We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$90
US$80
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$118
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$147
US$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$153
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,783)
Filter reviews
1,783 results
Traveller rating
1,067
459
162
57
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,067
459
162
57
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelsons barspiral staircaseciro's brasseriejapanese gardensensory gardensunday carveryexecutive roomlovely hotelwedding venuesteam room and saunawedding guestsafternoon teamy partnerleisure facilitieswedding receptionthe ground floorfrom start to finish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
867 - 872 of 1,783 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I went for one night to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary and we may have to go for our 11th.
We were immediately upgraded on arrival and were impressed with the warm greeting at reception and the room itself.
My wife enjoyed treatments in the Spa which itself seemed to be everything you would look for. I used the gym and we both had a dip in the pool. All of the leisure facilities were clean and well maintained.
Dinner in the restaurant was excellent as was the service. Breakfast the following morning was also good.
We have been to a lot of spa hotels and would have to rank the Pulman up with the best. Pretty faultless.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Grosvenor Pulfordand Spa for our 1st wedding anniversary and as a last minute break before our baby arrives. Upon our arrival we were greeted warmly by the Reception staff and given some information about the hotel and local area. We were a little surprised that our roof was split over two levels and located in the roof area of the building. The downstairs area had a very small sitting area with a sofa, and up a very tight spiral staircase was the bedroom and bathroom. Whilst this was very quirky and nicely decorated, it was not ideal being that I'm pregnant and my poor husband kept hitting his head as well over 6 foot tall. A quick word with reception quickly rectified they situation. They immediately apologised and offered us a choice of two other rooms. They also provided a fan for me as there was a heat wave, which was very considerate. My only slight complaint is that the majority of the executive double rooms do not look like the pictures on the website, which are the newly refurbished ones. However, they were all clean and the decor was pleasant, just not very modern.

During our stay we enjoyed an amazing breakfast in the Ciro restaurant. They offer a full English breakfast, fruit and cereals. All of this was too a very high quality and the service was excellent. We ate our evening meals in the hotels Nelson Bar, which is a gastro pub. Once again the food and service were outstanding.

We used the spa facilities every day. The pool is lovely, and there is a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. I also booked a mother to be massage, which was fantastic.

We would happily return to this hotel and recommend it to others.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was brought to The Grosvenor by my godmother, whose daughter married there a few years ago. We had dinner in the main restaurant and I was not disappointed. The service was excellent, especially given how warm the evening was and we were never without fresh, ice cold water on our table. I ordered mussels to start and the duo of lamb, and every bite was delicious... I just wish I'd had room for the limoncello creme brûlée! A fabulous meal, not cheap, but not ridiculous either. Worth the money, and next time I'm visiting my family going to ask if we can go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at the Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa this weekend with my boyfriend and another couple, as we were attending a wedding close by. With it being a 4 star hotel, I expected a little more than what we ended up getting. The hotel facilities are on the whole very good, and I assume are massive factors in the 4 star rating. They have a spa which has a nice and relaxing oriental garden attached to it (unfortunately they had no availability for treatments so I can't comment on that, but my boyfriend enjoyed the pool and steam room). There is also a brasserie restaurant and and pub, we ate at the pub - the food was very good and we received great service from our waitress. This was a massive step up from the service we received at the bar earlier in the day, where, when we'd inquired as to how busy the bar and brasserie got and whether we would be best deciding early and booking in advance; we were told "well, you have to book anywhere" quite sarcastically by a man who clearly wanted to go home. When we had dinner at the bar surrounded by several empty and unreserved tables, we realised that you don't quite have to book everywhere. Other than this, though, all the staff we encountered throughout the hotel (particularly in the restaurant, bar and spa areas) were very friendly and ready to help.

Our rooms were pretty average and not representative of a 4 star hotel. We had booked executive double rooms (one up from a standard room) and our two rooms were next door to each other. Disappointingly, we walked through corridors of seemingly refurbished rooms only to reach our rooms which looked pretty dated and worn around the edges (and didn't look at all like the executive rooms photographed on the hotel website). I've read other reviewers mention their executive rooms had been recently refurbished, so we must've been unlucky to get stuck with the old ones. However, our rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. Unfortunately, there was a wedding going on that night and our rooms didn''t block sound out very well, or at all, because we heard every song and every word the DJ said into the early hours of the morning. When my friend called down to reception, he was told that there was a standard twin room available where he could sleep for the night. Rather than moving all his stuff to downgrade a room, he declined, only to be advised to go down to the wedding reception and have a word with the DJ!!! Instead we opted to suck it up and have a bad night's sleep. To the hotel's credit, they took our food off the bill upon check out which was a nice gesture. Breakfast in the morning was good - we were well advised by reception to go down early to avoid the "bedlam" of the wedding party at breakfast, which ended up being solid advice.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RanjiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely hotel with fabulous grounds and gardens. Breakfast was help yourself, there was a good selection to a high standard. We ate a few times in the hotels Nelson's Bar, very generous portions and again good quality food, always was busy with locals and guests. We had a standard room which was a bit on the small side and in the recent hot weather there was no air-con, so a little warm to say the least, there was a fan provided though. Bed was comfortable and shower nice and powerful. Although there were two weddings on one night of our stay, we did not hear any noise from these parties in our room. We also used the leisure facilities which were good and the Spa was lovely. You must sit out in the Asian Sensory Garden if the weather permits and you get the chance, access available to all guests later in the day. And a short drive into lovely Chester - 4 miles. Overall - what you would expect from a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews