We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful friendly hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent two nights as part of a family celebration. The rooms were comfortable and well presented. The hotel staff combined friendliness and professionalism and helped to make the event a great success. A number of the group had spa treatments and raved about them afterwards. The spa pool is a very good size compared with many others and the Japanese style gardens behind the hotel were lovely, especially as it was a warm June weekend.
The celebration dinner was held in Ciro's which proved to be a great venue. Good atmosphere and service with excellent food.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsi012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    425
    141
    50
    31
See reviews for
281
854
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for one night as we were picking our son up from Chester university I wish we had found this hotel 3 years ago when he started. Very close to Chester city centre. The room was lovely. The spa was fantastic and very reasonable. Big bonus they allow small dogs at a charge. The Japanese garden was very tranquil they also have a walled garden and Conservatory. The bar food was lovely very good quality and value for money. Most of all the staff were amazing paying attention to every detail especially at reception and in the bar. Enjoyed it that much we have already booked for the graduation in November real Gem of a place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Attended a wedding where the reception was hosted by this hotel. We decided to book overnight some month's ago and got a good deal. Luckily it was a beautiful day and with the hotel's setting and beautiful grounds it just added to the happy occasion.
The wedding was first class and hotel staff were excellent. Really smart, attentive and pleasant. Food was very good and service really slick.
Our room was impressive, clean and tidy and on two levels including a beautiful bathroom.
Breakfast was also excellent and again serving staff very attentive and pleasant.
Finally a point worth a mention; the hotel's drinks are rather expensive BUT it's an upmarket hotel so maybe to be expected.
Overall a great experience and would love to return again for a weekend break. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any good room deals. You might be pleasantly surprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for one night - an Anniversary treat! Very welcoming reception on the check-in desk which was matched by every single person we met in a our time there. Had drinks in the bar, a lovely laze in the pool and then a wonderful meal in Ciro restaurant at night. The room was super- very spacious and comfortable - great breakfast the next morning. Have stayed at Carden Park and The Doubletree in Chester before but this beats both of these by a country mile. Will definitely go back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjniven247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend and the hotel had a very relaxing feel to it. It is well decorated and the staff were excellent. The food was very good as was the beer!!
Overall, a perfect stay. We will be going back to use the spa which looked very good too......

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank griswald1Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Had a one night stay that we got at a very good rate online. Staff couldn't be more welcoming ! Both bar and spa had a really good atmosphere. The spa' s outdoor garden is a wonderfully tranquil space. We felt the bar prices were a bit expensive and didn' t try the restaurant as we got better deals elsewhere. The standard room was small but wonderfully decorated. The tv was small but modern. Glorious view of a garden with a fountain. Hope to return in the future but would upgrade to a superior room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Lovely hotel, fabulous grounds (especially the Japanese garden), great food & super friendly staff.
We stayed in the refurbished section of the hotel, which we found very pleasant, nicely decorated with a modern bathroom & a brilliant view of the Japanese gardens.
We ate at Nelson's, where again the staff were friendly and the food was good. The breakfast was also plentiful and well maintained.
From check-in to check-out, we had no issues and encountered many pleasant staff that were happy to give their time. If we were in the area again, we would definitely re-visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 60 (newly refurbished with a great view of the Japanese Gardens)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,160 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,622 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing