We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic hotel & restaurant !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2008

Located about 10-15 minutes drive from Chester, the elegant Grosvenor Pulford Hotel is a large C18th traditional building, with a pretty front saloon/bar and a large italianate restaurant on the ground floor, surrounded by a few wings of 4star stylish hotel rooms. Certainly the one of the best hotel we stayed at for our entire holiday in Britain, containing elegant bedrooms & bathrooms, a health club/”spa” with a giant romanesque pool, ample free parking. We thankfully had a hire car; without a car the Grosvenor may not be my first choice for a stay in Chester as you’d need to rely on taxi/bus to get there & away. Pulford is however easily reached by car from Chester, and a longer drive from Manchester or Wales (> an hour or so). Would definitely recommend to my friends and family & intend to stay there again when next in Cheshire.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WorldTraveller5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,641 - 1,647 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2008

I have just come back from a weekend away with the girls, Christmas shopping in Chester.

In total there were 11 of us. We were greated warmly by the reception staff and told where our rooms were. The room I stayed in was lovely - clean, nicely decorated and everything you needed was there. The bathroom was also very clean and served the purpose! The beds in the room were extreamly comfy and apart from the noise from people going to bed after being at a wedding reception in the hotel and running up and down the corridor shouting, a good night sleep was had.

We used the swimming pool during our stay - the pool area was very nice and well presented but there could be a few more loungers round the pool.

We ate at Ciros, in the hotel. We had been asked to pre oreder
our food as we were a large party and this was well organised. The food was plentiful and delicious and the service was friendly and efficient.

Breakfast the following morning was the usual buffet style - the hot food was hot and rather than put lots out at once, they kept bringing fresh. Again, this was delicious. My friend asked for poached eggs and these were cooked and served promptly. We had been advised not to go down too late as apparently it gets very busy.

Check out was smooth and friendly and the hotel provided excellent value for money. The hotel has a lovely buzz about it and really nice ambiance. It's not like a big chain hotel, it's got a personal feel and lots of character.

I would advise that if there is a function on that you ask for a room away from the noise. Whilst the music did not disturb us, a couple of people in our party were kept awake by the music, someone even commented that they could here everything the DJ said!

The hotel is situated a short drive from the park and ride into Chester and is not too far from Cheshire Oaks.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoFishShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

We spent one night at the Grosvenor, Pulford in October 2008. We received a warm greeting from reception and were offered help with our bags, which we declined, but later understood!

We opened the door to our room with the key card and were met by the sight of a spiral staircase, that was all! We climbed up (luckily we only had holdalls, not suitcases) and were impressed by the sight that greeted us. The room was in the roof and therefore space was restricted by sloping ceilings, but it was well presented and clean. The only downside was that the huge grab rail and sloping ceiling meant the shower space in the bath was extremely limited, the sloping ceiling also meant that the shower curtain couldn't extend far, resulting in a wet floor.

The breakfast was good, with a wide choice of food, although we were advised not to leave it until the last hour to eat, as it got very busy.

We got a good deal for the room and were happy as a result. However, I'm not sure I'd have been as happy if I'd paid the £135 price listed at reception and had to shower at an angle!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Blondie247772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

My husband and I booked a spa day with spa seekers and chose this hotel. We booked a romantic package - dinner,bed & breakfast with champagne and chocolates in your room.

Our spa day began with an indian tea ritual, followed by full use of the leisure facilities, lunch in the spa's eatery (which was catered for by the hotel) and then our treatments. The staff were lovely, very helpful and encouraged a relaxed atmosphere at all times. We felt totaly relaxed and pampered. The food was declicous with prompt and cheerful service.

After our spa treatments we checked into the hotel. Again the staff were welcoming and cheerful. Our room was of a good standard, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We enjoyed our champagne before going down to Ciro's for dinner. Here again the staff were welcoming and the service was prompt but unobtrusive. The food could not be faulted, we both enjoyed our choices which were to a very high standard.

Breakfast was excellent, buffet style, but very high quality food and again the staff were prompt and helpful.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will be heading back for more indulgence when we get chance.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherylShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We spent one night in a family suite (Shannon Suite room 36). The suite is at the very top and the main bedroom and bathroom are built into the roof. Therefore there are slopes on each side, which makes it very uncomfortable (not to mention painful... we accidentally hit our head on the sloped walls a few times, especially in the bathroom). Our first impression wasn’t good… it was a long way up the stairs with many bags (no help offered). The front door to the suite opens into another door, which is made of glass and looks very “officy”. Perhaps this is supposed to be a fire door? If it is, it’s not doing its job as it doesn’t close properly. The tiny wardrobe is wedged into the small space between the front door and inside door. There are no other wardrobes or chest of drawers to put your things. The first room has two armchairs that pull out into beds which are wonky and very uncomfortable. Children over 8 years of age shouldn’t bother trying to sleep on these beds. Our 10-year-old was uncomfortable throughout the night and did not get a good night’s sleep. The decor in that room is dated… it reminded me of my nana’s living room. Good points are the TV and coffee/tea-making facilities. The bedroom is small with one side of the wall at a slope, which means there is no window that opens for air. There is only a type of skylight window built into the roof. The room is very stuffy and warm and can feel quite claustrophobic if you are sleeping on the side of the bed under the slope. A TV is nestled into the corner under the slope. The bathroom looks new but again, the slope makes it awkward to use. The shower/bath is full size but due to the slope, only half can be used. The pool is average. It looks better in the photos. While the pool itself is large, the jacuzzi is very small and the water was very hot and the jet too strong. I felt as though I were sitting in a big cauldron waiting to be cooked. There is only room for 3 reclining chairs and one was broken. These get taken up fast so if you are looking to sit by the pool to relax and read, you won’t be able to do so unless you are lucky enough to have a chair. One of us had to sit on the floor to watch our son swim in the pool. It was not relaxing. We didn’t try the spa but it did look very nice. Also, the hotel needs to put up better signage for guests to find the pool. When we called reception, they couldn’t give us detailed directions to get to the pool. We had to go through reception and we then told to walk through Ciro’s (the restaurant) to then go through the spa. No one was at spa reception to greet us and in fact, we just walked into the pool area. Realizing we had no towels, we went back to the spa reception where there was someone there this time to sign us in and provide towels. On the way back to our room, we found another way to get there which didn’t involve passing through the restaurant and reception. If the hotel provided better signage, it would avoid guests searching for the pool and having to pass through the more public spaces. Better signage would also be useful for guests entering the car park, as the first building there is Nelson’s restaurant and it can be misleading to think that it is the reception area, which can be accessed by passing through the restaurant. However, there are a few steps to negotiate and the main entrance is much better… but it is just off to the right. The guest information book is outdated. For example, the recommended taxi info is obsolete (the phone number is out of service) and the children’s pool hours are no longer accurate. We didn’t enjoy our stay and had a poor night’s sleep, but it does seem as though there are better rooms available. We don’t know if all family suites are this uncomfortable but avoid the ones in the roof. Had our stay been longer than one night, we would have definitely asked for another room. The hotel is a 10-15 minute drive to Chester and a taxi costs £8 each way.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PB&PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Stayed for two nights at the Pulford, around my daughters graduation (Bangor University) in July 08.

The hotel was really pleasant. We had an enjoyable stay. Ate in the main restaurant one night. Not the cheapest, but excellent quality and pleasant service.

Rooms are what you would expect from a 4Star, clean and comfortable. One small gripe, No Iron board in the room... but one phone call and a board and iron were delivered within minutes.
The room was fairly stuffy being a warm day/ night, and fairly smallish windows overlooking a very pleasant & colourful courtyard.

The swimming pool looked great, but due to a foot injury I could not use it.
The bar had a real god vibe in the evening with a nice mix of residents and locals.

One thing that stood out, was the friendliness of the staff. Really nice to see UK staff in a British hotels with smiles on their faces.
A real rarity nowadays.

Well done the Grosvenor Pulford.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

I booked this break for 8 of us for my hen do through superbreaks.com. We stayed for the Friday and Saturday night and had a thoroughly brilliant time. The general ambience of the hotel was relaxed and classic. The bedrooms were spacious and in Perfect condition. The food in Nelson's was good quality and plenty of it. The staff could not have done any more to help us. They went out of their way to book us a restaurant, organise taxis and anything we asked of them. The breakfast was plentiful and very well run. And the spa, well, perfect for the morning after the hen night before!
All in all I couldn't fault the entire experience, made all the better because I know we got a good deal on the price!
RECOMMENDED HIGHLY.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank katej150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,542 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,751 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,225 reviews
4.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £77 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing