We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long wait for food and not very fresh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long wait for food and not very fresh”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have visited for Christmas meal with my boyfriend. It took us over 2 hours to get served starter and main, my meat dish wasnt particularly fresh and my boyfriends salmon was cold. We mentioned this to staff and nothing was done to rectify it. We are now waiting for someone to attend so we can pay our bill for the last 25 minutes but staff just seems to busy, lovely venue and location, very average service.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariolatomczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    416
    138
    47
    28
See reviews for
270
834
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manley UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent evening spent recently at the Hotel.
It was a works Christmas party, with approximately 60 guests in our group.
Additionally there were around 100 other diners from various companies & groups enjoying the evening.
All began well with the prompt seating of guests at 7.30. The staff involved in serving were directed by a very attentive Maître d'hôtel, who ensured that the food was served promptly & above all, with mass catering events, 'Hot!
It was standard Christmas Dinner fare, but was tasty & plentiful.
Once the dining was complete, the evenings entertainment was first class, led by a Robbie Williams Tribute act, who not only sang & looked the part, but had all of Robbie's actions & nuances, playing along with the crowd.
All in all a great evening, well done to the Grosvenor Pulford & all of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mechtec12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I have been here for the past few years for the xmas party. The entertainment this year was as good as ever but the food this year was a let down. The turkey dinner was very bland and the merangue in the pudding was very chewy. Not as good as it has been previously. Also due to the high volume of people all being served at the same time, some of our party were left waiting while others were halfway through their meal. I still had a good night though

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pomy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight whilst househunting. Lovely room (recently refurbished, we understand - we were told a room refurbishment programme is currently underway throughout the hotel). Dined in the restaurant, although the bar dining looked appealing too. Food, service and wine all impressive, and the price package was fair. Breakfast good too. Will definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I decided to have a little Christmas break away and decided to stay here as we had heard Chester is lovely. Upon arrival the outside of the hotel looked lovely, upon entering reception staff were very friendly and off we went to our executive room. Lovely room, spacious and clean. After checking in and seeing our room we headed to the pool which was lovely, we had a nice relaxing hour or so in the pool, jacuzzi and steam room before heading back to our room to get ready for dinner in the brasserie. We were told we needed to book as it gets very busy on a Sunday which was fine we didn't mind booking but at 7.30 it wasn't overly full. The carvery was amazing. The food on offer was delicious and you got plenty of it. We then headed for a couple of drinks in the bar to round off a lovely relaxing day. Great hotel if you want a bit of r&r. Next time I think we'll try the spa!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel holds great opportunities with really pleasant reception staff and super bedrooms. In our experience last weekend 15th December everything else was a great disappointment. We arrived at lunch hoping to book in a little early and have lunch. Entering the front part of the building we were told that they were full and had no space for lunch. We were directed to reception who were delightful. We noticed a brasserie and tried here but were told they were only serving afternoon teas for £16 a couple. We saw a menu and noticed soup and asked if we could have soup and bread. Yes we were told where are you sitting/ we had never been into the place let alone had a table. Soup and bread arrived plus a further lot of bread and oil. Why the second bread "you asked for bread and soup.?? They took the second lot of bread away. We came to the conclusion that the staff did not know the menu and did not care.
At breakfast we discovered our £120 B&b was room only (looking at the booking sheet that was correct, but still a surprise. The breakfast menu included continental breakfast and full English at £15 each. We asked for the continental breakfast as we were meeting our family for lunch. No chance full breakfast or nothing. Could we just have coffee No chance. We decided to book out with no breakfast, resolved to only stay at the Rowton hall in future where there was real personal service and a flexibility. We had coffee at a simple Twirl of Hay place and they couldn't have been more helpful and flexible. What has happened to proper staff training and quality of service in what is a very classy place?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philhughes152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay here for my mums 50th including spa treatments.
We were greeted by lovely, cheerful staff who checked us in and offered to carry our bags to our room.
We stayed in the executive room, it was very roomy, extremely clean and the beds were so comfy with lovely feathered pillows. Lots of little added extras in the bathroom all from spa by kasia. Our room, number 44 opened out to the conservatory which was so pretty. We sat here for pre dinner drinks and looked out onto the beautiful lit up water feature.
We chose to eat in ciros brasserie which was amazing, see separate review.
Spa by kasia was fantastic, the treatments were lovely and again all the staff were brilliant. Lots of extra little touches in this spa which made it all the more special for my mum 50th surprise.
The staff were exceptional throughout and I will definitely be booking to come back here again. I can't thank you all enough for making our stay so delightful.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 231nf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,056 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,574 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing