We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Ruabon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

After our shopping trip to cheshire oaks and disappointing lunch there we decided to stop off at the Grosvenor Pulford on our way home. We had hot chocolate and coffee which came with home made biscuits ( very tasty) and my wife had a chocolate brownie with icecream which she said was perfect. We sat by the roaring fire on extremely comfortable leather couches. All I needed to make this even more perfect was my dog to be curled up next to me... Then it would be like being at home! Great place, relaxed atmosphere, lovely food and drink and friendly staff. We both agreeded that we should have waited and had lunch here instead of at a well known (pretend) italian chain at cheshire oaks!!! Gutted!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enz0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    427
    143
    50
    31
See reviews for
283
860
23
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a really lovely nights stay at this hotel for our wedding anniversary
Hotel reception staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. We had already
booked the Executive Room but received a complimentary upgrade to a Deluxe
room as it was our anniversary. The room was spacious and very clean, large
comfy bed and nice complimentary toiletries from the spa in the bathroom.
Our room overlooked the scensory garden which was lovely.
We had a very good meal in the restaurant and would definately recommend a meal there. We did not use the spa as we did not have time but will do next time we stay.
All in all nothing negative to say about this hotel, will be looking to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Ciros brasserie is a must as has some fantastic seafood dishes, the rooms were lovely and clean, comfy and beautifully decorated. The bathroom and Kasia toiletries were a real treat. It was my partners birthday and they had organised a little box of chocolates on arrival which I thought was great service! There was a wedding going on at the time of our arrival however it didn't impact on our stay at all. The grounds, hotel and facilities were lovely - particularly the gym, spa and pool.
Had a weekend of total relaxation and unwinding!

Room Tip: We booked the executive room, defintely recommend the extra bit of spending money -it overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apmag26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa for 2 nights early October as my husband ran Chester Marathon. It was a lovely hotel but because we booked our room through booking.com back in April, we did not know there was a wedding on the day. We saw the bride and she looked absolutely beautiful :)
But I just wished our room was away from the function room as we could hear music until very late. My husband was too tired to change the room, so we did not say anything. We should check next time (that's something we learned.)
Despite that, the swimming pool was big and clean, and the garden was stunning, well maintained and so relaxing.
We went to the city centre Sunday evening. We asked the reception about the taxi cost and it was around £12-£15, but he also gave us a local bus information. Return tickets to the city centre was £4, and the last bus from the centre was about 11pm. It was quite convenient.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Chester and would like to come back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michinebbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just had an amazing weekend at the Grosvenor. We have been lucky enough to stop in some amazing hotels around Europe but this is without doubt the best hotel we have stayed in, in the UK. The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable, the restaurant has the ambience of the finest Mediterrarean restaurant and you would be forgiven for thinking you were not in England. The Spa is out of this world, the design and decor is very well thought out and the treatment staff are second to none. The Asian Sensory Garden is equisite. The staff are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Cant wait to come back and visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandLizTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

went here earlier this year and had a lovely weekend with other half. Room was beautiful and overlooked the zen gardens to the rear so very peaceful. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant all local produce. We swam in the lovely relaxing pool and i had a lovely spa treatment. The breakfast in the morning was very tasty and we really didn't want to leave. Will defo go back as it's such good value for money.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but maybe don't go for one over the function rooms while a wedding is on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3countries4girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Excellent hotel in so many ways, staff, food, garden, bar, bedrooms, I could go on but enough to say the owners and staff of this hotel know what they are doing. A huge plus for us is that the hotel is dog friendly and this along with the great food in the dinning room will take us back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ForfarWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,232 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,737 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#13 of 44 in Chester
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing