We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find! Beautiful place, fabulous food, cosy and homely.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a find! Beautiful place, fabulous food, cosy and homely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

This is a gem! We travelled with our 4 year old son, our Rottie, my parents and their dog. The place is absolutely beautiful, has the overall feel and look of a 5 star hotel mixed with the relaxed and cosy feel of home - especially being able to have your dogs (well behaved of course!) with you in the flagged area of the bar as well as in your bedrooms. The spa facilities are gorgeous and the restaurant and bar served excellent fresh food. The staff's level of professionalism, friendliness and service was unprecedented. Never have we felt so welcome. Just a minute's walk out right from the hotel, is a golf course with a public footpath around it, ideal for dog walks. There is also a Vet on the corner!
Overall it was a true winter wonderland, we relaxed totally. Thank you all, we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s66slw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    410
    133
    45
    28
See reviews for
264
818
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

We only stayed one night as a treat for my boyfriend after xmas, we had booked to have a spa treatment aswell. Neither when i booked the spa or the hotel was i told that we had to pre-book the bath robes to wear for the treatment. We realised they werent in the rooms (which for a 4* hotel i would normally expect) and so we rang the spa and they onyl give them if the person is having a full day spa and the hotel dont have spare ones to give so it was a bit awkward walking down fully dressed getting changed for the treatment and then getting changed again to leave. Some people may not see this as a big deal but as the amount paying for the room and treatment we wouldve thought they would be in the room!
Apart from that the treatment was amazing and me and my boyfriend could have them in the same room which is a nice touch. The leaisure facilities are good, pool nice but a bit cold but jacuzzi is lovely.
We didnt eat in the hotel as on a sunday night they only do a carvery unless you eat in the pub bit. We wanted something more than pub food so we went into chester.
The breakfast was nice, my boyfriend ordered scrammbled eggs but he didnt really eat them as he said they tasted funny, they offer most things.
Overall it was ok and staff were lovely but i think we could probably find better for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smellymely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

Booked this hotel for a three night break, to include New Year. Arrived on 30th December to roaring fires and very tastful Christmas decorations. We had booked a standard room and an executive room. The standard room was fine but, as expected, limited in size. Our executive room had a lovely large seating area with two arm chairs, a desk from which we enjoyed free wifi and a flat screen tv. The bathroom was modern with a powerful, fixed head shower over the bath. The Gilchrist and Soames toiletries were replenished daily as were the biscuits on the hospitality tray. This was much appreciated.
There are two dining choices - Ciro's brasserie and the Nelson gastro pub. We ate in both and were impressed with the food which we feel represented very good value for money when considering the large portions and the excellent standard of the local produce used. We visited Chester and Chester Oaks Designer outlet - two great days out. This hotel is very conveniently located for many attractions. The gym is well equipped, although quite small it had everything we needed. The pool is beautiful and large. We did not use the spa and so cannot comment.
To summarise, this is a true 4 star hotel that goes the extra mile in food and service. Every member of staff we encountered was polite and served us with a smile: all so often a rarity now. This is so much more intimate than all of the 4 star chain hotels we have stayed in over the years.
We cannot wait to return and recommend this hotel unreservedly.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nasdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

This is a pleasant looking hotel with good bar and restaurant facilities. The room was fine, except for noise in the ceiling every time the guests above moved around, an annoyance late at night. There seemed to be a creaking floorboard or bedsprings up there as well.

Although it has all the facilities, the hotel is located a fair way out of Chester in an uninspiring suburb. We drove to the Wrexham Park & Ride when going into central Chester.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmnOHyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

what an excellent day and night i spent at this hotel. i was there on a works xmas do and the hotel were very accomodating and couldnt have been more helpful. the meal and entertainment were top notch and the bar staff very welcoming. the spa facilities were excellent and will be returningther soon with friends or family for sure!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vistacheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
runcorn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

Had my son's wedding here. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Very pleasant and helpful. They organised the wedding perfectly. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gracieRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

We held our wedding at this hotel and it was perfect! The staff are wonderful & made our day one to remember. The service was excellent and the food delicious! The day exceeded all our expectations and we could not recommend this venue more highly for a wedding. The grounds are beautiful and we could not ask for a better setting for our wedding photographs. Worth every penny!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KezzaJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
4.8 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing