We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in the Cheshire countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight with my sister with the sole aim of having a couple of days away to chill! And what a place!
Anywhere that has a queue for the main restaurant you know is going to be good and it was! Sunday is carvery day and it was delicious, good value for money and the service was unobtrusive and very good.

We took advantage of the leisure facilities and pool which again were fabulous and the spa looks good.

Outside there were Japanese gardens to avail yourself of if you needed peace and tranquility or other gardens if other options suited you more.

Nelson's bar and restaurant could be used if you didn't want to queue for the main restaurant and was nice and relaxed.

Only downside was housekeeping attempting to come into the room at 8.45am to clean the room - I mean really!!! That's almost enough to undo all the good stuff!

If you're having a trip to Chester, consider staying here

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeeves72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Having an excellent time here. Staff have been exceptional in accommodating change of stay dates due to my husband's business trip delaying him. Food has also been very good and waiting staff in brasserie are also very good. Spa and pool one of the best I have used in UK, particularly the pool.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is very luxurious and has lots of interesting features. The restaurant looks great though we did not actually eat here as it was fully booked. Our room was gorgeous and included a spiral staircase. Pool and associated facilities are also fantastic.

I would not bother spending £15 on a "buffet" breakfast as there are plenty of farm shops nearby offering a much better one for half of that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This place just didn't live up to expectations. Tried really hard to like it but actually its just a fairly average hotel made weaker by slow and generally poor service in bar, brasserie and reception. Exec room was basic and definitely not worth £200 per night. Swimming pool was freezing, breakfast buffet was cold and I found a hair in my food. Have come home feeling a bit flat, ripped off and let down by the experience. Must try harder in order to justify these prices. Positives were the staff on spa reception who were very friendly and the soft towels.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire8020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Reception staff were pleasant and welcoming. My room was easy to find and on the ground floor room 3. Although the room was lovely I would not have wanted to stay on the ground floor level if I would have been staying any longer than one night. My room window faced the conservatory and courtyard, so I had to close the window blind. There was also a water fountain outside which could be a bit annoying. Spent an enjoyable few hours in the the swimming pool which is a decent size and was quiet midweek. Overall a nice hotel and a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We arrived on valentines night. for a two night stay for a wedding reception which was held at the Grosvenor. on arrival we noticed all lovely looking rooms and entrance halls. only to find our room in the old, terriblely decorated area around the corner. we paid for the executive room which is supposed to be more spacious and a generally better room. we were sadly disappointed. very old fashioned, completely different standard of room to other members of our family that had paid less!!! when we approached the reception. we didn't really receive the fairest treatment at first. we were told there was nothing they could do as they were fully booked.. we were told they would refund us £13 so we were only paying the standard room rate! WOW! we took it on the chin a resumed to our room for a quiet evening as we had an early start the following day only to hear the entertainment from downstairs until gone midnight!! we called reception to ask why it was so loud, we were told to join the rest of the wedding party down in the bar! (how cheeky!) we didn't wish to! we eventually got the manager or the reception visiting our room to apologise, he explained he couldn't move our room as they were fully booked. he did end up giving us a full refund for the 1st nights stay which we were happy with but unfortunately we had a poor nights sleep as the music was so loud. the breakfast and the spa the following morning were perfect. our nights stay after that was much more comfortable. the room wasn't the cleanest. there was dust in the bathroom all over the sides and the shower was poor quality. we did have a maid to come both days and we did have a new welcoming tray everyday. other members of our family did have beautiful rooms and they were a lot more acceptable for such a steep price!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeGoodwin_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We spent a thoroughly blissful day at Kasia spa, we were looked after by a a friendly, professional team, from the spa receptionists to the waitress
We were given a tour on arrival, the spa and facilities were very clean and well organised
My day included a luxury pedicure, a wonderful back massage and makeup lesson. All treatments were given by highly experienced, very professional, friendly therapists
Afternoon tea was delicious, very well presented and the waitress very helpful
Thank you for a lovely day, we will be back

Room Tip: This was a day trip so didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyQWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,597 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,781 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,338 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £71 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing