We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in a standard room. We were greeted at reception by friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is very well maintained. All the public areas are very nice. Theres fountains and a pretty conservatory as you walk to the rooms. The room was much better than we expected. It was clean and cosy. Little things like posh biscuits and good quality toiletries made us feel welcome. We had a very nice meal and drinks in nelsons bar. We preferred the menu for the ciro restaurant but we stayed on a Sunday so it was carvery only. The food was good and reasonably priced. As were the drinks. We went back to our room and later ordered more drinks and ice cream from room service. We were a little disappointed to be charged £5 to have things brought to our room. This isn't something I've had to pay for before. The menu in our room was wrong so we didn't really have a choice in what we had. Plus the prices were wrong so our final bill was about £10 more than advertised in the menu. The drinks and ice cream arrived quickly and they were very nice although £6 for 3 scoops of semi melted ice cream seems a little steep when you're charging delivery too. We chose not to have breakfast as its £15 each! Almost as much as our evening meal. Overall a very comfortable stay and we would return in the future. The hotel could improve by offering deals on evening meals and breakfast on off peak days and not charging for room service delivery. Who wants to go the bar in their pjs? Please update your menus and prices! Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nurse_Nemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

My partner brought me to Grosvenor this weekend for my birthday, The hotel was gorgeous and very classy, However we were a little disappointed that although the hotel includes a swimming pool they failed to mention that there was a closing time of 9pm on a Saturday night, We had been out for a lovely evening and returned to the hotel around 9.30 to go for a dip as a perfect end to the night but as we arrived in the spa area there was a sign to page someone to let them know we were there, after 10 minutes of no answer we went to reception to be told that the pool closes at 9pm. After returning to our room disappointed we looked in the hotel booklet which has no mention of the opening and closing times of the pool, we were under the impression it was accessible as and when required, however we decided to just relax in our room for the remainder of the evening but the television wasn’t great as it was skipping on certain channels so we ended up just calling it a night.

Sunday morning (My actual birthday) we were woken at 6:20 by the fire alarm… Great wake-up call on your birthday. After asking what had happened we learned another guest had been smoking in their bedroom. Which obviously the hotel has no control over but as we only stayed Saturday to Sunday these two things were very disappointing to the weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two story room with a spiral staircase which was a lovely touch. our room also had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

6 months after our daughter arrived we were generously offered a night away by crazy grandparents! After we'd whittled the search down to 'within 30 miles radius just in case' we decided on the Grosvenor Pulford Hotel. The website was good and having dealt with Gemma via reservations it quickly became apparent that we'd made the right choice-very professional and helpful.
Complimentary drink on arrival as the room wasn't quite ready got us off to a good start and on entering the executive room I was glad we'd upgraded-the room was really nice. Lunch in 'Nelsons' pub was tasty and reasonably priced and we made use of the leisure facilities after this-gorgeous pool area and jacuzzi/steam room and spa.. A bit measly with the beds to completely chill out but other than that, no complaints... Evening meal in Nelsons again, possibly wrongly preferred over the other restaurant. A bit too busy and not as nice-acceptable but just lacked any real wow factor... Bedtime-very comfortable bed but slightly marred by the warm rooms and the noise from the wedding party next door but obviously not the hotels fault... Breakfast-good choice including some items freshly made to order-the trainee waiter Ben was worthy of particular mention-nothing was too much trouble. Alas, the restaurant was very busy and extremely warm so slightly disappointed.
Overall the staff, location and rooms were excellent and I'd definitely recommend it-just falls short of the 5 stars for reasons noted.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank craigybabyCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We recently visited for a one night stay and were extremely impressed with this hotel. The staff we friendly and quite clearly too pride in working here. Our evening meal was excellent and breakfast was well cooked and tasty. The whole ambiance was relaxing and the gardens were beautiful. Our room was spacious and well appointed. Thank you for making our trip away special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Fantastic executive double room. Very modern, clean, comfortable and quiet. The pool area left something to be desired.

As access to the spa was an important aspect for us, I emailed to ask what areas of the spa we had access to as hotel guests. And what it would cost to be able to access the areas we didn't automatically qualify for. Was told got access to all. looked online and saw gorgeous steam rooms and relaxation areas.

Got there and just access to pool - which was lovely. But only had 4 loungers, very small sauna and steam room which were full most of the time. Told as hotel guests we couldn't access rest of spa, and would have had to book a spa day for that...why didn't they tell us that when I emailed??

When we arrived some people had put their stuff on the loungers them, then spent an hour or so in jacuzzi. We respected this, as they were there first.

When the loungers became free, we spent some happy time reading and lounging. Got up from our loungers for 2 minutes to go to steam room. Came back to find an incredibly ignorant gym member, who when we got up from our loungers immediately lay down on top of all my stuff and started reading the paper. When we returned, he refused to move - despite the fact that there was an empty lounger to his left. He was rude ignorant and totally spoilt things for us. We invested in a night away to relax and ended up angry and upset. We went there to relax, and he was trying to make some kind of point. He kept saying that he was there every night.

Restaurant Ciros was gorgeous. Great atmosphere, staff and food.

Pub area was ok, food ok.

Room Tip: Exec double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SHM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Took my husband for a surprise birthday treat yesterday. The service on arrival was faultless and very friendly. We were in room 72, WOW beautiful room, very modern and clean, there was a TV at the end of the bath, luxury !! We had lunch in Nelsons Bar, again great service, the portions were huge.
We chilled in our room with a bottle of champagne then went to dinner at Ciro's. Again faultless service the food was excellent hubby had the fillet steak and I had salmon both were delicious with good sized portions, we wanted to take cheese and biscuits back to our room and there was no problem with this.
We had a fabulous nights sleep, we travel to the US frequently and have only slept in beds this big and of this quality there.
We woke early went for a stroll around the grounds, we did not use the spa facilities as we didn't take our swim wear.
Breakfast was between 7.30 and 10.30 when we checked in we were advised to go early as between 9 and 10.30 is very busy. we went down at around 8.15. We thought we were in a different hotel !! the service was mediocre, the breakfast was buffet style, the fresh fruit salad was far from fresh, the orange juice was bitter and cheap tasting. I had poached eggs, they were perfectly cooked, as I thought I would get bacon etc from the buffet, went up to the buffet to find no bacon, hubby asked a waiter about this he said it was just coming out. 10 minutes later still no bacon, my eggs were then cold so I decided to get breakfast without bacon on the way I asked a female waitress about the bacon who told me to 'just wait'. Eventually bacon was brought out, just a small plateful. Breakfast was just ok.
My tip is if you are going for breakfast go later when it is busy there will probably be more food then and hopefully fresher.
Overall we had a fabulous stay and most of the service and food were faultless, just a shame about breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peaches1Wales-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I've been time and time again to this hotel, absolutely love it! This weekend I brought 19 others with me and we all very much enjoyed my Hen weekend. Excellent food, staff, rooms and spa. Would highly recommend! Thank you to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amyvw15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,541 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,751 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,226 reviews
4.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £76 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing