We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing 24 hours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
clitheroe
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing 24 hours”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel lived up to our expectations. A one night stay to recharge the batteries punctuated by shopping in Chester.

Fantastic place. Executive room was very well appointed save for a mirror for my wife to sit at comfortably to get ready for dinner.

Spa was busy, but not overcrowded. Lounge area was just what we needed to relax and read a book.

We chose the gastro pub to eat - Nelson's. Environment was relaxed. Food was very good.

Enjoyed the full English breakfast to set us up for day two in Chester. The park and ride was situated less than 10 minutes drive away and was perfect for our shopping trip.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    425
    141
    50
    31
See reviews for
281
854
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I surpirsed my boyfriend for his birthday by briging him here for a relaxing spa day, and we defo got this! From the moment we arrived the staff couldnt help us enough made us both feel very comfortable and relaxed. After our hostess Laura had shown us around the spa i made my way for my facial whilst my partner went for a swim. Kirsty who did my facial was excellent made me feel very relaxed - i didnt want it to end. The swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi are all well maintained and kept to a very clean standard. We had a two course lunch here mid way through the day, again all the staff in the restaurant were most pleasant and helpful, the food was amazing. My partner had his massage after lunch whilst i went into the snooze room for a read of my book, again all areas are immaculate, Laura came in there to see if i needed any assistance or water - which i thought was a lovely touch. All day all of the staff especially Laura kept on asking if we was having a nice day if we needed any help etc. This place is amazing, well worth the money and surprise. The staff make the place, we cant understand how anyone could leave a negative comment? We will most certainely be returning to the spa very soon! We would both like to thank all the staff at spa by kasia for giving us a lovely, relaxing day!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charl1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have been to the Spa by Kasia on a number of occasions and it just gets better and better with every visit. The decor is incredibly soothing and there are lots of places to sit and relax. The restaurant is lovely and food very good - especially the afternoon tea. The pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms are great too, and the outdoor Japanese garden is gorgeous - even in winter as you get big snuggly blankets! And last but definitely not least, the staff are friendly and helpful and really do make your day special.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laytown Co Meath
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here on the 22nd of February, as my sister celebrated her wedding here and all I can say is it is really something special. We dined in the bar on the Friday night and the food was very tasty but the service was simply excellent. The staff here are truly great. We stayed in room 40 and we had a wonderful time.Two weeks previous, I had the pleasure of trying out the Spa and it is well worth a visit, I love elemis products so this is a must for anyone visiting the hotel. We will be returning.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 52 on Friday night which was a standard room which was lovely and I stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight with my sister with the sole aim of having a couple of days away to chill! And what a place!
Anywhere that has a queue for the main restaurant you know is going to be good and it was! Sunday is carvery day and it was delicious, good value for money and the service was unobtrusive and very good.

We took advantage of the leisure facilities and pool which again were fabulous and the spa looks good.

Outside there were Japanese gardens to avail yourself of if you needed peace and tranquility or other gardens if other options suited you more.

Nelson's bar and restaurant could be used if you didn't want to queue for the main restaurant and was nice and relaxed.

Only downside was housekeeping attempting to come into the room at 8.45am to clean the room - I mean really!!! That's almost enough to undo all the good stuff!

If you're having a trip to Chester, consider staying here

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeeves72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Having an excellent time here. Staff have been exceptional in accommodating change of stay dates due to my husband's business trip delaying him. Food has also been very good and waiting staff in brasserie are also very good. Spa and pool one of the best I have used in UK, particularly the pool.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is very luxurious and has lots of interesting features. The restaurant looks great though we did not actually eat here as it was fully booked. Our room was gorgeous and included a spiral staircase. Pool and associated facilities are also fantastic.

I would not bother spending £15 on a "buffet" breakfast as there are plenty of farm shops nearby offering a much better one for half of that.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,160 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,622 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing