the Christmas decorations were still up. They were absolutely beautiful and made me feel like I was entering some sort of magical world! Our whole experience was good over the 3 night stay. The staff were great, as was the food and the room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. I had a couple of treatments in the spa and thoroughly enjoyed them. The whole atmosphere there is so relaxing. We purchased one of the incense burner boxes they have lit in the spa reception areas to try to recreate the atmosphere at home! Overall a wonderful experience which we definitely plan to repeat. Thank you to all the staff for such a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had a room with a spiral staircase leading up to the bedroom from a small lower floor sitting room. If you don't fancy this layout make sure you mention it when booking.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My husband and i stayed at the Grosvenor Pulford from 24th dec 2012 to 27th dec.
The hotel was beatifully decorated,it had a real Christmas feel,the room was lovely plenty of storage,with everything you would need and i am sure if there wasn't the hotel would try to provide it.
My husband used the Gym,and i the pool,again the attention to detail regarding the things you need,from shampoo to plastic hair caps,is provided,the pool was very good,it had lounge chairs around it,sauna Jacuzzi,a very pleasant experience.
The food was really good,and seemed to be constant! the only criticism we both had was that the Christmas day lunch we and a number of people said the same they would have liked it to have been served at the table,not to have to stand in a queue at the carvery,the food was lovely the whole ambience of the place was very festive, but the serving at the table would have made it better.
Would we go again.... you bet your life we would.
The drinks price in the Nelson bar were comparable to a city price,so not cheap but not too far over the top.

Room Tip: You can upgrade to a suite,but we had a double room,we found that more than adequate.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrswWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I recently got married at this hotel in September and the whole day and stay was amazing, not just because it was our wedding day but also because of the attention to detail and professionalism of all the staff. Everything was perfect, and the food was gorgeous. I had several of my guests contact us after the wedding, just to say how much they enjoyed there time spent in the grosvenor, never mind my wedding! Really couldn’t praise the place and all its staff enough for given us such a fantastic day to remember.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 79 which was a feature room and it was beautiful
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheshireexplorer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews