We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chester shopping trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chester shopping trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Elegant and traditional are the words that comes to mind to describe this hotel. Well placed to visit the city of Chester. Open fires give this hotel a cosy atmosphere. A well respected restaurant or value for money bar meals available. We did not use the leisure facilities but they looked clean and well run. Ground floor disabled room easy to use and get to. (only comment here is the shower was over the bath, not all disabled people can enter over a bath side). Staff friendly and helpful (interestingly I was informed that the building started life as a Post Office). Altogether one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    411
    133
    46
    28
See reviews for
265
820
22
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends using a Living Social Voucher, which included an executive room, breakfast and a concession in the spa.

When we arrived check in was efficient and very friendly. We had lunch in Nelsons Bar which was cosy and comfortable. Food was good and value for money.

The rooms were warm, clean and ours (a twin on the ground floor) looked like it had been recently refurbished. The toiletries in the bathroom were in abundance and good quality. Complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits were also supplied in the room.

We spent the afternoon in the spa (it is lovely, clearly having been refurbished recently), having each booked 2 treatments each. The treatments were great and we all enjoyed them. The hotel kindly agreed to provide us with robes free of charge although it was not part of the deal. However, as another reviewer has mentioned, despite spending over £100 each on treatments, we were not allowed access to the special steam rooms etc which were reserved for day spa guests (even though we had each spent more than a spa day would have cost!). We were allowed into the pool area, which was nice but the pool freezing cold and the steam room and sauna there nowehere near as nice as those in the spa area. This was disappointing.

We ate in Nelsons Bar again in the evening, which was quiet due to the snow. Again, the food was good, service friendly and great value. Portions were a good size.

Breakfast next morning was OK - but very little in the way of pastries and cooked meats/cheeses were to order and not out for guests to help themselves. The £15 cost (the advertised price) I'd have had to pay if not included in the deal is a little steep, I'd say.

Check out efficient. We would definitely return on a similar deal but would like to have access to all the spa rooms next time - which should be available if a guest at the hotel AND a treatment is being taken.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EddyBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Could not fault this hotel. Room, food, staff - all great. Spa area nice and clean, towels provided. We ate in both restaurants and the food was good in both. Highly recommended. Mid week stay is best as the spa is emptier.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrh146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

we have stayed in this hotel twice and both times were given good rooms very comfortable beds nice and clean.The spa is lovely and relaxing nice for a afternoon chill after shopping in chester .The hotel as lovely grounds and gardens to sit and have a drink or a walk about it as two eating areas both with beautiful fresh food.The breakfast is also very good self service everythink you can think of.Location about 15 mins drive into chester but there is a bus stop outside hotel.This is a really nice hotel for a special occasion we will be using it again thats for sure.

Room Tip: stayed twice on different sides of hotel no problem with either rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

These are my personal feelings and each person will have their own view.
Stayed in tons of hotels over the UK, Europe, America and the Far East.
So have a fair bit of knowledge behind me, so fair for me to comment.
Thought it fair to say that as any negative comments doesn’t mean each and every other person will share these feelings towards the hotel.
Check in was simple and fair, apart from the barman who was standing directly behind the hotel receptionist staring at me, Awkward.
Of to my room straight away lovely and warm, can’t complain it was chilly outside so made a big difference to come into a warm hotel room, cosy.
Went for a bar meal, the burger, cheese and cola were all delicious. Thanks
Room was warm, clean and comfortable and cosy, perfect; I was staying in the Standard Double room.
After checking my emails on my bed using the hotels Free Wi-Fi I decided to go to the lovely Steam Room and Sauna which the hotels website and Last minute website show some lovely photos of the steam room and sauna etc, etc.
Both the hotel website and Last Minute state this: All hotel guests have complimentary use of the swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and tennis court.
Please take note: The photos on both these websites clearly show a lovely steam room and sauna etc, etc.
These are not complimentary they are part of the Spa and costs at least £45 to use.
There is a small steam room and sauna guest can use located next to the pool, but they are small and basic and are not the ones you see in all the hotel websites, the photos you see of the steam room and sauna etc. are part of the Spa and it will cost you.
I was very disappointed with that as I travelled from the M6 from Stafford to use the complimentary steam room after seeing the lovely photos.
Also breakfast in my opinion is a rip off at £15 that’s London prices for a 3-4 star.
You know if you said: £12 I would have paid that but you lost me at breakfast as it’s too expensive.
The third thing that I can’t stand but loads of hotels are like this, not just this hotel nearly all of them have the new electronic locks and when your neighbour leaves at 7am to go on business but you’re staying there to get peace and rest and wakes you up due to the horrible sound of the door banging closes. Can someone please invent hotel doors that close quietly?
It was also lovely to note that there was NO cleaners, or cleaners trolley waiting outside my room like lots of hotels do, it really is the hotels way of saying, would you please hurry up and check out so I can clean your room.
I personally stay in hotels to have a break and rest in peace, This hotel gave me that.
I had my double Decker and a free Nescafe room coffee for my breakfast and waited till I hit the service station on the m6 where I treated myself to a larger lunch, 2 x eggs, 2 x sausages, beans and chips £5.99.
Anyway I hope all I have done is pointed a few notes out to my fellow trip advisors and hotel management.
This is a lovely, warm, quiet relaxing hotel and definitely worth staying at.
Lastly would I come back to this hotel? Most certainly

Room Tip: I had a basic double room, Nice, warm cosy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We recently visited for the wedding of friends and stayed overnight. All the preparations for the wedding seemed to run very well without any obvious hiccoughs. We stayed in one of the standard rooms which was very comfortable and the bathroom had all the normal requirements. We did not have the breakfast so cannot comment on that but the food and service for the wedding was very good. Would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The standard room was good value for money although the view from the window was over a flat roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Attended a wedding on the 19th, upgraded to executive suite, lovely room. Nice and warm, lovely patio doors leading to a terrace. Wedding was amazing, food was lovely. Night time buffet was beautiful. Lovely surroundings etc

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillLiverpoolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
4.8 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing