We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Christmas break!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
181 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is gorgeous, the staff are lovely and the food is first rate. Amazing gardens too, with fountains and lights and fishes. The room was lovely, serviced daily even though it was Christmas. In fact on arrival there was such a selection of little gifts and bathroom goodies it certainly felt like Christmas! The decorations were wonderful, so many beautiful things and the atmosphere was very festive. I only dropped a point for cleanliness because the lamps hadn't been dusted too well and had quite thick dust, otherwise it was very clean. The buffet breakfast was wonderful and the trays of food seemed to be changed after a certain time rather than left to stand until the tray was empty.

Room Tip: I had room 21 which overlooks an interior courtyard with a fountain, lovely if you like the sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    411
    133
    45
    28
See reviews for
265
819
22
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

i have stayed at the grosvenor pulford many times over recent years.however my last stay was simply mindblowing.we normally do the executive bedrooms but on this visit superior king beds were offered.looked tremendous on line,but when you actually enter the room,wow.absolutely fabulous.stunning furnishings,beautifully set out.the bathroom just to die for.check out the hidden tv on the bath wall.dined in cirios,great food and service.if you are thinking of booking just do it .you will not be disappointed.graham fleming,manchester,

Room Tip: if you can do it.go superior king for a special experience.your lady will love you for ever more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have visited for Christmas meal with my boyfriend. It took us over 2 hours to get served starter and main, my meat dish wasnt particularly fresh and my boyfriends salmon was cold. We mentioned this to staff and nothing was done to rectify it. We are now waiting for someone to attend so we can pay our bill for the last 25 minutes but staff just seems to busy, lovely venue and location, very average service.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariolatomczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manley UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent evening spent recently at the Hotel.
It was a works Christmas party, with approximately 60 guests in our group.
Additionally there were around 100 other diners from various companies & groups enjoying the evening.
All began well with the prompt seating of guests at 7.30. The staff involved in serving were directed by a very attentive Maître d'hôtel, who ensured that the food was served promptly & above all, with mass catering events, 'Hot!
It was standard Christmas Dinner fare, but was tasty & plentiful.
Once the dining was complete, the evenings entertainment was first class, led by a Robbie Williams Tribute act, who not only sang & looked the part, but had all of Robbie's actions & nuances, playing along with the crowd.
All in all a great evening, well done to the Grosvenor Pulford & all of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mechtec12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I have been here for the past few years for the xmas party. The entertainment this year was as good as ever but the food this year was a let down. The turkey dinner was very bland and the merangue in the pudding was very chewy. Not as good as it has been previously. Also due to the high volume of people all being served at the same time, some of our party were left waiting while others were halfway through their meal. I still had a good night though

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pomy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight whilst househunting. Lovely room (recently refurbished, we understand - we were told a room refurbishment programme is currently underway throughout the hotel). Dined in the restaurant, although the bar dining looked appealing too. Food, service and wine all impressive, and the price package was fair. Breakfast good too. Will definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I decided to have a little Christmas break away and decided to stay here as we had heard Chester is lovely. Upon arrival the outside of the hotel looked lovely, upon entering reception staff were very friendly and off we went to our executive room. Lovely room, spacious and clean. After checking in and seeing our room we headed to the pool which was lovely, we had a nice relaxing hour or so in the pool, jacuzzi and steam room before heading back to our room to get ready for dinner in the brasserie. We were told we needed to book as it gets very busy on a Sunday which was fine we didn't mind booking but at 7.30 it wasn't overly full. The carvery was amazing. The food on offer was delicious and you got plenty of it. We then headed for a couple of drinks in the bar to round off a lovely relaxing day. Great hotel if you want a bit of r&r. Next time I think we'll try the spa!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
4.8 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing