We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for both business and pleasure.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have visited the Grosvenor Pulford many times over the last 20 or so years, initially for my daughter's wedding reception.Since becoming a Nelson hotel,part of the internal courtyard has been turned into an Italianate-styled restaurant - all balustrades, Roman statues and greenery. It is one of our favourite places for a really special occasion. We have visited for a variety of reasons: we stayed a few years ago for a v. special birthday, I have attended networking meetings here in the comfortable lounge bar, special Mothering Sunday celebrations, birthday dinner, Christmas Day etc. (however we felt that last year they had priced themselves out and it wasn't a truly traditional menu so we dined out elsewhere on Christmas Eve instead and enjoyed a traditional meal). The wines are a little pricey but excellent - you get what you pay for. The service by largely Eastern European staff is second-to-none and what you would expect from an establishment of this kind. Lunch in Nelson's bar is pleasant with a good menu - again a bit pricey, especially drinks. Ciro's is special.

Room Tip: If you are in the bridal suite in the roof -which My husband booked a few years ago for a special bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

My sister, mother and I enjoyed a lovely "time to spa" day at the Kasia spa. As a regular user of local spas this was by far my favorite experience. The staff are attentive, lunch is delicious and the therapists are skilled. During my stay the staff were attentive and the gardens beautiful as is the spa. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisydoo121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We found this hotel to be fantastic! They really looked after us on our wedding day, all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The spa, pool, gardens, rooms and food were all excellent. We had room 51 which was stunning! We couldn't have asked for anymore and we would highly recommend this venue to anyone whether you are young, old or have children, it caters for everybody! Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa37s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This Hotel really lived up to our families expectations, so very pleased as we wanted something a bit more special and handy to Chester. Couldn't fault anything. Tastefully decorated, clean, very good service and tremendous food in the brassiere. Absolutely delicious in fact!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 845JAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I booked 3 rooms in total for our stay on thursday 8th may,it was an overnight stay as we attended chester races(ladies day). I have been overwhelmed with the high level of customer service that this hotel provides,from the initial reservation by telephone,email replies etc.,. On arrival the reception staff (Michael and Hayley) were most helpful. The supervisor in the coffee bar and breakfast room, very friendly and helpful. The staff in nelsons bar......in fact everyone was fab..... Well done and thank you.........the rooms were immaculate,cant wait to go back ....

Room Tip: Just book and go,you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Grosvenor hotel Pulford on the border of Wales enroute to Wrexham. We have had many business meetings here and his / her lunches in this hotel. Maybe the reason for this business venue was that my ex boss lived around the corner in Pulford & he probably worked a discount.
Hotel service is usually very good & the staff accommodating. "Thank you The rooms are okay without being in the top draw bracket. The Grosvenor is in a good location ideal hotel for heading into North Wales for those who are travelling from further afield. Can be quite lively if there is a football match on in the bar, thankfully the season is nearly over. The local Grosvenor garden center is just minutes away back towards Chester on the same road on the right & worth a visit, the tea room is okay. Anyway the hotel is recommended & scores GCD "7/10"
Best Regards GCD

Room Tip: The rooms are okay without being in the top draw bracket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stay here at the end of March by chance as it was a last min booking. And by were we happy the moment you arrived the feeling and amsphore is brilliant. As for the restuarant staff there were super could of not fault one thing from the serives to the food to the quaility!!!!

We have booked this again for the 9th May for my Birthday along with a spa treatment and I am so looking forward too it.

Room Tip: We were lucky as we got a room at the back of the hotel which was over looking the beauiftul gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,641 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,796 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,439 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#15 of 45 in Chester
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £75 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing