We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed overnight whilst househunting. Lovely room (recently refurbished, we understand - we were told a room refurbishment programme is currently underway throughout the hotel). Dined in the restaurant, although the bar dining looked appealing too. Food, service and wine all impressive, and the price package was fair. Breakfast good too. Will definitely return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 1,712 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I decided to have a little Christmas break away and decided to stay here as we had heard Chester is lovely. Upon arrival the outside of the hotel looked lovely, upon entering reception staff were very friendly and off we went to our executive room. Lovely room, spacious and clean. After checking in and seeing our room we headed to the pool which was lovely, we had a nice relaxing hour or so in the pool, jacuzzi and steam room before heading back to our room to get ready for dinner in the brasserie. We were told we needed to book as it gets very busy on a Sunday which was fine we didn't mind booking but at 7.30 it wasn't overly full. The carvery was amazing. The food on offer was delicious and you got plenty of it. We then headed for a couple of drinks in the bar to round off a lovely relaxing day. Great hotel if you want a bit of r&r. Next time I think we'll try the spa!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicolle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel holds great opportunities with really pleasant reception staff and super bedrooms. In our experience last weekend 15th December everything else was a great disappointment. We arrived at lunch hoping to book in a little early and have lunch. Entering the front part of the building we were told that they were full and had no space for lunch. We were directed to reception who were delightful. We noticed a brasserie and tried here but were told they were only serving afternoon teas for £16 a couple. We saw a menu and noticed soup and asked if we could have soup and bread. Yes we were told where are you sitting/ we had never been into the place let alone had a table. Soup and bread arrived plus a further lot of bread and oil. Why the second bread "you asked for bread and soup.?? They took the second lot of bread away. We came to the conclusion that the staff did not know the menu and did not care.
At breakfast we discovered our £120 B&b was room only (looking at the booking sheet that was correct, but still a surprise. The breakfast menu included continental breakfast and full English at £15 each. We asked for the continental breakfast as we were meeting our family for lunch. No chance full breakfast or nothing. Could we just have coffee No chance. We decided to book out with no breakfast, resolved to only stay at the Rowton hall in future where there was real personal service and a flexibility. We had coffee at a simple Twirl of Hay place and they couldn't have been more helpful and flexible. What has happened to proper staff training and quality of service in what is a very classy place?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philhughes152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay here for my mums 50th including spa treatments.
We were greeted by lovely, cheerful staff who checked us in and offered to carry our bags to our room.
We stayed in the executive room, it was very roomy, extremely clean and the beds were so comfy with lovely feathered pillows. Lots of little added extras in the bathroom all from spa by kasia. Our room, number 44 opened out to the conservatory which was so pretty. We sat here for pre dinner drinks and looked out onto the beautiful lit up water feature.
We chose to eat in ciros brasserie which was amazing, see separate review.
Spa by kasia was fantastic, the treatments were lovely and again all the staff were brilliant. Lots of extra little touches in this spa which made it all the more special for my mum 50th surprise.
The staff were exceptional throughout and I will definitely be booking to come back here again. I can't thank you all enough for making our stay so delightful.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank 231nf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed 1 night at the Grosvenor Pulford on a bed, breakfast and evening meal deal. The building and interior are stunning but yet offer a relaxed feel with lots of separate areas to sit and relax. Both the meal we ate in Nelsons Bar and the breakfast the next morning were very enjoyable and the menu prices are very reasonable for the type of establishment this is. Our room was clean, comfortable and had all the amenities you need for a short break.
We did use the Spa facilities and again these could not be faulted, with a lovely pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna available free of charge to residents.
I would definitely recommend the Grosvenor Pulford and would stay here again without a doubt if in the Chester area. I would also also suggest checking the Grosvenors own website for deals as we found a better deal by booking direct with them than by using one of the usual hotel booking websites.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disneysg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel.. the renovations were in full swing but the hotel gave us a free upgrade to a superior room...room 72 ..quality and comfort. I loved the design of the new rooms even a TV in the bathroom. Bed was comfy very good night's sleep. We arrived approx 3pm and had a fantastic afternoon tea. We ate in Cisco restaurant ..wonderful food..attentive staff..we will be back again

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SukiNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Booked 2nights d b&b and was well impressed with the package nice room great food v good service and an excellent pool and spa two nice restaurants to choose from easy to get to chester via park and ride came away chilled

Room Tip: Nice and quiet to rear of hotel over looking gardens room 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,536 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,747 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,215 reviews
4.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £75 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing