We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

A beautiful hotel from beginning to the end of our stay. We had a warm welcome from all the staff. Our room had 2 floors with a spiral staircase, and it was beautifully decorated and clean with great views onto the gardens. The evening meal in Ciros Restaurant was great and breakfast was also lovely, both with a great service. We enjoyed the swimming pool etc. Thank you for making my birthday.

Room Tip: Stay in the Deluxe Suite, it has its own spiral staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Els860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,100 - 1,106 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel! Lovely rooms, v good service. Lovely meal in restaurant. Well placed for visiting chester and n wales. Beautiful pool/spa/grounds. Good Value for money. Buffet breakfast was plentiful and of good quality.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank just1me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I stayed here for a wedding. I loved my room and there was a lovely conservatory for a quite drink/read. The pub and restaurant had lovely and quite different atmospheres and the food in both was excellent. The breakfast was also a very good quality buffet with plenty of cooked veggie options

Every single member of staff was so polite and helpful it really adds to the pleasure of your stay. I’d give this hotel 5 stars and sincerely hope to be back. If you’re going to Chester – Don’t stay in Chester, stay here. Its only 20min up the road and there a bus service every 10mins.

If you go to Chester - Walk the walls. Its free and there are signs with good information on

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor seem to be cooler. My friend was on the first floor and needed her air-con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ireland1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We felt misled by the generally good reviews for this hotel. It appears there may be some nice rooms in the hotel. But not our No. 11. Small, cramped, windows loose, all doors in the corridor closed noisily, poor sound insulation - snoring next door, voices in corridor, creaking from room above. More like a poor 2 star room, nowhere near 4 star. Breakfast tired old buffet, designed for cost saving, not customer enjoyment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnLlandwrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had a party in the hotel and stayed overnight, from the bar lunch to the party meal everything was excellent. The room was of very high standard although hot,opening the window worked though! The grounds were very well kept and a pleasure to walk round. Staff were very helpful with a pleasant manner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinK1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

A treat from my husband after a busy few days and wow what a lovely hotel. We were in the refurbished rooms which were very smart and funky as well as comfortable. Great big bed abd a tv in the bathroom!! What's not to like. Food was delicious, piping hot and served with a great selection of wines. A special mention goes to Maria who looked after us in Ciros who was a really lovely knowledgeable staff member and great advocate of the hotel. Hope to get back sometime to stay again and make use of the spa too.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaffinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel and it won't be our last! The check in was professional and informative. My husband was slightly bemused at the different styles of decor throughout the hotel but I thought it interesting and quirky. Our room was clean and completely satisfactory but we thought we would just see if we could upgrade to something a bit more special so we went back to Reception to ask. Once again the receptionist was friendly and helpful and offered us a superior room for a reasonable price telling us that we wouldn't be disappointed.
Even the corridor leading to the new room room was an upgrade! The room itself was simply stunning. All I could say was "wow"!
It was very modern which is usually not my taste as I like character and traditional styles but I absolutely loved this room. The bed was huge and had feather pillows and Duvet. The decor was beautiful and gave a feeling of luxury and tranquility. The bathroom was so superb; a large double ended bath, with a flat screen TV,two wash basins, lovely mirrors and lighting and a simply enormous shower cubicle .
The leisure facilities were also superb, the pool absolutely huge and the the setting very tranquil with candles lit and views of the beautiful gardens through the windows leading towards the pool.
We ate at Ciro's restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the ambience in the restaurant created by candles, beautiful lighting and lots of fairy lights.
Our experience of the hotel facilities and our room was fantastic but the staff here are absolutely outstanding and this added to and enhanced the overall experience. The reception staff, the leisure club staff and restaurant staff, were all so pleasant , helpful and friendly that we felt that they all seemed to enjoy their job and wanted us to enjoy the hotel too.
This is the very first time I have ever wanted to stay in a hotel and not venture out, but stay and enjoy the facilities on site Well done to the staff here, we will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jencatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,490 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,733 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,149 reviews
4.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £75 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing