We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, England
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super Christmas”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were on the three-day Christmas package, and added an extra day at the front. Our big disappointment was not to be allocated one of the refurbished rooms (which we thought we had been promised when we booked in August). In fact the workman did not finish off the latest batch of these until nearly midnight on 23 December. The room we had was large and comfortable, but with no ceiling lights, too dark for our tastes. Everything else was fantastic, as already described by TheNorfolkBroad. We chose to leave the car at home and travel by train and bus - the hotel can be reached from Chester (station and city centre) by the Arriva Sapphire bus No. 1, which runs every 20' for most of the day. Journey time about 20' from Chester railway station. The stop for the hotel (Pulford Church) is the last one in England before the bus crosses into Wales on its way to Wrexham.

Room Tip: Try to get a guarantee on a refurbished room. More will be completed in 2014.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miketap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    425
    141
    50
    31
See reviews for
281
854
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here last summer for a weekend to visit Tatton Park flower show and to celebrate my Birthday. We read the reviews and thought it was worth a try, so glad we did as we couldn't fault it at all.
The food was really good, we had afternoon tea on arrival which was very enjoyable, as were our evening meals both in the restaurant and the bar. The hotel has great facilities - lovely spa and pool, the gardens are really beautiful too.
The staff are very helpful and attentive, they held weddings on both weekend days but it didn't affect us as they are held in the Grosvenor Suite at the side, away from the main part of the hotel. Our bedroom was lovely - clean and comfortable overlooking the little courtyard in the middle. Highly recommended.
Chester is a beautiful city, great shopping and sight-seeing, a fabulous weekend break!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have just spent a wonderful Christmas at the Grosvenor Pulford Hotel and I can honestly say that, after many years experience of hotel stays both personally and while working in the travel & tourism industry, seldom has anywhere exceeded my expectations on so many levels.

The booking process for our Christmas package was straightforward, on arrival the welcome was warm and efficient, a minor mistake over our accommodation was resolved immediately and without qualms (and we were sent a complimentary bottle of wine), the hotel was beautifully decorated for the festive season, our room had been fully refurbished and we were in fact the first to use it, the food was fantastic at every meal, the service was outstanding from every member of staff without exception - I am running out of superlatives. Everywhere was well-maintanined and spotlessly clean, the staff were working non-stop with two weddings on 23rd and 24th December in the function suite, plus a full house for the Christmas period itself: it really was manic, but there was no sense of fluster or harrassment from anyone. I can only assume that everyone has received first class training, and it really shows. The amount of care and attention to detail is self-evident.

Very well done indeed to everyone and thank you for making our stay so enjoyable (and my first year of not cooking Christmas lunch since 1975 so memorable!). We may just be back next year .....

Room Tip: The hotel is quietly situated, so any room should be fine. Light sleepers might wish to ask for roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNorfolkBroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel in mid November for one night. Stayed in Room 27, located in the farthest corner of hotel at the rear so lovely and quiet but the walk from reception is lengthy and freezing cold as this hotel doesnt appear to heat corridors or other public spaces beyond reception, nelsons bar and restaurant.
Room was spacious, with shabby chic/ french furniture, again no heating,radiator shut off and badly maintained/rotting window let cold air howl in. Once window finally forced shut and radistor on, room slowly warmed up to habitable level.
A nice touch though were the towelling robes and slippers, the complimentary toiletries though were a let down, over half of packets were empty, poor house keeping!!!
The bar was very cosy and got very busy as the evening progressed due to excellent food standards. We ate in restaurant and can honestly say the standard of food was exceptional and imaginative. As was breakfast the following day.
This hotel looks 4* from outside and also in and around reception, standards dropped considerably with the standard of guest rooms {ours was a superior/upgrade),cold,poor quality,poor housekeeping made them an average 3*, Nelsons bar and restaurant saved the day, excellent standards, 5* food, 5* service, 5* staff. Would we go again? For food, definately, to stay, unlikely.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruno1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the Grosvenor Pulford the weekend after Christmas and had a lovely time, so relaxing. Our room was the basic double but very nice, fluffy towels and good quality bedding. The Christmas decorations were beautiful, the food excellent and best of all the staff were so nice and very helpful. We felt at home the moment we walked in and it was a lovely treat for us and my elderly mum who really enjoyed our stay. The pool, gardens and spa facilities are excellent with a lovely room overlooking the garden and countryside where they serve tea etc. we didn't have one but the afternoon teas looked amazing!

Room Tip: For an elderly guest the ground floor rooms are good, 1-3 are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I cannot fault our Christmas stay at the Grosvenor Pulford. Presents of whiskey and chocolates in the room on arrival.
One light not working was immediately put right and even on Christmas day when the sink drainage was running slowly the maintenance man corrected it within fifteen minutes.
The Dining room on Christmas day was stunning, tables set out in white and silver. All meals superbly cooked, nothing too much trouble for the staff who were always so attentive and happy to help. Our rooms were clean and serviced each day, clean towels, hoovered, beds made and bathroom cleaned.The swimming pool was lovely as were the gardens and the DJ who made the evening. The dinner dance was a great success in fact I cannot recommend this as a Christmas venue for a three day stay strongly enough. Excellent 10 out of 10.
Thank you to the Managers and all the staff for a Christmas of a lifetime.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillMakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is gorgeous, the staff are lovely and the food is first rate. Amazing gardens too, with fountains and lights and fishes. The room was lovely, serviced daily even though it was Christmas. In fact on arrival there was such a selection of little gifts and bathroom goodies it certainly felt like Christmas! The decorations were wonderful, so many beautiful things and the atmosphere was very festive. I only dropped a point for cleanliness because the lamps hadn't been dusted too well and had quite thick dust, otherwise it was very clean. The buffet breakfast was wonderful and the trays of food seemed to be changed after a certain time rather than left to stand until the tray was empty.

Room Tip: I had room 21 which overlooks an interior courtyard with a fountain, lovely if you like the sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,160 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,622 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing