We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay again, but breakfast issues need addressing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely stay again, but breakfast issues need addressing.”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Grosvenor Pulford, for the second time, on Good friday with a BBEM deal. The reception staff were very helpful, as usual, so checking in was a breeze. As before we ate and drank in the bar and brasserie which were both warm and welcoming with particularly good service in the latter. However, the breakfast experience left something to be desired. We were shown to our table through a range of dirty uncleared tables which were still untouched as we left! The coffee and the food we had was fine but the service was virtually non existent. We needed a bigger table as no crockery or used cutlery was removed from the table all the time we were there. This was also the case with other tables around us. A total contrast from the same restaurant the evening before!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w1lls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    425
    141
    50
    31
See reviews for
281
854
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is the third time we have stayed here for the Christmas Package, and it just gets better. Three nights of good food and wine. Entertainment in the form of dancing, disco and casino nights. Luxurious Spa and swimming pool.

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms but the first was the best. The Executive Suite was a bit cold. Not wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We visited the Grosvenor for one night over the bank holiday weekend.

We had booked a couple of rooms, one twin and one family. They were situated a couple of doors within each other rather than next door to each other, but not really a big problem. The family room was significantly nicer than the twin room, which was quite utilitarian, although both rooms had stunning views. Our room looked out onto the beautiful Japanese style garden.

We used the pool with the children in the morning which was great fun, although the other guests did not look overly appreciative!!

We did not partake of breakfast within the hotel, as we had booked on a room only rate and breakfast was £15 per head!!! With six in our party, that was never going to happen!

The hotel experience was very nice, probably better suited for couples or adults, but we enjoyed ourselves very much.

I should also add that the staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaltini30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the end of march for ourn3 year anniversary, it was the most amazing hotel ever! We were given a complimentary room upgrade to start off with, and when we came to check in claire the receptionist new it was our anniversary and was so lovely.

We got to the beautiful suite and found the most amazingly comfotable 4 poster super king size bed ever! A gorgeous bath made for two with a tv over it, a huge power shower and a big plasma flat screen !

There were tea and coffee AND Cadbury hot chocolate , a fridge u could use and a very informative guide book detailing the hotel facilities and prices with opening times and even LOADS of details on all the local attractions and neighbouring attractions! We found this very helpful!

We used the pool but I found it a little too cold so soon hopped into the hot tub which was unfortunatly shedding its tiles under your bum and feet. The decor was lovely but unfortunatly it was peeling and falling off... all together we werent too impressed.

I wanted to book a couples spa treatment so I called a few days before but unfortunatly they werent available on the days we were there which did dissapoint us as no where on the website or brochire does it mention this.

We ate in the pub part for the evening meal and found the food to be reall good! I had the home made beef and ale pie, the flavour was lovely but unfortunatly the beef was rather chewey.

In the morning we ate in the bistro part and had some hot food, a pastry, tea and coffee and toast, it was all really lovely but I have a rather bad complaint about this restaurant... we arrived to a choice of only 3 clean tables, 8 were all dirty and had just been ignored by the staff and not cleaned away !! Our table had no topped up butter or jam OR sugar!!! But atleast it had no dirty plates on iy and had been wiped down. They cant even say they were packed as there were 4 other tables full thats it! I watched the older lady clean a table where she squirted the cleaner on to the table and wiped around the jam container, sugar bowl, butter pot etc... rather than take them off and clean the table thoroughly!! Needles to say we were put off from eating there so the second morning we skipped it and went out instead.

We went to the reception to ask for advise about visiting chester and we were greated by claire who checked us in, she was so helpful and lovely and we had a great day out!!!

We will of course go back the room, receptionists and evening staff are all lovely and we would recommend to everyone, with the tiny warning of skipping breakfast...

Every part of the room was spotless, the hotel was spotless and the whole venue was so beautiful!

We are coming bavk in september for a friends wedding so we will see if the breakfast has improved then and re-revue then.

Room Tip: The suites are SO WORTH the extra money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel on Monday the 18th March 2013. My husband had booked us a room to celebrate our third wedding anniversary.
We loved it!! What else can I say...
We arrived at the hotel early so that we could make use of the gym and spa facilities. The staff were lovely and were really helpful. We had a wonderful stay and will definetly be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YGymraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed at the Grosvenor Pulford on the 29th March ( Good Friday) DB&B. We managed to get a deal and we were a little apprehensive as to what it would be like. we needn't have worried, this hotel is fab and we were delighted we chose It. The buildings and the theme running through them is lovely. We had an executive room which had recently been refurbished and it was gorgeous. It was very contemporary, light and airy. They certainly are not scrimping on the refurb. The bed was extremely comfortable with feather pillows. The bathroom was beautiful with free toiletries provided and lovely fresh towels.

Food- breakfast was good with plenty of choice and if there was something you wanted cooked to your liking they would do that for you. Evening meal was delicious, about the going price for a steak etc. the ambience of the dining area is wonderful, in fact so good we stayed there on a sofa with a bottle of wine watching the world go by, so relaxing. You can also eat in Nelsons bar. We ordered Irish coffee from there ( Jameson's as it should be) which were very good. It's like a big pub with lots of comfy sofas.

We used both the pool and the gym. The pool was excellent, not many people in there and a good temperature. Although it doesn't bother us I did notice that children are not allowed in the evening so if you want some adult time to get a few laps in you can. The gym was ok but nothing much in the free weights for leg curls etc but my husband got by. The spa made you relax just walking through it and the gardens to the spa are really worth a visit.
We found this hotel to be very clean but the one thing that stands out are the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone seems so happy to be in work, but not in a false way. My only gripe, just little ones is the wifi is a pain because you have to keep logging back in and the sauces for the steak are tasteless. You have to be really picky to find fault though.
We give this hotel top marks and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask what your room looks out onto at check in if that is a worry for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

A birthday treat booked for me by my husband for the night of Friday, March 15th, 2013. On our arrival the Receptionist was helpful and the Hotel looked warm and inviting as it was freezing out. Our room was in the new wing of the hotel and was perfect, spotlessly clean and has everything you need. We visited the Spa area and spent a couple of hours enjoying the pool, jacuzzi and sauna - again spotlessly clean although the pool could have been a few degrees warmer but was fine once you were in. We choose to eat in a pub in the village five minutes walk away which was lovely. Breakfast was a buffet style but this was fine as you were served tea and coffee at your table and just means you get to choose exactly what you want. This hotel is a real treat really can't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynor gumdrops... l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,159 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,615 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing