We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No Sleep!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here as a Wedding guest. Lots of us had booked rooms and found we had all paid different prices. Some were refunded, others were not. There was a function on the night before the wedding and some of the wedding party had no sleep and were refunded that nights cost. In my room the heating was unbearably hot. The towel rail was boiling and dangerous as it was so close to the toilet. I was concerned my elderly mother would burn herself so traced the wiring to a switch in the bedroom and turned it off. Consequently we had no sleep due to the heat. Otherwise the hotel was lovely, the function room was very well set out for the wedding and everything went smoothly. The bar meal the night before was delicious and huge. The drinks were expensive as you can imagine but the bar staff were friendly and polite. Overall we had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Room descriptions and standards vary considerably so check upon booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Binsybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    419
    138
    48
    28
See reviews for
271
837
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire. UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here in June 2013 for our anniversary. Upgraded to the Premium King room - what an experience! The room is one of the nicest we have stayed in, 4 poster bed, double shower, plasma in bathroom etc...

Excellent food in restaurant, drinks a little expensive but we snuck a bottle of champagne in the room! The breakfast was excellent, and the dining room is very special.

Spa and pool area nice, if a little small.

All in all a very enjoyable night away, this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1979mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norh wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

cant fault anything about this hotel, had a de lux room , nice seating area , and a spiral staircase up to the bedroom, , lovely view to the gardens, room very clean as was everywhere in the hotel, ate in the restraint in the evening , fab service, fab food , as was the breakfast, plenty of choice, and nice and hot .
all the staff were lovely , efficient , and friendly, special mention to Hayley on reception , she was .fab, as was Ben in the restraunt, friendly and helpful.
the gardens were lovely.
had a swim and a Jacuzzi before breakfast , pool was nice and warm and jacuzzi
would come back here, very soon I hope

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeNorhWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went here for my Husbands Birthday, we had the carvery, as usual it was perfect. Staff were very helpful in decorating with things I took in earlier and bringing out the cake and singing Happy Birthday.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Went for afternoon tea yesterdsy in Ciro's brasserie. Very attentive staff, tea wonderfully presented on a 3 tier stand, with outstanding Illy coffee!! Staff checked to see everything ok but not in an intrusive way. Will be back for the Sunday Carvery!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiley4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I booked this hotel for my boyfriends 50th birthday.First impressions were, the hotel was stunning.As.we booked in, the receptionist was a little frosty faced,.she gave us our room details,we had to ask her for directions to our room,,which she then gave us.Our executive room was stunning,the bathroom was amazing and everything was spotlessly clean.We had drinks at the bar,where we received great service and they happily ordered us a taxi, as we were going into chester for a chinese meal and visiting a few bars.Breakfast the next morning was perfect,plenty of choice.the waitress showed us to our table and asked for our order of tea or coffee and brought us hot fresh toast,she was very friendly.We had a late checkout and this time the receptionist was a different lady from when we origionally checked in,she was smiling,very pleasant and friendly.We will definately be booking this hotel again and next time we will visit their resteraunt as it has fantastic reviews.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joolz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Hotel in general was absolutely lovely, the room was beautiful, clean, cosy, comfy. The bathroom was gleaming and beautiful. The only downside was the leaky shower, not that we needed to use it because we used the amazing spa pool everyday and showered there. The cosy gown and slippers on the bed were a fab touch and kept me very cosy when lounging in the room. The massive flat screen TV provided hours of entertainment when we didn't want to move from the wonderful heavenly bed. Having to pay £5 each to get the breakfast (that we had already paid for when booking) delivered was a bit shocking. I enjoyed walking around the beautiful grounds. The Mediterranean restaurant was definitely a lovely spot for dinner and a late drink. It felt as if we were abroad when sat next to the stone walls and plants on the brilliant mosaic tables. It is by far the best hotel I have ever been to and would go back in a heartbeat. We only stayed for 2 days and probably wouldn't stay for much longer as I can see us getting bored as there isn't that much to do. I would suggest maybe somewhere where people can go later on at night as all the restaurants and everything close at 10-11pm. As a young couple we do not go to bed so early and would have liked to relax and have a drink a bit later than that. And there is nowhere at all nearby to go. Just before we left I decided to treat myself to a massage. I have never felt so amazing. Everything about the experience was perfect and I would definitely recommend the spa by Kasia to anyone. I was not so fond of Nelsons Bar. We went there for a drink on the first night and it was okay, we got some chips and bread which were lovely. The chairs were extremely uncomfortable. The next night we went there again, unknowing that we had to book a table, as we had not been told this. We sat down at a comfy table but were moved to the same table as the night before with the horrible uncomfortable itchy chairs. We then proceeded to order a burger each and paid. After waiting a while food finally arrived, the only brought us 1 burger claiming "we thought you wanted to share". That is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. There was 2 of us, both out for a meal, we are not going to share a burger and we quite clearly stated that we wanted 2 when we ordered. After my boyfriend sat there and ate alone, my burger arrived late and we were also handed another bill after having already paid. Apparently we weren't charged the right amount at first but why should I have to pay for the restaurants mistakes. It was definitely not a very good meal and the food was very overpriced for the quality. Overall, the hotel was wonderful and beautiful but I would suggest otherwise if you are thinking of eating at Nelsons.

Room Tip: The more you pay the more impressed you will be but they are all faultless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKP10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing