We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington
1 review
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Our children treated us to a two night break to celebrate my 65th Birthday, the service was excellent the food was superb and the staff were very friendly, we made the most of the first class luxurious Spa facilities which after sampling we are looking forward to coming back for a full pampering spa break

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    425
    141
    50
    31
See reviews for
281
854
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Stayed here as part of a spa package for my 30th birthday. The rooms were lovely, beds were comfortable, staff very friendly and welcoming. The spa itself was clean, well run and so relaxing! got use all the facitiies all day which was great. Had dinner and breakfast here and the food was outstanding. Please order the choclate fondant pudding, you won't be disappointed! If i had one complaint it would be that its a bit out of the way but the setting is very pretty when eating your lunch overlooking the fields!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Stayed the weekend at the Grosvenor and only left the hotel once (taxi into chester for dinner on Sat night). Apart from that we felt so comfortable in the hotel that we didn't want to go out. The staff are brilliant, very friendly and helpful, Ciros restaurant is very good, if a bit expensive and the pool area is clean and relaxing.
Even though there was a wedding in the hotel our room was very quiet.
My only slight gripe is that the bedroom was not warm enough. The thermostat on the wall heater had been set to number 4 max. which considering the weather wasn't sufficient.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolToblerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Had been determined to stay here as a Trip Advisor Addict... Booked via website last minute and got a reduced rate.
This hotel is not a sterile ,boutique, clinical enviroment but as you walk in it states ambience. The room, though over looked a flat roof was warm , comfortable and had a great large bathroom. It was spotless and had every thing you needed.
The leisure and spa area again were clean and the jacuzzi was seriously warm. The sauna and steam were perfect.
Wanting to relax we opted for the bar area for a evening meal. Warm fires, leather sofas and wonderful staff made the area very inviting. Although the prices are above average bar prices, the food was worth every penny. Presentation was excellent and quality first class. We had planned to eat out on our second night but were so impressed ,we ate in the bar both nights ! Breakfasts again were great quality. Hot and plentiful.
It is an easy hotel to find. We got the bus into Chester, Really easy to do. Frequent service. Need a relaxing break then do not hesitate to book this hotel

  • Liked — most of it
  • Disliked — L shaped room. Bottled water would have been nice
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Our room was ground floor via conservatory walkthrough- beautifully furnished, very modern & very quiet! We chilled out in the pool before dining in Ciros - of which the food is beautiful, we sat to the right of the bar 'away from the main restaurant' by some lovely twinkly lights - very romantic. The following day we were pampered in what I can only desciribe as the most palatial spa ever, we had Hamman for 2, then I mini facial & hubby back massage - suffice to say we floated home! Perfect!

  • Liked — Thick white sheets, fluffy towels, lcd tv - modern/high standard of decor.
  • Disliked — Nothing - couldn't fault a thing!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

One word sums up our stay here - excellent. Our room was large enough and clean, beds comfortable, food was high quality. Staff very helpful. Noise? What noise? We both thought this hotel was one of the quietest we'd even stayed in - even though there was a disco on until the very early hours both nights of our stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PercyVere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2008

Located about 10-15 minutes drive from Chester, the elegant Grosvenor Pulford Hotel is a large C18th traditional building, with a pretty front saloon/bar and a large italianate restaurant on the ground floor, surrounded by a few wings of 4star stylish hotel rooms. Certainly the one of the best hotel we stayed at for our entire holiday in Britain, containing elegant bedrooms & bathrooms, a health club/”spa” with a giant romanesque pool, ample free parking. We thankfully had a hire car; without a car the Grosvenor may not be my first choice for a stay in Chester as you’d need to rely on taxi/bus to get there & away. Pulford is however easily reached by car from Chester, and a longer drive from Manchester or Wales (> an hour or so). Would definitely recommend to my friends and family & intend to stay there again when next in Cheshire.

  • Liked — Classy, stylish & quiet guest rooms
  • Disliked — a little remote from Chester
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,164 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,624 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing