We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Spent 2 days, 1 night at this wonderful hotel for a spa break with a friend and could not praise the hotel, room, staff or food highly enough. We stayed in a standard room, which was large, airy and clean. We ate in the bar for lunch and the food and ambience were both lovely. In the evening we had the Sunday carvery in the restaurant. Food was hot, fresh and delicious. The spa treatments were lovely and the spa really is a relaxing, beautiful addition to the hotel. There is a landscaped garden at the back of the hotel, which we had a wander around and can imagine it would be lovely to sit out there in the Summer. Breakfast is great, full English and continental dishes and the option to order a few extra dishes from the menu. The staff here are great. They are polite, friendly and gracious. Cannot praise this hotel highly enough, a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanzi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

955 - 961 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Fantastic 1 night stay here. We were visiting Chester which was only a 20 min drive away. The hotel is situated in the country with beautiful landscaped gardens around. At the back is a peaceful oriental garden. We stayed in an executive room which was large and beautifully decorated. There was a pub and a restaurant in the hotel we opted for the restaurant which was again beautifully done, The staff were very friendly and very helpful and the meal was outstanding and excellent value, Will def be going back and will use the spa facilities which we didn't have time for.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We love going to spas, and one time we tried this Spa inside the Grosvenor and Pulford Hotel and purchased the dearest day spa package. It was a lovely place though I find the swimming pool and the sauna and steam room facilities a bit packed at some point. The treatment rooms were amazing. I had a small comment with the staff and they were handled beautifully, customer service is definitely one of their asset.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Lovely setting, very friendly staff. Had a meal with the family in the Nelson Bar, lovely and good value for money, service very good too. Stayed there 12 months ago and staying again this year rooms of a high standard. Spa area is very good too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shafar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We visited and stayed at the grovenor pulford for out friends wedding. Service was excellent, food at the wedding breakfast and evening reception was very good and so was the breakfast the next morning. The room we stayed in was a double with z bed for out 11 year old. The room was spacious and very comfortable. There was only really two things that niggled me. The first was the poor quality mixers used for the good quality spirits. Maybe bottled mixers ( lemonade in this case). Secondly when you book a room you have access to the spa. As we were attending a wedding we couldn't use the spa. You have to vacate your room by 11 but also you have to be out of the pool by 11 too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

New hotel room was lovely, the gardens are Beautuful, food was delightful, however that was all tainted when I was told I wasn't allowed to swim after checkout, never heard such rubbish every hotel I stay in they let u use the facilities the following day!

To make things worse, they said ask the staff at the spa, if there isn't many in the pool they will let u swim.

I ask the manager at the spa, she says "il go check the pool" comes back says "sorry the pool is too full!"

I checked the pool, when no one was looking, 2 ladies in the hot tub and not a single person in the pool.

I can't forgive blatant lying to my face, won't be using hotel again nor recommending it either.

Such a shame though!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JoeKeilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently had our wedding at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel. It was absolutely amazing, staff were excellent very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The organisation from the moment we arrived till we left was brilliant!! Our family and friends were also very complementary about the venue, quality of food and excellent staff, and the organisation by Alistair and his team.
We highly recommend this hotel and we will definately be returning with our children to celebrate our anniversary next year!

Thank you so much!!

Steven and Louise Ellis

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,641 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,796 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,439 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#15 of 45 in Chester
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £75 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing