We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for exploring the Welsh borders”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Although the decor in the older part of the hotel was a little worn at the time of our visit, this lovely hotel had bags of charm and was the ideal location, in the rural village of Pulford, for a holiday spent touring the Welsh borders and Chester. More relaxing than staying in the busy city of Chester itself and very close by, we were glad we made this choice. During a week spent here we visited some lovely places steeped in the history of the area, Dunham Massey, Erddig, Chirk Castle, Powys Castle, Whittington Castle, Peckforton Castle also pretty villages and market towns such as Farndon, Malpas, Nantwich, which abound in the area. An ideal touring itinery for members, like us, of the National Trust. We found the hotel breakfasts in the Italianate dining room very good, likewise our meals in the relaxed bar where we ate each evening. We also found time to swim in the lovely pool. All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: Our room in the older part of the hotel overlooked the conservatory roof of the dining room and was...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,660)
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This was the venue of my sons wedding. Location great, back drop great, food great, rooms great, but what topped it all was the professionalism and friendliness and nothing is too much attitude of the staff. A gang of us stayed an extra night ate in the bistro chilled in the spa and drank in the bar and were given the same level of service. Thank you to all the staff for making it more than a special day for the bride and groom, have no hesitations of recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked a Deluxe room and weren't disappointed, it was rather like a mini suite. The room was split into three distinctive sections, mini entrance hall to the room which contained the wardrobes, mini bar and desk/internet and tea/coffee facilities, the bathroom to the left - ours had a fantastic walk in shower and also a deep bath with a flat screen TV at the end which made for a relaxing soak. The fittings were all Villeroy & Boch which are of a very high quality. The bedroom area was very modern with lovely decor and contained a huge four poster bed. It also had a very well positioned flat screen TV on the far wall.
We were meeting our very good friends so didn't make use of the Spa facilities but did find time to take a peek at the pool area and the Asian style Sensory Garden/pools which are connected to the Spa facilities. We retreated to the bar area in the Italian restaurant for a couple of cheeky drinks. One thing we did find a little peculiar was that in order to get to the Spa you had to go through the restaurant area so there was a stream of people donning their purple robes heading through the bar/restaurant area from time to time.
We reserved a table in the Italian restaurant which had a full a-la-carte menu and good selection of wines. The food was fantastic and the ambiance very relaxing. All four of us found the choice excellent and very much enjoyed everything we ate. The service was good without being intrusive and we had plenty time to enjoy the excellent food, wine and company without being rushed, in fact we didn't leave the restaurant until around 11pm. We would have no hesitation whatsoever in booking this hotel / restaurant again and can't wait to return !

Room Tip: We had a quick look at some of the rooms as we were checking out and even though ours was exceptiona...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinandkaren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Chose the Grosvenor Pulford for a long weekend break with my partner and toddler so we could make trips around North Wales and into Chester, for both it is conveniently located. We were given a spacious room looking out onto the gardens that we were very happy with.

Ate at the italian restaurant on the first night which has a very nice ambience, the food was agreeable but the flavours were not as exciting as I had hoped given the fine dining style menu and prices to match. Albeit this verdict is based on 2 starters and 2 mains tried during our stay. Spent the rest of our stay eating in the bar where the service was equally as good and while the menu is good pub grub was executed equally as well. The breakfasts were excellent.

Slightly disappointed about the lack of help at check-in and the £5 surcharge for room service deliveries demonstrates this hotel does not emphasise pampering the staying guests.

The spa annex is superb (for a 4* hotel) and my wife tells me the massage she had was the best she can remember.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great hotel with lovely facilities and grounds.lovely well kept china themed garden Loved the spa and pool. Just what i needed to chill out.found rooms and service good.had room 34 in the attic.I am told a deluxe room.very nice. clean. no complaints.my partner wanted to pamper me. he did in selecting this hotel.would love to come back here again. its away from it all for me.Yet its just 5 miles from Chester itself. My advise is.Just book it!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairedove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As always it's a joy to stay at the Grosvenor. We have a small dog, and where we go he goes. So it's always a pleasure to take him to the Grosvenor. He is treated as part of our family which he is. Because we have him with us obviously he can not go into the restaurant, but is more than welcome in the large comfortable bar area. While we where there this time we had a family evening meal in the Bar. I have to say I would have been more than satisfied with the quality and standard of the food if it had been in the Restaurant. Sadly in most bars the menu is just like a fast food chain outlet menu. NOT AT THE GROSVENOR. The quality and service by Sarah and the other girls was superb. We ended up having 3 meals in the bar over the weekend. As for the staff you could not meet nicer friendly and professional staff. A true credit to the Hotel.
The Accommodation though not to our personal taste is however fresh clean and smart. I must mention our bed, How comfortable was it in room 28? Like sleeping on a cloud. So a good night sleep was had.
Well done to all at the Grosvenor.
Selwyn, James and Donal

Room Tip: Regardless of your budget all rooms are of a very comfortable standard.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selwyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

What a great hotel and facilities.
The room was fantastic with a great view overlooking the spa relaxation garden and some fields. My partner and I made the most of the spa facilities swimming pool, sauna,, steam room and Jacuzzi. With a Greek style it gave the place a touch of class and finesse.
We made a reservation at the hotel restaurant, we were meant to have a table in the corner behind a large party but the waitress managed to swap tables seating us in a nicer place next to the bar. This was nice as it was the staff initiative to change this for us, I thought this was very attentive and was much appreciated.
The food was faultless and we were even allowed to take dessert to the room with the last of our wine.

The only criticism of the trip was that at 6am the fire alarm went off which was an unpleasant surprise but at no fault of the hotel

Breakfast was a buffet with a variety of options. definitely filling.

we had a great stay and would recommend to all friends and family members. I'm sure if we return to Chester we will make a visit back to the Grosvenor Pulford Hotel. Maybe not spend the nigh as it was expensive but all staff were so pleasant and helped make the trip something special for my partner and myself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,325 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,900 reviews
4.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £81 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing