We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Llandwrog
2 reviews
“Mixed experience”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We felt misled by the generally good reviews for this hotel. It appears there may be some nice rooms in the hotel. But not our No. 11. Small, cramped, windows loose, all doors in the corridor closed noisily, poor sound insulation - snoring next door, voices in corridor, creaking from room above. More like a poor 2 star room, nowhere near 4 star. Breakfast tired old buffet, designed for cost saving, not customer enjoyment.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLlandwrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    419
    140
    48
    30
See reviews for
275
839
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had a party in the hotel and stayed overnight, from the bar lunch to the party meal everything was excellent. The room was of very high standard although hot,opening the window worked though! The grounds were very well kept and a pleasure to walk round. Staff were very helpful with a pleasant manner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinK1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

A treat from my husband after a busy few days and wow what a lovely hotel. We were in the refurbished rooms which were very smart and funky as well as comfortable. Great big bed abd a tv in the bathroom!! What's not to like. Food was delicious, piping hot and served with a great selection of wines. A special mention goes to Maria who looked after us in Ciros who was a really lovely knowledgeable staff member and great advocate of the hotel. Hope to get back sometime to stay again and make use of the spa too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaffinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel and it won't be our last! The check in was professional and informative. My husband was slightly bemused at the different styles of decor throughout the hotel but I thought it interesting and quirky. Our room was clean and completely satisfactory but we thought we would just see if we could upgrade to something a bit more special so we went back to Reception to ask. Once again the receptionist was friendly and helpful and offered us a superior room for a reasonable price telling us that we wouldn't be disappointed.
Even the corridor leading to the new room room was an upgrade! The room itself was simply stunning. All I could say was "wow"!
It was very modern which is usually not my taste as I like character and traditional styles but I absolutely loved this room. The bed was huge and had feather pillows and Duvet. The decor was beautiful and gave a feeling of luxury and tranquility. The bathroom was so superb; a large double ended bath, with a flat screen TV,two wash basins, lovely mirrors and lighting and a simply enormous shower cubicle .
The leisure facilities were also superb, the pool absolutely huge and the the setting very tranquil with candles lit and views of the beautiful gardens through the windows leading towards the pool.
We ate at Ciro's restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the ambience in the restaurant created by candles, beautiful lighting and lots of fairy lights.
Our experience of the hotel facilities and our room was fantastic but the staff here are absolutely outstanding and this added to and enhanced the overall experience. The reception staff, the leisure club staff and restaurant staff, were all so pleasant , helpful and friendly that we felt that they all seemed to enjoy their job and wanted us to enjoy the hotel too.
This is the very first time I have ever wanted to stay in a hotel and not venture out, but stay and enjoy the facilities on site Well done to the staff here, we will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jencatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Everything is lovely here - ticks all the right boxes. The interior is classic and stunning. Very popular but still remains discreet and quite.
Sunday carvery very special - book.
If you are booking this to vist Chester it isn't in Chester city and you will need a car or taxi journey. So if you want to visit Chester but stay out a bit in an old English hotel this is for you.
This is in a beautiful drive through village (not many shops).
Perfect for a weekend away and business meetings - I can assure you they will attend to everything.
You will definitely be looked after
Perfect location for a wedding!
I will bear my own comment in mind if my husband of twenty years gets anymore annoying!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Impressionslast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
233 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Location - easy to find from Chester (5 miles away) and plenty of free parking in the hotel car park.

Reception/check in - we arrived on a cold and rainy day and as we walked in the front door we could feel the lovely warmth of the hotel. The receptionist was friendly and check in was swift and she pointed out the restaurants and spa.

Bedroom - the key card worked after the 5th try. Later on it didn't work at all and we had to have it re-coded at reception. We were in a standard room. I emailed ahead and asked for a king size bed and said if this wasn't possible we would prefer a twin. We got a twin, unfortunately there was a fixed bedside table in between them so we couldn't push the beds together. As soon as we opened the door I noticed a damp smell. I then realised the smell was the shower curtain. The shower was over the bath and there were lovely 'Spa by Kasia' toiletries. There were 2 small towels, 2 large towels and a bath mat. The hairdryer is the usual hotel type which isn't very powerful. There was plenty of tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits on the tea tray. There was a flat screen tv with a good selection of channels. Wardrobe space is restricted as it is just a single cupboard. The room is beautifully decorated with modern curtains and carpet. Our view was of a lovely garden. The beds had duvets and feather pillows. There was no mini bar in this room. We could hear people in the rooms next door and heard their mobile phones ringing. There is a lot of corridor noise too.

Food - there is a Mediterranean restaurant but we ate in Nelson's Bar. The food was superb. There were a lot of locals in and we watched many battered Haddock and chips leave the kitchen and only empty plates returned. The fajitas were the best I've ever had. Very friendly and efficient staff behind the bar and serving the food. Breakfast the next day had everything you could want. It's self service and before we had gone to the buffet a waitress asked if we would like tea or coffee and some toast. All arrived promptly. Lovely fresh toast with all jams and marmalade already on the table. There was bacon, hash browns, fried bread, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, baked beans, tomatoes, sausages, fresh and tinned fruit, cereals, yogurt, Danish pastries at the buffet (I'm sure I've forgotten something).

The Spa and gardens- we just used the pool and jacuzzi but this is a really beautiful spa which you enter through sliding glass doors. Staff were lovely. They gave us towels and you get a locker with a key in the changing room (no charge). Plenty of shower caps, shower gel and shampoo too. I noticed hairdryer and hair straighteners at the mirrors. The pool is roman style, really large, great for swimming lengths. 4' 6" is the deepest. The gardens are gorgeous, great for sitting by the waterfall or having a wander around.

Despite the grumbles I have about the bedroom, we would definitely stay here again. The staff are a credit to this hotel and the Management should really value them.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Very good service, check in and help with additional beds and all minor details all dealt with professionally. Service at reception is excellent. If problems are encountered, however small the staff is very attentive and seemed to really care. Some of the older rooms a little dark and more traditional however the newer section is elegant and contemporary. Pool lovely, only downside are the hours restricted for children to daytime which for us was inconvenient. After a day visiting the sites it is wonderful for the children to be able to swim. This aspect of the hotel to be very focussed around Spa clientele rather than the hotel guests. Spa looked beautiful however did not have time to visit on this occasion. Sometimes corridors a little noisy, housekeeping are up bright and early I guess to accommodate business guests. The restaurant food was wonderful, Banana Souffle desert amazing as was the Chocolate Orange Fondant. Atmosphere delightful.
Key benefits : Easy parking, abundance of soft fluffy towels in rooms, food in restaurant.

Room Tip: If you want a traditional feel ask for the older section. For a more contemporary feel, ask for roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eco_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing