We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea was perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea was perfect!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A little birthday treat from my husband on 23rd October was Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor Hotel in Pulford, which my husband had booked as a little suprise for me.
We were seated at our table, the staff were attentive, polite and efficient.
The Afternoon Tea was exceptional, fresh sandwitches, beautiful cakes and scones.
We both enjoyed our afternoon and intend to return to the Grosvenor for more of the same! Thank you to all the staff, including those,,, we dont see!
And especially those who work tirelessly in the kitchens to produce such fabulous food!
Between you all,, you made my birthday a pefect day! Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuchessCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    425
    141
    50
    31
See reviews for
281
853
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Booked a room for 2 of us and got a bargain £170 for 2 nights.on arrival we were welcomed by a professional and polite male receptionist who was very informative about the hotel and its facilities.our room was a standard double and was very nice, the only downside being the renovation work going on down the corridor, this was quite noisy in the mornings. The staff were apologetic about this and even left us a box of chocolates in our room. On the first day we had lunch in nelsons bar, both of us had the Nelson's burger which we really enjoyed. The second day we chose to eat out but only as we wanted to spend more time in the centre of chester.
The leisure facilities were great, very clean and open long hours to allow us time to spend by the pool after going out for the day.

All of the staff throughout the hotel were helpful, polite and professional.

We will definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alvz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

i booked this hotel for my friends 4oth birthday. we had an overnight stay, two treatments, fantastic evening meal and gorgeous breakfast. it exceeded all expectations and i look forward to staying again, best time for ages

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Grosvenor Hotel in a Superior Suit for 2 nights, we really enojoyed our stay and would go back again.

We ate in both the Ciros and Nelsons Bar and both meals we really enjoyed. The breakfast was also very good. There was some alterations getting carried out in some areas of the hotel but it didnt cause any disruption as the workmen only worked from about 10-4.

Worth upgrading to Superior Suite!! Very clean and modern yet shabby chic.

Room Tip: Superior Suites are wonderful.. Bath bombs, TV at the end of the bath, his and hers sinks, fluffy ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno - North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on Friday 8th November, we booked an executive double room online through Travel Republic and got a good deal.

When we arrived at the hotel we were very impressed with the parking availability which was also free of charge and the hotel grounds are very well kept and inviting, as you enter the hotel there is a lovely area with a water fountain.

Check in was speedy and Carly was so lovely and very informative about the hotel, it is clear from hearing her with other guests that she loves her job.

We were given one of the newer executive rooms which was very tastefully decorated, and nicely furnished. The bathroom was outstanding and the quality was above any I have seen in a hotel before.

We visited the spa area which was also very nice, the staff on reception were very nice and made us feel really welcome. The pool is gorgeous, very relaxing as was the steam room and sauna, although the gym was small it was well equipped.

There are two restaurants in the hotel, one fine dining and one gastro style, we opted for the Nelson's gastro bar where we were able to book a table for 8pm, again the service and food was fantastic and the portion sizes were excellent, the best lamb chops I've had in ages! After the meal we were able to relax on the lovely comfortable leather sofas In front of the big fireplace.

Breakfast was served in Ciros Brasserie, which is the fine dining area during the evening. Breakfast consisted of continental options and full English, plenty of choice available.

All in all we had a fantastic stay at the Grosvenor, the hotel has a great feel to it, and we will definitely return in the future.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dudnolad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

An overnight girlie stay, offer bought on TravelZoo.
Beautiful place, lovely staff, gorgeous food
An wonderful experience, will definitely go back.
We stayed Sunday night and had the carvery, it was delicious, we even had a bottle of wine per room booking included in our deal, making our meal free!
We didn't book any treatments but will next time!
I have never seen such beautiful gardens in a hotel before, The plants, the decor, the surroundings were just bliss, we were soo chilled

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor, just off the conservatory
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My son had his wedding at this venue in November 13 and what an amazing venue it was. The staff were attentive, polite and went above and beyond. The decor was stunning, the food was amazing and all in all a fantastic time was had by everyone who attended. i would strongly recomend this wedding venue.

Room Tip: I didnt stay at the hotel but i saw my sons rooms which were spacious, clean and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracye212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,148 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,600 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing